Mounting Point For UHF Antenna

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 20:37
ThreadID: 64002 Views:3561 Replies:6 FollowUps:7
Good evening wise ones.
I've just bought myself a GME TX3440 UHF radio and am about to have a lash at installing it on the weekend.
I have an LC100 with the standard Toyota alloy bull bar.
The bull bar has two mounting points for antennas. One being on the top rail and the other on the lower bumper section.
My question is..which is the best position?
Obviously the top rail will give a little extra height..but is this really necessary..does it improve the antennas performance?
The antenna I have is a GME AE4018K1 which is approx 920mm in length.
Thanks in advance.
CraigB

Reply By: Cram - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 20:52

Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 20:52
Hi Craig, I have one of these radios and I am not sure on the antenna as I bought the whole system in a pack.Mine is mounted on the top mounting and the radio works well.

So can't comment whether it makes much difference and I am sure there are people on here with more knowledge then me but I read that the best spot for aerials is in the middle of the roof of your car so I am thinking that if you mount on the higher mounting you get the benefit or your bonnet....
AnswerID: 338113

Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 20:56

Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 20:56
CRAIG

on the top of your bullbar will be fine mate.......mine is on there with no probs,cheers.
AnswerID: 338114

Reply By: Rockape - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 21:03

Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 21:03
The higher the better,middle of the roof is the best but that is impractical. Go the top of the bullbar
AnswerID: 338115

Reply By: SPRINT-GTO - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 22:46

Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 22:46
Craig
where are you going to mount your radio???
AnswerID: 338142

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 07:54

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 07:54
Hi Craig
You have purchased yourself a top radio and antenna. Mount the antenna on the top bracket and you will have no problems.

Who has been here

AnswerID: 338173

Follow Up By: CraigB - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 08:06

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 08:06
G'day Stephen,
The plan of attack is to mount it on or near the transmission tunnel behind the front console just rear of the ash tray and tap into the auxiliary socket for power. (One of the main reasons why I chose this particular unit is because it is compact). Then run the cables under the carpet keeping all as far away from the SRS air bags as possible as I have read that they can be triggered in isolated cases when using the radio. I prefer this as I would like to keep the unit out of view as it is also my daily drive.
CraigB
FollowupID: 605712

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 08:33

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 08:33
Hi Craig
The best part about the TX 3440 is that can be mounted in those out of the way places. I have mine mounted under the front driver side of the dash and all that you can see is the microphone cable coming from a small blanking plug that I have used to make it look like a standard fitting to the car.

All the best and you will be very happy with you radio.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 605718

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 08:52

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 08:52
Craig,
I will give our Standard Communication Rep a call this morning. I have not heard of any problems with SRS air bag issues. I would have thought that if this was a problem, that seller would have had some form of technical bulletin.
I will post his reply at lunch time when I have heard his response.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 605727

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 13:01

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 13:01
Hi Craig
As I said this morning, I have spoken to our rep from Standard Communication. (The Company that own and produce the great range of GME products)
He told me that he has never heard of a UHF Radio triggering the SRS air bags. Like he said, they are only sending out an RF signal, much like that being sent out by our commercial Radio Broadcasting Stations. If I was an issue, it would involve any type of UHF Radio, as they all send and receive on the same frequencies. He said that he would like to hear where or who told you about this information. Like he said, if it was true, they have been notified by one of the Government Departments.

I hope that this clears up the issue on the SRS Air Bag Issue.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 605749

Follow Up By: CraigB - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 15:51

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 15:51
Hi Stephen,
Mate, I don't have cold hard facts on the matter.
However,r there have been posts on this forum, LCOOL and also IH8MUD all along the same lines.
For the sake of an extra 20 mins installation and a meter or so of cable better to be safe than sorry I reckon.
Anyway peace of mind..I don't have to worry about it if it is done.
But hey thanks for looking onto it.
CraigB
FollowupID: 605766

Reply By: SPRINT-GTO - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 10:48

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 10:48
Craig
I mounted my 3440 under the drivers seat in my 100 series and purchased a microphone extension lead ( readily available)
I also removed one of the blanking plugs in the dash and fitted the plug for the mic extension and when parking for extended periods I just remove the microphone and there is no sign of a radio!!
AnswerID: 338193

Follow Up By: HGMonaro - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 11:20

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 11:20
what about the aerial? (my 3440 is also invisable, but the aerial doesn't disappear as well)

Nige.
FollowupID: 605739

Follow Up By: CraigB - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 15:47

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 15:47
Nige,
Yeah I know.
But out of sight out of mind.
I will take the antenna off when not in use.
CraigB
FollowupID: 605765