Slightly close Encounter!

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 21:17
ThreadID: 64037 Views:3801 Replies:8 FollowUps:10
After leaving Lucky Bay, East of Esperance, yesterday morning, we did a good days travelling and reached the Moodini Bluff rest area, to roll the swag out for the night. We had a quick tea, a couple of cold ales, as it was still quite hot after dark, and then decided to hit the sack.
Jodie had got into the swag, 30 secs earlier, then when I walked around to cover the swag with the small tarp, saw this lovely sight on the ground trying to get in and under the swag. Luckily I had my headlamp on at the time!! Can't believe we did 4 mths in the Pilbara, on a cattle station and never saw a single Death Adder, pull up on a simple roadside stop(as a lot of people do) and get greeted by this fellow. Image Could Not Be Found

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 21:19

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 21:19
It doesn't look like it would of hurt you as it looks like it has a sore neck ;))

AnswerID: 338310

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 21:26

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 21:26
Bloody oath!

It'd have a sore neck in my camp too.

Fair dinkum......imagine if it got in the swag!!!!!!!!!

I'm all for leavin them alone but not when they are that close that its them or you!

sorry greenies common sense has to prevail.

Ron
FollowupID: 605830

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 21:27

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 21:27
Poor bloody snake, didn't do anyone any harm.

FollowupID: 605831

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 17:26

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 17:26
John,

Can't guarantee what it had done in the past but can definitely guarantee it won't do anyone harm in the future.

FollowupID: 605925

Reply By: oz doc - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 21:43

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 21:43
Thats not a death adder- it's a 'dead' adder! doc.
AnswerID: 338318

Reply By: uneekwahn - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 21:50

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 21:50
thank god for my roof top tent ;)
AnswerID: 338322

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 22:06

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 22:06
makes ya bloody think eh?

never done anyone any harm.... yeah cos it wasnt allowed to......

ol mate nearly had a dead mrs.

I leave em alone too, but if its family or them..... sorry family first, nature preservation second.

FollowupID: 605839

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 22:50

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 22:50
STRUTH!!!! I've only just bought my first swag. I think the Roof Top Taj will be the accomodation of choice for a few years to come.

Cheers. Mick

AnswerID: 338335

Reply By: Member - Bob I (WA) - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 12:35

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 12:35
Nice one! I was on an exercise in the armed forces in the 70's and we were camped on a hill surrounded by spinerfex grass. The top of the hill was bare of grass and had a helicopter landing area as well as our camp site.
We were resupplied every two days with food and essentials like beer and smokes, as it happened the chopper was delayed by the weather so resupply was a day late and supplies light on, food OK. well this boggy officer in charge refused to call the resupply forward so things were pretty desperate late on the 3 day. One of the boys noticed a King Brown doing a recce of the officers tent, so with the aid if a stick KB was guided into the tent. More to scare, than harm the boggy, well nothing happened until the next morning when shaking out his swag KB fell on the ground and escaped (must have slept cosy all night with boggy).
Goes to show that not all snakes are dangerous? Resupply arrived early on the forth day and boggy left for a medical check, peace reigned.
AnswerID: 338398

Reply By: Ozboc - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 16:30

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 16:30
just something to ponder .. 9 out of 10 snake bites occure from people trying to kill snakes.......

and for the record -- death adders have a terrible name for the snake that it is ... but no matter what is said -- you will kill protected species anyways ......

Boc

AnswerID: 338420

Follow Up By: Snowbunny - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 22:16

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 22:16
There's always a 'do gooder" somewhere out there. Please enlighten us all here on the forum boc, as to which wildlfe park you work at here in this lovely country of ours, you seem to know all about "Death Adders"???
FollowupID: 605991

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 21:29

Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 21:29
Snowbunny -- i am the holder of a reptile license and have been around and owned snake and pythons for over 15 years ...( wont bother telling you what class i hold just yet, will see your reply first)

i do not work for a wildlife park as you asked nor would i need to, to own and maintain reptiles infact some people that do work at a "wildlife" park AS YOU ASKED are sometimes very limited in THERE knowledge of reptiles

so what is your point to your question? Because i do not work at a "WILDLIFE PARK" i have NO understanding or reptiles INC hot herps ?

Boc

FollowupID: 606250

Follow Up By: Snowbunny - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 06:39

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 06:39
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Personal Attacks Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 606267

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 07:04

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 07:04
that makes no sense. its not like the snake was in a populated area so why would it suddenly become a crazed killing machine finishing off everyone it saw?
sounds like you might benifit from one of brian bushes snake catching courses. very educational as well as giving insight as to how wild snakes act when encountered
FollowupID: 606268

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 15:31

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 15:31
Thank you to the moderator..... i know you guys have taken some flack for your services , but this one was well called for.

and as Davoe suggests above , get yourself educated into the behaviors of snakes and you will actually understand what sets them off and how simple it is to prevent any type of encounter. Deadly or not , some common sence is better practiced than going in like some clown with a shovel and trying to kill it ...

Boc
FollowupID: 606327

Reply By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 18:27

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 18:27
Hahaha I understand why our orders were to NEVER leave sleeping gear out...it was unless you are in it...the swag is rolled up and stored and prevents nasty visitors before you occupy.(more to do with quick notice moves...ie bugging out ASAP but I like this reason)

Hence also why I went for the flymesh swag...when you drop camp in the middle of the night and dont get a good change to survey the area before you bunk down, you occasionally get a surprise in the light of dawn (small furry animals, ant nests etc ... the funniest (or not so) was waking to a horendous racket and blinding light and realise a troop of APCs were passing within a few feet of your camp! Even seen someone run/hop in a swag to the protection of your vehicle hahah

AnswerID: 338445

Reply By: Kiwi100 - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 12:37

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 12:37
Boc is right - snakes are a protected species and most snake bites occur when people try to kill them. You don't need to be a greenie or work in a wildlife park to know that. Leave them alone or make a bit of fuss and they will simply go away and mind their own business. Killing one is not going to make you any 'safer': where there is one there will be others.

Snakes, crocodiles and sharks are all part of the environment and we can choose to take sensible precautions or avoid their habitat altogether. Is that too easy?

Michael
AnswerID: 338531

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 21:30

Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 21:30
Thanks Kiwi , at least there is one person with intelligence in this thread .....

Boc
FollowupID: 606251