HONDA EU10i

Submitted: Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 08:52
ThreadID: 64045 Views:4030 Replies:7 FollowUps:18
Morning Team,

I am heading off camping for 2 weeks this weekend. Last night I started getting my gear ready and thought I would fire up the Honda to make sure it was all good. As soon as I turn the eco throttle on it starts to spit and splatter and turns off after about 2 minutes. It’s almost as if there’s not enough fuel getting to it and the throttle is going to low? I did not have any load on it so I am hoping that was the reason but does anyone have any ideas? I changed the oil and cleaned the filter and had a look at the spark plug and that’s all fine.

Reply By: Markymark - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 08:59

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 08:59
Have you made sure the petrol cap breather is turned to 'ON'. I've left it closed before and a similar thing happened.

Mark.
AnswerID: 338360

Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 09:00

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 09:00
Yes and also put some fresh fuel in after I ran it dry thought it might have been bad fuel
FollowupID: 605871

Follow Up By: Markymark - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 09:14

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 09:14
Reading your post first I thought 1. Breather cap and 2. Low oil, but you have these covered. The fresh fuel and spark too. Stupid question (Because I can't think of anything else!), did you put enough oil back in? I don't know the level at which it cuts out, maybe it's not far below the full mark?

Good luck, I hope you get it going before tomorrow.

Mark.
FollowupID: 605874

Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 09:38

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 09:38
Yea there's enough oil in there it was doing it before the fresh oil so doubt it's that...worse come to worse I can just run it flat strap with no eco throttle but that’s not ideal
FollowupID: 605879

Reply By: SPRINT-GTO - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 09:00

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 09:00
How long since you used it??
Maybe old fuel? Suggest drain all fuel and refill with fresh unleaded.
Unleaded fuel does age and could be your problem!
AnswerID: 338361

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 09:10

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 09:10
Whenever you get it going, maybe resolve to give it a run for 5 minutes each month. I've been doing that with my Yamaha EF1000 for the last year - a fine machine, but it was very cranky when I let it sit for about 9 months - fuel was the issue (the complex carby throttle gizmos may have been gummed up), but the balance between starved and flooded was an aissue until I settled it down. On the monthly run, it starts first pull everytime and then purrs away.
AnswerID: 338365

Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 09:33

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 09:33
Might not be a bad idea....do you know if you can put some of that additive stuff in to clean out the carby?
FollowupID: 605877

Follow Up By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 11:53

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 11:53
Don't know re the additive.........re starting, the sparkplug should tell you whether you are flooded or not - mine was dirty and flooded with fuel, so I cleaned it, turned the choke off, and had to pull the starter quite a lot of times before it chugged away.
Hot and cold variations in weather could play a part in starting possibly - my tank is sealed - I guess air in there will expand in hot weather - it may have forced fuel past the valve and into the carby - BTW - mine had a fule vapour lock once on a trip - could not get it going at all - but it was about 37C - next morning it ran like a bird - since then, I run it with the back door off in hot weather to improve cooling.
FollowupID: 605896

Reply By: Ron173 - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 09:49

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 09:49
G'Day
Always interested in Honda posts as I have the EU20.

Read a post recently where a member had a prob with eco throttle and it was corroded, not good, but he did use on beach a lot.

Def the go to run them often, actually says in manual run minimum once a month, but thats not helping you right now.

You've covered all the obvious stuff, if it was mine, I would now be fuelling it up, and run it hard on a heavy load eco throttle off obviously, let it work for an hour or so, then try eco again.

If that didnt work, I'd reluctantly have to go to dealer.

You got 4yr warranty you know, if its still in warranty and dealer not too far, dont stuff around just take it in.

Keep us posted on your progress.

Interesting to know if we should perhaps be giving a squirt of wd40 on some relevant part of the eco throttle.

Good Luck

Ron
AnswerID: 338369

Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 09:53

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 09:53
Hey Ron

I didn't know had to run it once a month. Last time was probably 3-6 months ago. I did give it a good run for about 10 min on normal so maybe you are right and after an hour or so it will come good

FollowupID: 605881

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 10:13

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 10:13
I might be wrong on that, I have an electronic pdf of the manual here and just looked at it cant find it, was gonna give you the page number.

Perhaps my hard copy at home is more recent, I'm certain i read it, as it actually said, 'your generator needs excercise'

Its a good practice regardless.

Get it running on about 75% load n see how it goes.

What about warranty? dealer?

Ron
FollowupID: 605882

Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 10:15

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 10:15
Will sus the dealer out when I come back if it doesn't get better

thanks
FollowupID: 605883

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 10:31

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 10:31
My Yammie EF1000 was doing a similar thing a while back and I took it to my local small engine repairer. He said it was a gummed-up baffle in the exhaust system. Worked great when I got it back from him.

However, your post has reminded me of the importance of running these little blokes (whether it be Yammie or Honda or whatever brand) on a regular basis..... and I haven't been doing that even since I got it fixed a few months ago. I will now get some fresh fuel and get the little sucker fired up this weekend.

AnswerID: 338378

Follow Up By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 10:51

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 10:51
I use some "Aerostart" on the foam air cleaner when the generator is hard to start and then it starts first pull.

FollowupID: 605887

Follow Up By: Markymark - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 10:56

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 10:56
Yeah I'm going to fire mine up this arvo too!
FollowupID: 605888

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 11:12

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 11:12
Remember when running your gennies for maintenance reasons, always run with a load on.

Light or no load running not good at all.

ideally, start, warm up, run on load for short period, remove load and allow to cool then stop.

FollowupID: 605890

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 11:21

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 11:21
Ron, You make a good point and something I've often wondered is ; just what constitutes a decent load? I was thinking of plugging in the 2 x 15 amp battery chargers and the 2 x Engel fridges (one of each is in the camper....the others are in the Patrol). These chargers and fridges run 24/7, but I don't know if they would constitute a decent load...... the Yammie handles them with great ease, even on the eco throttle setting.

Maybe I need to plug in a few 100 watt light globes as well?
FollowupID: 605891

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 11:22

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 11:22
or.....maybe I'll just fire up the bench grinder and leave it running for half an hour? (But it might overheat).
FollowupID: 605892

Follow Up By: Member - Mottleman (NSW) - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 11:25

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 11:25
My dealer told me a couple of those 250W outdoor flood lights was a good load for this purpose for my Honda EU10i.

FollowupID: 605893

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 12:06

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 12:06
Roachie,

ideally about 50 to 75% load. So 50-75% of its rated output. (not surge)

The items you quote there are all minor load items, eg engel 2.5amps, battery chargers similair.

Mottleman is on the money above here, those lights make good load. I use 2 x 500w on mine.

As does a fan heater,(check rating, dont overload, thats as bad) just search for items around the house, you should find a few.... think outside the camping square.. as in this instance we WANT load.

Rgds

Ron

FollowupID: 605899

Reply By: Ray - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 15:32

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 15:32
Perhaps you should have baught a GMC then you could have thrown it away???????????????????????
AnswerID: 338412

Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 16:39

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 16:39
Friday Funny's was 2 post down
FollowupID: 605916

Reply By: Ron173 - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 18:16

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 18:16
Hey Troll,

how'd you go mate?

any joy, hope its all good for your trip

Ron
AnswerID: 338442

Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 22:57

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 22:57
Gday Ron,

Been running alright but I might take it in for a service when I get back....it's not running the way it used to but was running a couple of things on there for an hour or so and it was okay.

Been packing the last couple of hours...not long to go now
FollowupID: 606001

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 23:06

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 23:06
bit of a work out do it good.

enjoy your trip, but keep us honda fans posted on outcome, and any extra things we maybe should do.

have a good un mate

Ron
FollowupID: 606003