Engel Fridges

Hi All need your feedback on how Engel Fridges how they stand up in wet weather ie they get caught in heavy showers cannot get responce from Engel Australia regards Alan.

Reply By: Ron173 - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 09:57

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 09:57
It would seem they are ok, whilst best to cover it, I do know a bloke who is rough as on his gear, and his engel sits in back of ute rain hail or shine.

I find this ridiculous to treat your gear like this but he even took it thru a car wash!

its the most ugly beat up old piece of junk to look at, but he just laughs n pulls another coldie out of it.

not my way of looking after gear, and not to say one might not survive heavy rain, but a true story.

AnswerID: 338370

Reply By: Member - Craig M (QLD) - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 11:41

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 11:41
Coming from the deep north we have tradies who bolt their Engels into the back of their utes. They stay there rain hail or shine often running 24/7. Usually the ute wears out before the fridge as it is common to see a 20yo fridge in the back of a new Hilux.

Mine is over 14 years old. It has been flooded, rained on, dropped, fallen out of the back of a ute on a roundabout and still refuses to die.

Can't fault it really.

Craig
AnswerID: 338389

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 11:07

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 11:07
All these comments are generally ok IF only running the fridge on 12v but I would suggest you not try to run on 240v until it has well & truely dried out.i
240 v components do not take moisture kindly!!
s
FollowupID: 606052

Reply By: Member - Paul E (WA) - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 22:56

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 22:56
Engels are the hardiest fridge I've come across. Ive had one for 30yrs samone and we take it fishing every year and bring back 20 kg of frozen fish in it. It does brilliant job even though it is absolutely chockers. Some of the WA guys will have seen the Engel that they use at the WA 4wd show at the stand. Apparently it fell of the back of the truck. It lost its lid and totally mangled, they guy beat it back into a rough squarish shape stuck a piece of cardboard from a carton on it with gaffer tape and contued to use it. The guys at the stand say it still keeps stubbies cool. Ther not cheap but they're good and last forever.
AnswerID: 338482

Follow Up By: ross - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 11:44

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 11:44
Paul ,I think that beat up engels fridge belonged to Malcom Douglas of the Broome Crocodile park and sometimes TV presenter.
Ive seen the fridge and it sure is mangled.
Its also reputed to have crossed oz on the back roads a dozen times
Apparently they swapped him new for old
FollowupID: 606062