Battery powered Chainsaw?
Submitted: Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 16:02
Warstar
I was in Bunnings the other day pricing very small chainsaws and spied a Black & Decker 18V battery chainsaw.
I have a big chainsaw (30" bar) but it is cumbersome to carry, and I was looking at those little saws with about a 30cm bar.
When caravanning I normally
camp out and all I need is some thing that will cut up an armfull of firewood. Mind you I am fussy about firewood :). It would need to be able to handle dry
Grey Box or the like, about 3cm - 5cm in diameter
If a battery saw worked (of which I have my doubts) It would mean no fuel to carry, only a bit of bar oil, and it could charge while travelling or overnight by inverter or generator.
Has any one any experience with a battery chainsaw?
If so would one do the task I have outlined?
Is there other brands than that stated?
Reply By: JohnF56 - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 16:12
Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 16:12
I would say it might be handy to cut one or two pieces off a log before the charge runs out.
Cutting requires power and lots of grunt from the motor (you know, torque, etc). Power equates to current/resistance, which 18V will deliver for you for about 10 seconds, and then it dies.
Reply By: Best Off Road - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 16:19
Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 16:19
We use a Ryobi 18 volt circular saw at our factory and it does a remarkable amount of cutting out of one charge.
Ryobi also do a chainsaw to fit the same battery kit, part of the "One" range. I don't have one personally, but there is another chap on this
forum (his name eludes me) who uses one for the purpose you have described and reckons it works
well.
If and when my little Talon dies I'm going to switch to an electric. Just take a few batteries and charge from the inverter (they charge up in about an hour).
Follow Up By: Ron173 - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 18:14
Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 18:14
You wont kill your talon....... absolutely solid piece of kit.
I bought
mine, expecting it to not last very long, despite family borrowing it to do some serious felling and logging,
well for a small saw anyway, it refuses to stop, and will do a heap of work on a tiny
tank of fuel.
Some of the more serious blokes reckon its the only import that can handle a bit of work, and lots are using them cos cant get insurance for stihls and huskies as they had so many knicked from utes.
Only advantage electric is its quiet, if in an area where you really shouldnt be firing up a saw
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 18:54
Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 18:54
Ron,
Mine's pushing four years old, has done a swag of work and has never given a minute's trouble.
$160, if it carks it tomorrow I've done
well.
Follow Up By: Ron173 - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 21:38
Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 21:38
Jim,
couldnt agree more, probably most underrated chain saw on market.
Ron
Follow Up By: Member - Roger B (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 00:09
Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 00:09
Got my little Talon on special at Big W in Jan this year. Used it all through our 3 month holiday in NQ (they had a cold Winter,hence a fire each night) Never missed a beat, Took on some fairly serious timber too. I'm now trying to learn the fine art of sharpening the chain.A new chain's only about $30.00 anyway. Really pleased with the unit.
Roger B...........
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 06:17
Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 06:17
Roger,
I gave up on the file after an old bloke sharpened
mine in the bush with a 12 volt sharpener. I immediately bought one, $50.
If you're going past Dandenong, pop in and I'll sharpen yours for you. Once you see how easy it is, I reckon you'll buy one.
Just give me a call first on 9706 6527 to make sure I've got it at the factory, it usually is.
Follow Up By: Member - Roger B (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 22:22
Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 22:22
Sounds just the thing, Jim. Where do you get these sharpeners, and are they specific to a particular saw or chainsize? Thanks for your kind offer. I'll bear it in mind, but we rarely get to your side of town. I've got your number anyway.
Roger B...........
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 22:31
Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 22:31
Most mower shops.
Little red thing with croc clips to attach to your battery.
Has an angled guide on it to ensure dills like me get it right.
The only important thing is to make sure the little carborundum bit is the right size for your teeth (blades).
Follow Up By: Member - Roger B (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 23:23
Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 23:23
Thanks Jim.
Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 16:31
Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 16:31
As you would most likely need the genny to recharge, why not get an electric chainsaw and run direct from the genny. We got one a couple of years ago for under $100 (Bunnings had few brands available). It handles small firewood, but it is mainly there for emergency trimming of branches that may be in our way
Motherhen.
Follow Up By: Warstar - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 18:38
Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 18:38
Thanks Motherhen, but if i see a nice dead limb under a
Grey Box tree on the side of the road, I dont want to have to unload the genny and carry it to
the spot as
well as the chainsaw.
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 18:45
Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 18:45
Extension cord?
I do see that portable would have it's advantages - particularly when climbing the tree to remove the branch about to take out the top of our caravan!
If it is only cheap, give it a go, and let us know how long the battery lasts, and how long to re-charge.
Mh
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 17:47
Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 17:47
I find my bush saw and a bit of exercise works
well for 3cm to 5cm.
Keep some new blades spare and it is even easier.
Easier to start to, and takes up less room :o)
Leaves the battery charge for important things like keeping the beer cold, which is cheap fuel to keep the arm going.
Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 20:14
Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 20:14
I second that motion............
Whilst I always carry a reasonable chainsaw in the VHC, for firewood I rarely ever use it, just the bow saw.
I mean, how much firewood do you need for a night or two? I see people with massive bonfires and it always reminds me of one of my teachers who used to run many bushwalks in the days when fires were more acceptable in the bushwalking fraternity. He use to say "...the bigger the fire, the bigger the fool...." and I think he was on to something.
I managed to cut enough wood for a reasonable fire for two nights with the bow saw in about 30 mins of hard work. the wood came from a branch that had fallen across one of the tracks in the area. No fuel used, cost = 2 beers, earned!
I doubt I will get any sort of electric toy saw for collecting firewood.
Reply By: Ianw - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 21:53
Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 21:53
I bought a 18v Ryobi last week. Only cost $67 as I already have a battery on my drill and will fit the chainsaw. Tried it out last weekend and was able to cut 20 logs of hardwood at around 100cm - 125cm thick b4 the battery went flat. Only has 1/3 the number of teeth that a normal saw has, so it takes a little longer but the saw handles it fine. Teeth would need to be kept sharp though. Batteries are available at $48 each for NiCad or more for the much better Li-Ion. Can get a 12v charger for charging from a vehicle.
Refer thread 63876
Bunnings are now the only source of Ryobi products.
Follow Up By: Member - Brenton H (SA) - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 23:37
Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 23:37
Ianw, you sure about the size of those logs...maybe 100mm, not cm??
Might have a look at that Ryobi myself as I have others using the 18v system. Thanks for the info.
Follow Up By: Warstar - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 12:06
Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 12:06
Hi Ianw. I am interested, but went to my local bunnings and they have never stocked the chainsaw which matches the +1 series which it seems you have. Where did you buy yours?
I guess you mean 20 X 4 inch type logs? Was the wood dry?
Follow Up By: Ianw - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 22:19
Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 22:19
Brenton,
Jeez 100cm is a
big tree, I guess you are right 100mm it is !
Warstar,
I went to 5 Bunnings and none of them stocked it. Had to go to Special Orders desk . Ryobi have them in stock, you would think that they would insist on Bunnings stocking them seeing as Bunnings are the only ones allowed to sell them.
Yes the wood was dry Sugar gum and some redgum.
Used it again today, handy little thing !
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 05:26
Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 05:26
used the battery powerd chainsaw on this and it seemed to cope OK
[img]
[/img]
Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 06:44
Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 06:44
HAHAHA......I would have camped there and put a fire under that log.
Cheers.....Lionel.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 06:53
Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 06:53
Now theres an idea. It was that darn wet down south last weekend though i dont think much would have burnt
Follow Up By: Warstar - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 12:10
Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 12:10
Insted of getting out the bnattery powered chainsaw why didn't you just lift it out of the way?
Follow Up By: Sludgie - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 17:00
Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 17:00
Come on Davoe, low range first should have got you over.
Sludgie
Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 20:17
Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 20:17
Small twig fallen off the tree?