Price difference - Diesel/ULP in SA

Submitted: Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 19:33
ThreadID: 64057 Views:3909 Replies:11 FollowUps:15

Related Pages

Notice today in the Moonta/Port Wakefield region of SA that ULP is selling for between $0.993 & $1.089/litre while Diesel is averaging between 30 to 40 cents a litre dearer. Obviously those with diesel vehicles are being got at.

Reply By: That Troopy Bloke (SA) - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 19:54

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 19:54
Why have you singled out that region?
Isn't it similar nationwide?

State Diesel BIO ULP LPG
Australian Capital Territory
$1.438 N/A $1.018 $0.597
New South Wales
$1.434 $1.434 $1.091 $0.642
Northern Territory
$1.593 N/A $1.374 $0.917
Queensland
$1.327 N/A $1.021 $0.652
South Australia
$1.419 $1.419 $1.062 $0.612
Tasmania
$1.472 N/A $1.202 $0.819
Victoria
$1.405 N/A $1.080 $0.543
Western Australia
$1.502 N/A $1.197 $0.674
National Average 4 Dec 08
$1.448 $1.427 $1.130 $0.682

Information copied from the fuel prices page on this site.

Glenn
AnswerID: 338459

Reply By: Member No 1- Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 20:44

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 20:44
isnt that the same all over OZ?.....:))))
and i have a diesel
AnswerID: 338466

Reply By: Best Off Road - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 21:08

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 21:08
I run LPG because it provides, by an HUGE margin, the cheapest cost per km.

Also gives one access to a more powerful vehicle.

Disclaimer: LPG may be expensive and/or difficult to access in remote areas.

AnswerID: 338471

Follow Up By: Goona - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 21:28

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 21:28
I guess we have seen this all before in post 63772. Huge margin yes if you never leave the city. More powerful, no not necessarily but I love you disclaimer nice touch.

Goona
FollowupID: 605982

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 21:53

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 21:53
G,

We go bush regularly and at every opportunity. On the odd ocassion we run out of LPG, we run ULP. Overall makes up about 5% of our running costs.

Overall, very economical. Diesel would be so expensive, as to be prohibitive.

FollowupID: 605988

Follow Up By: Blaze - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 02:57

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 02:57
Totally agree Jim,

I have put up numerous spreed sheets to friends and members of other forums, about this even a write up in 4X4 mag. We had a diesel 2 years ago and couldn't even contemplate going back with prices as they are and IMHO the difference is only going to get worse for diesel owners.

I have a mate who was contemplating a 6.5 chev diesel for his Nissan GQ, cost approx $24,000. I pointed out he could put a ULP injected Ford/Commodore V8 in it with LPG fitted for around half the price. Towing my van I burn about 22ltrs per 100, I would have to get 7ltrs per 100 from a Diesel to match it in price.

Only benefit Diesel now has is safety in carry extra fuel, anyone who believes different is kidding themselves IMHO.

FollowupID: 606010

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 06:29

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 06:29
Blaze,

To me it's a matter of economics. I don't let emotions cloud such decisions.

I considered a diesel when I bought the ute early this year. The diesel was more expensive to buy, MUCH more expensive to run and had less range (I've got a combined 140 litres).

Diesel is also less powerful and not as good to tow with. The old theory of diesels having better low down torque, and hence being a better tow vehicle doesn't wash with me. Once I go back a couple of gears, get the revs up I'm developing some serious horsepower, and torque becomes redundant. Sure, it is slurping the juice, but at 45 cents a litre I don't care.

My 4L V6 is cheaper cheaper to run than the GLW's Hyundai Getz.

FollowupID: 606027

Follow Up By: Goona - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 00:00

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 00:00
Jim,

I am in Melbourne at the moment and I totally agree with you with regards to running a gas 4wd. I would to at 48cents per litre. Great stuff especially when diesel is the bet I drove past at $1.32/L. If I lived in the city I would as you have stated buy a Petrol and if only doing the occasional trip away I would be very happy with the output and the fuel costs but if like I am doing and you go away from the main cities and gas is $1.20/l and a lot of places you can't get it and ULP is only 15 to 20c cheaper then it doesn't make sense. My 2 cents worth anyway.

Goona
FollowupID: 606260

Follow Up By: Blaze - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 10:54

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 10:54
Goona

IMHO I dont think there is any right or wrong fuel, but for the majority of owners that only do 1 trip a year into the outback per say, where LPG isnt available its simple, just do the maths.
I do numerous trips, this year was Anne Beadell Hwy, right across Qld, Flinder Ranges (cpl of times), Broken Hill with the Outback Challenge (included towing comp car 140klm's), Pyrenees and only on 3 times that I needed to fill up couldn't I get LPG. One was Ilkurlka (ABH), next was Meekatharra (pump broken) Tom Price (also pump broken). Both broken pumps were I believe outlets that prefered just buying Diesel and ULP.

So guess for now its LPG/ULP for me, and if I wanted to do an engine change I would be fitting a Gen 3 or a Ford V8 on LPG.

FollowupID: 606298

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 21:44

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 21:44
I used to ask why is it so ? Then I was told basically
Because the increased demand for diesel in China and India etc...home heating in the States....meant that the price remained high. (so where's the recession ?)
The ozzie dollar had fallen...(but only for diesel? Contracts are usually hedged are they not ?)
Lack of storage /refineries etc.
Price discounting for ULP (so how come it isn't for diesel?...)
Blah, blah, blah :)) (sorry Landy :)

Now I'm not going to say that some of the above isn't true....but should it add up to 40C a litre difference?

AnswerID: 338474

Follow Up By: Blaze - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 03:02

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 03:02
Simple Footy,

Supply and demand mate, Have a look world wide now how many Diesel sedans etc are on the road especially through Europe, also WE all wanted these high tech diesel motors meaning the fuel had to be inproved IE refined further.

Basically if we had abundance of say Wheat in Oz and the world has a shortage, which way does the price go....
FollowupID: 606011

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 21:30

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 21:30
I think the increased demand in China & India is garbage. The price increase came about the same time the government started paying subsidy's to the transport industry,Every thing that has got a subsidy in Australia has had a major price increase,You only have to look at the price increase of having gas fitted to your car.
Cheers Dave...
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 606143

Reply By: Member - Iceman (VIC) - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 23:55

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 23:55
Went up to Marysville a couple of weekends ago and was surprised all the servos were at $1.41/ Lt for diesel and I filled up at the Shell just going out of Lilydale. Their price was $1.295 / Lt. They must have put the unleaded price on the diesel pump. Wasn't complaining but it was a great surprise.

Iceman
AnswerID: 338487

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 01:00

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 01:00
Hullo John,

I can't find the link to your travel blog on your website.

Has it changed?

AnswerID: 338491

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 04:05

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 04:05
JQ,
Much the same at home eh.
Max we paid on a recent run was $2.64 @ Warburton. No wonder their bowsers are encased in mesh, coupled with a "no photos" warning.
I accept all that.Remote is remote: get used to it.

But it really does cheese me off that the Qld fuel subsidy seems so amazingly malleable around the border regions.

In Bundy at the moment we enjoy about 30c penalty for diesel.
May those who set these prices enjoy their afterlife with the esteemed GWB (Jnr).
jh.
AnswerID: 338494

Reply By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 04:31

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 04:31
Over here ULP is 88.9p and Diesel is 102.9p.
Wonder why the difference is less here?

Dennis

AnswerID: 338495

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 04:45

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 04:45
Lucky bugger! And it's only 50km from one end of the country to the other! :)
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

FollowupID: 606018

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 06:56

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 06:56
And you can't be further than 5km from a sealed road :)))

FollowupID: 606031

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 07:13

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 07:13
No such thing as an unsealed roads over here, even the back roads have kerbing and drains!

Dennis

FollowupID: 606033

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 07:22

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 07:22
LOL not long to go now Dennis. You'll soon be back over here and on the road (unsealed).

FollowupID: 606034

Follow Up By: DIO - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 10:26

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 10:26
(UK)£0.889 = (AU)$2.01698 Unleaded per litre

(UK)£1.029 = (AU)$2.33461 diesel per litre

Might not be quite the gap between diesel and unleaded but the certainly is a MASSIVE diference in the prices between UK & OZ.

So for all you whingers out there - get a life and then just get on with it.
FollowupID: 606048

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 13:02

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 13:02
DIO,

LOL good to see you have'nt lost any of your tact. I agree re the incessant whinging about fuel prices though.

FollowupID: 606070

Follow Up By: Blaze - Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 01:57

Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 01:57
Dio,

When is the last time anyone in the UK did a 18,000klm trip away, Guess when you fill the tank once and travel from one end of the country to the other, fuel doesnt come up in conversation as much. LOL
FollowupID: 606158

Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 09:19

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 09:19
Based on the current fuel price differences I wouldn't buy another diesel. At the moment it's cheaper to run my V8 AWD wagon than my Toyota 4Runner.

Toyota 2.8D - 750km @ $130 = $0.173 / km

Holden 5.7L - 520km @ $75 = $0.144 / km

There's no fuel competition where I live so the prices don't drop like in the city. I told my daughter to get petrol when she drives to school in town. She gets a bit more for her $30 a week as the price difference has been around 8 - 14 cents a litre.

Louie
AnswerID: 338510

Reply By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 04:42

Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 04:42
Spoken to an ex-Petrol Company Manager (cousin) yesterday, and he said, unofficially of course, that the Companies have got together, and set the prices off the Malaysian Market.

Right or wrong, who knows, ????
Is he thowing me a story, who cares !
BUT.......... I too have an opinion on this !.

The old "cartel" syndrome.
Problem is that the majority of vehicles in Oz are petrol, and that side of things are regulated. So to keep the "tooth-less tiger", the ACCC, off their backs, they drop petrol prices, and come up with some crap about diesel.

All about profit, mate, loose it here, make it there !
And the "tooth-less tiger" is seemed to roar, for 80% of the population anyway.

AnswerID: 338621

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 11:15

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 11:15
Quote: "Obviously those with diesel vehicles are being got at. "

That'd be me then, I reckon.....I live in the area you mention (Kadina, 17 klm from Moonta and 50 klm from Pt Wakefield).

It sure does p!ss me off that diesel is sooooo expensive by comparison. When the price of oil is now down in the $40-/barrell range, I would love to have the stats on what the diesel price/litre was when oil used to be that price previously. Admittedly, the A$ has slumped as well, but even so, there is a giant rip-off being made somewhere.

I'm surprised the powerful trucking companies and railways etc (ie: the major users of diesel fuel), haven't chucked a spazzo fit with the oil companies and MADE them drop their prices. You would think they would have a fair amount of clout, wouldn't you??? Maybe they're not too worries, cos they just pass the higher prices on to their clients; who in turn pass it on to the consumer (you and me).
AnswerID: 338779