Nissan Navara 3L Diesel Blown Piston

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 15:30
ThreadID: 64072 Views:8340 Replies:8 FollowUps:11
I recently posted our experience with Nissan Australia after our Navara 3L diesel engine blew a piston at 62,000 kms and Nissan’s refusal to repair this engine under warranty. Ian pulled the engine down and discovered what he believed to be a major design fault with this engine. We put together a very comprehensive report for Australian Consumer Affairs. Glenn Maule, from the Port Augusta office handled our case with Nissan and last week, Nissan repaid in full the cost of the replacement engine, $12,188.00. Consumer Affairs and Glenn were marvelous, with Glenn not once doubting that we were in the right and that this should have been a warranty repair. So to Glenn, we are so very grateful and a public thankyou for your persistence. We have since traded the Navara in as we could no longer trust it and now have an Isuzu NLR200 short truck. It’s wonderful. North East Isuzu in Adelaide treated us like royalty with Ian having written permission from them to service the truck apart from the majors at 60,000kms. Finally, thankyou my friends for your support. It really did mean a lot and just maybe those of you who are also having trouble with Nissan can find some help from your Office of Consumer Affairs as we did. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you all!

Reply By: Notso - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 15:40

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 15:40
So, could you tell us what the Design Fault was that they found?

AnswerID: 338548

Follow Up By: Christa - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 16:03

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 16:03
Hi Notso
This is the conclusion to the report submitted to Consumer Affairs.

In conclusion, I submit that the cause of the failure of this engine was in fact, not anything to do with the type of oil used, who did the oil change or the distance travelled between the oil changes.
From my inspection of the engine, I believe that the malfunction of this engine was caused by its inability to remove heat build-up from the crown of the piston while being operated under load, causing the degradation of the piston material at or near the top piston ring. This resulted in these deposits being sprayed on to the cylinder walls.

Hope this answers your question
FollowupID: 606090

Follow Up By: Notso - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 16:19

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 16:19
Thanks for that. This seems to fit in with the fact that they put extra oil sprays under the piston in the later model engines in the Patrol. Same engine, but with intercooler and some other tweaks I think.

FollowupID: 606092

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 16:23

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 16:23
Another great PR story from Nissan HQ, cant believe thier STILL treating thier customers like this, thats exactly why i left them and that was THREE years ago,
unbelievable, gobsmacked, a company on a suicide mission if ever there was one..............l
AnswerID: 338553

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 16:42

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 16:42
Problem is there are more unsuspecting potential buyers who don't know about Nissan's p1ss poor attitude and warranty policy than there are people who have been burnt.

I see more new 3.0 patrols now than I ever have.

I recently went up to Carnarvon for the 2008 GasDash race and amongst all the cars up there, two vehicles seemed to be very popular.....3.0 Patrols of varying age, and F250's

My mate is having an issue with Nissan at the moment. He has been a Landcruiser man for a long time but recently bought a 2005 3.0 GU. It pulls to the left big time, not just drifts left, it changes direction!!! Part of the condition of him buying it, even though it still has more than six months warranty, was that they would FIX THE STEERING.

Nissan are now saying the front end of the vehicle is within specs and they will not do anything more than give it a wheel alignment, which has been done twice in 4 months already.

They got his money, goodbye, go away!
FollowupID: 606094

Follow Up By: Member - Dogman (WA) - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 18:03

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 18:03
I wish I had known about Nissan's attitude before I bought my Patrol, I just hope nothing goes wrong with it.

Muzzgit, my Patrol pulled to the left really bad when I put 33" tyres on it so I swapped the front tyres over ie right one to the left and the left to the right and it is great now. Could not believe that this would fix the problem but it did. Has your mate tried this?
FollowupID: 606111

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 00:30

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 00:30
Mate, my last patrol [2000] always pulled to the left but it was worse after I belted the left front wheel while scooting along a coastal track. I didn't see what ever I hit but it spun the steering wheel out of my hands and sent us careering off into the bush.

My new patrol pulled to the left when I drove it out of the showroom with nothing more than pre delivery K's on it and it still does.

As for Bazz, I honestly don't know what he has done. The car is less than three years old and still has a few months warranty on it but I can tell you he's fairly PI55ED OFF! His doesn't just pull to the left, it's severe!

He has taken it to a 4WD and truck suspension specialist who has suggested the rear diff is not square to the vehicle by a very small margin.

It doesn't appear to have been in a prang, he's a spray painter by trade and says the car shows no evidence of any repairs.

Now that I think about it, the rear diff being out of square could be the answer. It could well be that all of them have the same manufacturing fault. How easy would it be to weld the locating arm bracket one or two mm out when the chassis is being manufactured, and they'd all have it!!!
FollowupID: 606262

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 17:36

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 17:36
It's almost a great Xmas story. Great for you, well done.
Not so great for other Nissan fans :(
AnswerID: 338564

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 19:00

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 19:00
Ho Ho Ho Merry Xmass, we recently received a invite to the local
Nissan Dealership Xmass Party, might just ask a few questions re
some of the complaints people are talking about, we turn over our
vehicles within a couple of years, and get good trade in Dollars,
but the next vehicle we purchase will be our retirement vehicle,
want to make sure we still get the excellent service we have been getting over the years, we might be just plain lucky.
FollowupID: 606118

Follow Up By: Member QLD Steve & Lorraine Mc - Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 20:50

Saturday, Dec 06, 2008 at 20:50
G- Day Dazza We have been Nissan Patrol & Toyota out in the paddock owners for 24yrs & this 03 patrol we own now is the best of the lot but, I can honestly say this will be our last Nissan with their crap service & warranty they can bash it fair & square where it fits. People who buy 50k plus vehicles don't deserve to be treated like imbiclies when their 3.0ltr car cracks a piston or cracks a rear barn door etc, etc, etc, whatever, to me Nissan have adopted a extremely bad attitude towards warranty work more-so than other car builders. Toyota & other 4x4 makers look to make killing if Nissan stay on the same course that they are travelling. The new V6 195kw Renault bucket of bolts (Due Late 2010) will not make a difference to me personally if the 3.0ltr is anything to go by. As most people in the bush have memories like elephants !!!!

TOO LITTLE TOO LATE I SAY !!! BUY A TOJO OR WHAT SUITS BEST DAZZA.

My 2 Bobs worth + a bit more for the day
Cheers Steve.

FollowupID: 606135

Reply By: blue one - Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 06:36

Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 06:36
Christa,
Glad to hear you won. I had a 3 ltr in a Patrol that played up and I replaced it with a 4.2 intercooled Patrol. Happy with the 4.2 and confident when travelling in remote areas the engine won't go bang from the known design faults.

AnswerID: 338622

Reply By: Kiwi and Grenade - Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 21:52

Sunday, Dec 07, 2008 at 21:52
what yr model??? not an 06 by any chance???
AnswerID: 338726

Follow Up By: Christa - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 16:10

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 16:10
Ours was a Nissan Navara 3L Diesel turbo November 2005.
Interestingly, and scarily, we were in a four-wheel drive shop in October and was telling the owner (whom we knew) about our warranty problems. He said, "Funny, I had a Nissan rep from Adelaide here the other day flogging off these 3L engines. When I asked why so cheap, he replied that they were having a few problems with them and wanted to get rid of them." True! Pity poor person who then, in good faith buys, one of them. This particular business did not take any!
FollowupID: 606333

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 16:24

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 16:24
Seems thats the issues of the early models 3.0 litres have not been fixed (As previously suggested) and its only a matter of time before the wider effect is felt among the Series 3 & 4 Patrols and the Navaras??

FollowupID: 606335

Follow Up By: Kiwi and Grenade - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 16:43

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 16:43
maybe the Nav's dont have so much of an issue compared to the Patrols....weight maybe???? but Im starting to thank myself for getting rid of the Nav.....as for the pootrol....well....its a waiting game....!!!

thats an absolute crock if the rep is trying to get rid of them...wonder how many he's flogged off...!!
FollowupID: 606340

Reply By: Goona - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 00:23

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 00:23
Mate you are a legend. I tried unsuccessfully to get 2 warranty issues out of them and didn't succeed. Great work. Would I buy a new one again? No way. I will save 15 to 20k and put this towards any repairs. Would I buy a second hand Nissan? You bet ya but not a 3lt.

Goona
AnswerID: 338737

Reply By: Paps - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 21:18

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 21:18
Their trying to flog off the current 3.0lt as a brand new "Common Rail" diesel. I thought the Z30 was a common rail diesel? I think it's a slighty modified engine. It's a bloody shame really because my 19 year old GQ is the most solid vehicle I've ever owned.
AnswerID: 339017

Follow Up By: kym111 - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 23:35

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 23:35
My dad has a 92 model Patrol ute. Instead of spending $50K on a new ute, he spent $10K on a new (2005 4.2ltr) motor, then another few $$ on diesel/gas injection (with govt rebate). He couldn't justify the cost of a new ute. He loves the pulling power the old girl now has, especially as he's just upgraded & upsized his van.
FollowupID: 606568

Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 07:54

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 07:54
Good on you guys , what a wonderful end outcome !
AnswerID: 339051