If you "go" out in the bush today you're in for a big surprise...

Submitted: Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 07:56
ThreadID: 64101 Views:3962 Replies:13 FollowUps:15
When you have to go, you have to go, right?
WRONG !!
If this wasn't so serious, it would be funny.
Only in Qld.
Site Link

Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 08:07

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 08:07
Footloose.

You can see from the trial period locations the intent of the legislation but,as it is with most things our politicians try to impose, it is poorly thought out.

Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

AnswerID: 338752

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 08:15

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 08:15
It's easy to see the intent of the bill, after all nobody wants to be confronted by people just "going" on the sidewalk.
And police will use their discretion when issueing fines.
The fine can defended against in a court of law.
BUT
Have you ever found a policeman who is having a bad day ?
Does the poor public have the knowledge and resources to successfully prosecute such action in court ?

Crikey, talk about poor legislation !

Qld, the clever state ? I don't think so !
FollowupID: 606278

Follow Up By: Member - George (WA) - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 11:38

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 11:38
Another example of too many bureaucrats that have nothing better to do than think up stupid new laws
FollowupID: 606301

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 08:11

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 08:11
Hmmmmm....didn't know the Taliban had a Government Agency in Queensland

I wonder how they will police the truckstops(the ones without a windy-loo) on the highways...DNA testing?

George Orwell was right!

AnswerID: 338753

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 08:17

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 08:17
"Only in Queensland."
FollowupID: 606280

Reply By: Chris & Sue - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 08:47

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 08:47
G'day Footy,

While I am not a lawyer, surely this must already be covered in other, broader legislation? It seems that we have to have laws to cover every possible eventuality.

I sometimes despair that this magnificent country is losing the plot.

Thinks: Am I becoming a grumbling old fart?

AnswerID: 338757

Follow Up By: beelzebug - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 10:47

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 10:47
Grumbling old fart?
Watch out Chris, maybe they'll outlaw farting next!
FollowupID: 606296

Follow Up By: nickoff - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 13:46

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 13:46
havn't they already? Carbon tax anyone?
FollowupID: 606318

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 17:00

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 17:00
Mate, good job you're not a silly old cow :))))
FollowupID: 606343

Reply By: Member - Kevin J (QLD) - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 08:56

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 08:56
Bligh fiddles while Queensland "burns".

Kevin J

AnswerID: 338760

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 10:51

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 10:51
Nah , not just fiddles , have to remember who taught her how to play musical chairs and do mega backflips ,, aka: beaty , look at the tendering process for the new history of qld book he commissioned and the job+ perks he said he would never take up ,, trouble is even though an election is in the wind there is no one worthy of the job , sooner state governments are a thing of the past and we have 1 set of rules / laws Aus wide the better.
FollowupID: 606297

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 12:17

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 12:17
To be fair, most Coppers will turn a blind eye to people takeing a leak
on the side of a Rural Road, ect even on the M1, but I agree it has
gotten out of control, when you see blokes standing on the footpath
takeing a leak up against a shop front window, or in a shop entrance way, or worse still , when people are lined up at a Taxi Rank, waiting
to get a Cab, you will see Drunks, Men & Women just do it where
they stand, you see this behaviour outside Pubs, Nightclubs ect,
just after closing time, its not a good look I can tell you.
I see it a lot when I do after hour plumbing maintenance in the
Brisbane CBD.

Daza
AnswerID: 338786

Follow Up By: Notso - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 14:42

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 14:42
This is the group that this legislation is aimed at. The offence was in the Police Offences Act for years and was removed in most states by Left wing trendy labour governments.

It's about time they re-introduced it to cut out this and some other "Offensive" behaviours such as public foul language etc.

FollowupID: 606325

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 15:25

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 15:25
So why is there not a "reasonable excuse" clause in the legislation ?
FollowupID: 606326

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 15:38

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 15:38
Notso, I totally agree. However community standards are dropping more quickly than I can keep up with.
What exactly is "offensive" ?
To me it covers language that I can hear from a 5yo !!
To the 5yolds parents it probably doesn't mean a thing.
They speak like that all the time.
Try not to listen to any teen in Maccas. Their language is, by my standards, the language of the gutter. But to most others, it's just common useage.
I consider road rage as offensive. But if I'm not damaged the police don't want to know. It's become a fact of life (until someone pulls out a weapon and damages you then it becomes an offence).
Parents and police have had to pull their heads in so far it's a wonder that they can still breathe !
Is it any wonder that the bogans rule Australia ?
FollowupID: 606328

Follow Up By: Notso - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 16:50

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 16:50
Yep, most of these "Offensive" behaviour offences require that someone is offended by the behaviour.

Now these days of course it's impossible to "Offend" a police officer because they have seen or heard every grossly offensive thing that humankind is capable of doing. So for most of these offences you need a member of the public to complain about the behaviour before you can proceed anyhow.

It's good to see that they are allowing the evidence of the Police Officer to be sufficient in this case.
FollowupID: 606341

Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 13:52

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 13:52
So you fine the drunk who lives on the streets or is a habitual drunk offender - he doesn't pay the fine and keeps on bleep wherever and whenever he feels like it.

How has the new law changed that.
AnswerID: 338798

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 15:21

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 15:21
Can you visualize the scene ?
Plenty Highway. Dad stops the vehicle, "back in a minute love".
"Better wait until we get to the border, dear."

AnswerID: 338808

Reply By: Ozboc - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 15:35

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 15:35
so pull a funny face whilst swimming and you could be hit with a fine ..... classic

how long til they invent fun tax?

Boc
AnswerID: 338809

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 16:05

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 16:05
can you just picture it
coppers with scuba checking on ya
FollowupID: 606331

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 22:13

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 22:13
While your house is getting robbed and some little old lady getting raped
FollowupID: 607463

Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 16:27

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 16:27
Some years ago, a state politician was prosecuted for going into a restricted forest area for the call of nature. The satirists had a field day about Dee having a pee behind a tree. Things can be taken to extremes.

AnswerID: 338819

Reply By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 18:12

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 18:12

They've done it to us again.
AnswerID: 338838

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 19:55

Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 19:55
How the heck will they know if I pee in the ocean????? They going to flood the sea's with that mythical dye that you tell kids they put in public pools.

AnswerID: 338856

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 21:22

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 21:22
This means that people now, don't even have the rights that animals enjoy.

And I thought Jo was a fascist, these guys make him look good.
Good one Queensland!!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 339018

Reply By: Rowie - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 21:15

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 21:15
This legislation is perfect example of change for changes sake, designed purely to act as a diversionary tactic, taking the focus off the absolutely awful job the Bligh government is doing managing Queensland.

Hospitals, Roads and Police are shamefully under resourced, amongst a long list of deficiencies, yet the Queensland State Government deems it a priority to legislate against people answering the call of nature!! WAKE UP QLD, the Bligh Government is drunk at the wheel!

If they have time to prepare, needless, ill conceived, poorly drafted legislation like this, why haven't they got time to solve REAL problems.

Eg. Queensland doesn't have enough truck parking bays for truck drivers to park in to comply with anti fatigue legislation (the solution isn't happening anytime soon either) yet we can create legislation to catch all those heinous criminals peeing in the park or at the roadside because there aren't enough public toilets!!

AnswerID: 339290

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 02:10

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 02:10
Nice one Rowie...have you ever thought that maybe the Government is working on more than one thing at a time?

Don't make out that this legislation is the end of the world....if you have a look at legislation going through parliament in every sitting, you will see that there are strange Acts/legislation/regulations etc.

FollowupID: 607495

Follow Up By: Rowie - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 23:17

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 23:17
LOL! Yes Andrew I'm sure they have a lot on and have no doubt they'll tell you as much if ever you want a legitmate issue addressed promptly. My point here is that their priorities are way out of order.

Qld Ambulance has MAJOR issues, including clinical skills deficiencies & training issues, manning levels and more. Like most people in Qld, I'm als wondering why all the ambulance levy money hasn't gone into fixing QAS and why so little has changed since the levy was introduced several years ago. Police are swimming against a mounting tide and losing the battle in many areas, QLD Health is haemorrhaging as a result of ongoing mismanagement and the annual urination of $millions against the wall.

But I suppose I should give them some credit, after all they have passed vital legislation relating to answering the call of nature in the absence of public toilets.

I just wonder whether their thoughts have gone as far as giving consideration to building more public toilets?

I really can't believe these buffoons get paid so much. It annoys me that we get so litle value from our tax dollars.
FollowupID: 607630