10 tonne Bottle Jacks

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 14:55
ThreadID: 64165 Views:9294 Replies:14 FollowUps:12
Hello everyone,

I'm doing my homework on bottle jacks - so far I've found information about Kincrome and WTD jacks, both of which appear fine. Are there others that come up well for quality? I'm not too concerned about price - safety is priceless.

Ros.
"Happiness is not a station you arrive at, but a manner of travelling" Ogden Nash

Reply By: Ruffstuff. - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 15:12

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 15:12
I purchased an Armstrong jack abou 3 years ago on advice from a mate who is a mechanic and used them quite a bit.
Have used it a few times without any issues to date even after being rattled around during some extensive trips to the cape, GRR etc. I cant remember what i paid for it unfortunately
AnswerID: 339093

Reply By: nomadoz - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 15:24

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 15:24
10 ton will lift 5 4X4s, in one go, but never trust it, not even with a quarter of 1 4x4

AnswerID: 339094

Reply By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 15:28

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 15:28
Agree with above , no such thing as a safe jack.
buy a supercreep jack for $50 and a set of h/d stands. you will still be able to jack up any 4 x4 plus you will be able to get under the vehicle while it is raised with a fair degree of saftey.

Howard
Resigned to Retirement

AnswerID: 339096

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 16:15

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 16:15
I agree with you Howard, but when it comes to safety, a lot more people I know are carrying a small trolley jack mounted on a thick piece of ply. Much wider footprint than a bottle jack, and easier to position and use out in the bush, especially when the tyre is dead flat. Usually 1650kg or 1800kg capacity.
FollowupID: 606628

Follow Up By: That Troopy Bloke (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 18:37

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 18:37
Wow Phil, I reckon those small trolley jacks are generally rubbish. I won't use one on my 4wd. Unstable on concrete, and I can't imagine they would be any better on the tracks, even with a base plate.

At home I use the bigger version (2 3/4 ton), and I carry 2 of the standard Toyota bottle jacks in the truck at all times. Using 2 overcomes the dead flat tyre problem....one under the axle tube, and the other under the spring pad. They can sit on the same jacking plate. Takes up much less room than a trolley jack.

I prefer the positive support of the screw jacks, rather than relying on hydraulics to support the truck....and lets face it, who carries chassis stands?.

Glenn
FollowupID: 606638

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 22:27

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 22:27
Gday Glenn,
Yeah, the trolley jacks often leak after a while. I carry a high-lift jack myself, but have watched others use the trolley jacks in the bush and been impressed - because it fits under the rear spring when the tyre is fully flat and jacks up as high as you need. The "base plate usually has 4 holes drilled in so the wheels slot in - looks a heap more stable to me than any bottle jack.

When it comes to stands, a couple of tyres under the towbar has worked in the past when we've needed to fix suspension etc.

phil
FollowupID: 606680

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 23:38

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 23:38
Hows it going Phil ,

My trolley jack moves a fair bit as I jack the Troll up , whats the storey if it is "mounted" to thick ply ?

Glenn,
FollowupID: 606687

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 21:35

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 21:35
Gday Glenn,
Yep, going well.
I know what you mean - the trolley jacks roll forward a bit as they go higher - you have to keep an eye on it. From what I've noticed, initially it doesn't move much but as its goes towards the top of its travel, it might be an issue. I haven't noticed it to be a problem (yet!).

phil
FollowupID: 606837

Reply By: Member - gujimbo - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 15:30

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 15:30

I use MASADA bottle jacks, very good quality (do a Google search on them)

AnswerID: 339097

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 16:07

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 16:07
Masada are made in Japan too.
FollowupID: 606626

Reply By: Member - Axle - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:42

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:42
G/day Ross. I think your on the right track with the ten ton bottle jack, plenty up your sleeve so to speak!. But as stated what ever brand, don't always trust it if you have to get directley underneath the vehicle, My thing is to carry a few off cuts of 4x4 hardwood, and just use them beside the jack for safetey issues. A few smaller size bits and pieces of timber is always handy as well

AnswerID: 339140

Reply By: Member - Brad S (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 22:01

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 22:01
My Jeep jack gave up the ghost and I could get a replacement for quids, or rather lots of them, so I went to a wrecker's and picked up a Toyota Troopy wind-up bottle shaped jack for about $45. Safe, robust and no oil. It now sits in the back of the Terracan. The Terracan's oil bottle jack now sits in the garage...never been used in anger.
AnswerID: 339156

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 22:29

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 22:29
I bought a 10 tonne bottle jack from supercheap for work, it was bought for one particular job but now they use it on everything. It even works on its side with the handle facing up which is very unusual, most of them wont on their side. So it could be useful for jacking something back into place or bending something back thats bent that needs to be pushed horizontally.. Michael
AnswerID: 339161

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 08:07

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 08:07
I much prefer to use my 1700 KG trolley Jack for reasons of safety.
I also carry a small bottle jack. Neither should be used without
other support if working under the car. I use the trolley jack with a piece of 6 by 2 timber that fits between the wheels & extends the footprint. No heavier than a big bottle job but does take up
a bit more space. Much more convenient to locate a lifting point
when tyre is dead flat & can generally be raised without operator
needing to be under vehicle. Its a matter of choice I guess but a 10 ton job seems like overkill to lift a 4WD.......oldbaz.
AnswerID: 339176

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) The O - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 10:17

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 10:17
I would look at the Masada brand out of Japan...about twice to three times the price of the cheap brand but it's a quality product.

Make sure your bottle jack that you are going to buy is designed to pump on it's side and up side down, most cheap one will not.

If your after a cheap one like some people on this forum don't worry about asking questions as they are all as poor as each other.

And please don't use the lame excuse of "a cheap one will do me fine as I only use it every now and again....don't see the sense in spend more money"

Ask about what angle they will pump on.
Are they rebuildable.
Are parts avaliable.

Go the Masada and you will have many happy years together.

As for Axel stands, we use Jackson brand ones made here in SA...been around for over 20 years.

Ours are rated at 1000KG each and they have an 8mm thick base plate, the uprights are made of 4mm wall thickness steam pipe and cost about $80 each.....enter the cheap $40 a pair ones that are legally rated at 1000kG each...3mm thick base plate and 2mm wall thickness RHS uprights.....make you wounder!

AnswerID: 339191

Follow Up By: Member - Ros C (VIC) - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 15:02

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 15:02
Thanks O.

I gave up on "expensive bargains" years ago because they just need replacing and that might cost more in the long run. Actually, you've tapped into one of my hobby horses - I reckon we've become a nation of cheap-skates who don't want to pay their way (speaking generally) but want to get paid in full.Well, we can't have it cake and eat it too.

Masada seems to get quite few Brownie points and I'm very aware of the safety issues too. Interested in your suggested axle stands and the comparative specs.

Many thanks,
Ros.
"Happiness is not a station you arrive at, but a manner of travelling" Ogden Nash

FollowupID: 606925

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) The O - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 16:05

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 16:05
Ros make sure it is the Masada series that can be used at all angles, they do a cheaper series that aren't designed to jack other them vertically.

When we bought another set of the Jackson axle stands from Motor Traders here in Adelaide they said they don't carry the Jackson brand in stock because most workshops don't see the need to spend that much money.

It's not just the general public who are cheap skates but also some businesses too.

Nothing worse then seeing a trades man like a Carpenter who relies on his circular saw day in and day out using a $40.00 saw.....then he charges a fortune for his work.

In our workshop and service vans we only use good quality tools....one for reliability and secondly as a marketing ploy.

If the tool doesn't do what it is meant to or it fails then I have every right to complain but if it was a cheap one it might be a different story.

FollowupID: 606931

Reply By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:11

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:11
I carry a 10 tonne rated MASADA.

What I consider a "trade" quality jack. Yes they are dearer but so what? given a failure of the cheap stuff at the worst possible moment you would wish you had paid the price.....

had a couple for years and very happy with them

Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

AnswerID: 339273

Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:17

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:17
forgot to add that I also carry a kangaroo jack as well as 4 pine blocks as well....around 400mm long...light and strong either as base for the jack or a prop once jacked up

Get a treated pine sleeper from Bunnings or wherever and cut into suitable lengths just check the one you choose for grain and flaws.........Mine have been thrown aroound the back for years and proven very useful...
Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

FollowupID: 606814

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:46

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:46
Ros, no idea what postage would cost, but check this link. 10 tonne $140. I came across it when looking for a 5 or 7 tonne. The 5 tonne is $105 and the 7 tonne $130.

Masada Jacks

Cheapest I have seen.

Norm C
AnswerID: 339283

Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 21:16

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 21:16
Anyone considering the purchase of a Masada bottle jack, might like to pop into your nearest Supercheap Auto branch before the end of next week...

You may get a pleasant surprise:)

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 339291

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 21:27

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 21:27
Ed, you sent me to the rubbish bin to retrieve the Supercheap junk mail I had ditched. 2 Tonne on sale for $39.45 and seems to be 20% off the range they carry. I'll check it out. Hopefully they have the 5 or 7 Tonne in stock at a reasonable price.

Norm C
FollowupID: 606834

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 21:58

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 21:58
G'day Norm,
I picked up a 7-tonner (as well as 2x 2-tonners, 1 standard, & 1 short) a few months ago when they had 'em on sale..

I don't have the receipt to hand, and I don't remember how much, but I do distinctly remember thinking "Geez, that's a good price, better get me one o' them"... certainly substantially less than the $130 you'd mentioned in your previous reply..

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 606840

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 22:07

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 22:07
I can see why Supercheap are finally carryijng some better quality jacks. They are a standout performer on the Govt Recalls: Link.
FollowupID: 606841

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 23:49

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 23:49
Here's a couple of Jacks that will do the job.

AnswerID: 339323

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 13:09

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 13:09
Picked up a 7 Tonne Masada today at Super Cheap for $100.
Happy with that.

Norm C
AnswerID: 339385