Dual Fuel and ULP Life

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 08:27
ThreadID: 64176 Views:2739 Replies:9 FollowUps:8
I have a question for the wise forumites out there:

I have a new dual fuel VE Ute and run it on gas all the time. If it is left on gas it will start on petrol and switch to gas once the engine is warmed up and you move off idle. It uses very little petrol to do this.

My question relates to the ULP sitting in the tank. At the current rate of use it would take over 6 months before I need to fill up on petrol. What is the shelf life of ULP? Should I burn off a tank of petrol every now and then and refill with fresh fuel and is so how often?

Pete

Reply By: LuckyLuke - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 08:47

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 08:47
Hi Pete, I have a dual fuel 80 series running on gas . I will suggest to use the dar for at least 10 mins or more once every week to lubricate the engine ....
I had my since few years now and no problem!

Luca
AnswerID: 339183

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 08:54

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 08:54
The system you refer to is the older style ring mixer system. The injected system always starts on petrol. There is no need to deliberately switch to petrol because, firstly, it already gets a good shot of petrol every time you start it and secondly, modern engines do not require extra lube to the upper cylinders. They can quite happily run full time on LPG.

FollowupID: 606721

Follow Up By: LuckyLuke - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 09:11

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 09:11
Ok, I understand ... is an 80 series (4.5 lt 93 model) considered "modern engine" ?
My system is not the new injected system but the guy who installed the system told me the car will start on petrol and then switch on gas ... ?? Correct??
Anyway I'm running my on petrol also because the gas here in Kangaroo Island is so expansive .....
FollowupID: 606724

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 09:27

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 09:27
The issue is whether the valve seats are LPG compatible. Toyota will be able to clarify that point. If they say the engine is LPG compatible then that means it has hardened valve seats and does not need to run on ULP for upper cylinder lubrication, or use something like a Flash Lube kit.

Yes even the ring mixer systems use a little petrol to start but not as much as the injected systems. The mixer sytems switch almost immediately to petrol whereas the injected system waits till the engine warms up a bit.

I have the mixer system in my V8 Statesman and it uses hardly any petrol, far less than my Pajero.
FollowupID: 606731

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 08:50

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 08:50
I'll make an assumption here, that the VE runs an injected LPG system.

My Pajero runs a similar system. It starts on petrol and when the engine temp reaches 40 degrees it switches to LPG.

Since we fitted the system we usually only put about a quarter of a tank of petrol in at any one time. No point having all that money sitting in the tank waiting for some tea-leaf to come along. We've never had any issues with it. Never even occurred to me that the petrol might "go off". We find that we use the quarter tank about every 6 weeks. The missus does a lot of short runs ;-(

AnswerID: 339184

Reply By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 09:09

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 09:09
Pete,

There is a theory that ULP goes all syruppy if left too long. I've got a Jerry in the garage that must be two years old that disproves that theory. Whether or not it loses some potency over time, I don't know, but it seems to run the mower OK.

Keeping a reasonable level of ULP in the tank is important as fuel pumps run constantly and rely on the fuel to lubricate them. I have been advised that ¼ of a tank is the minimum.

AnswerID: 339188

Follow Up By: Tippa - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 17:49

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 17:49
Good advice mate. A few things i can elaborate on aswell- ULP doesnt go syrupy... as you found anyway. Maybe the person saying it was thinking of the time when the refineries had the problem of not "washing" their fuel correctly and selling "sticky" fuel- and paying huge warranty claims.... alot of which i fixed on light aircraft at that time.

Your mower will run on anything really as its compression is low and its far from a close tolerance, high performance engine!

Leaving fuel in the tank for the pump to keep cool and lubricated is spot on, although as long as its pumping, its cool... and lubed. Keeping 1/4 of a tank is a good safety measure but not a must.
Cheers!
FollowupID: 606783

Reply By: Ron173 - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 11:17

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 11:17
I'd be running it on petrol to use it up, and then just put 10 or 15ltrs at a time in it, then you will always have fresh fuel.

As said above by jim, it doesnt appear to be off over time and will run most small engines but what does happen is that it looses its octane rating over time, prob not best for a hi tech modern engine.

Ron
AnswerID: 339196

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 12:17

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 12:17
G'day Pete,

There was an article in the trailer boat mag a few issues ago regarding the aging of fuel. Interestingly, fuel ages very quickly in the fuel tank where the lighter companants are able to evaporate. This apparently affects the octane level and the fuel density (this is important for fuel pumps so it says). They were saying fuel was only good for about 6 weeks. They did note that where the fuel cannot evaporate - like in a jerry can - it can last a lot longer. Maybe 6 months in a jerry.

They were looking at 4 stroke motors and I suspect that the simple two strokes are nowhere near as fussy.

AnswerID: 339203

Reply By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 13:10

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 13:10
Thanks for all your responses. Looks like I will run the tank down about every 4 weeks or so.

It does help on the big coiuntry work trips. If I start with both tanks full I can get over 1,100 km before needing a fuel stop. (mind you there are lots of other things that need a stop well before that!)

Pete
AnswerID: 339213

Follow Up By: LuckyLuke - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 14:17

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 14:17
I did a chainsaw course few month ago and the bloke said if we want to store petrol on jerry cans it will be better if we buy the "high" octanes one (like premium ... 98 octanes .... ) He reckon the premium petrol will last longer the the 91 octanes and it will not clog the carburator (on chainsaw ...)

FollowupID: 606760

Reply By: sweetwill - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 15:05

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 15:05
g"day
I have a vy ute on gas when i done a trip half way round the block i filled it with both gas and ulp not knowing what the gas situation would be in some country towns well not leaving the blacktop i used very little ulp well this stayed in the car for four months till it became hard to start so back to the gas installer with all his gauges and gear then after about 15 minutes he asked me how long had the fuel been in the tank i told him ,he said to run it all out, after doing this and only putting $20 at a time in it has never mist a beat hope this helps bill.
AnswerID: 339230

Reply By: Tippa - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 17:41

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 17:41
All unleaded cars have at least hardened exhaust valve seats. A problem with some however which arent designed to run LPG is called "valve recession" where te hardened valve seats actually recess into the aluminium head. A friend with a Discovery has this problem and is getting the heads recoed at the moment. It happened quite quickly to him as his is centrifugally supercharged aswell. Great setup but not totally compatible with LPG from factory.
My 80 series is running injected LPG and can run on it for life, no probs. However the installer still recommended on average to run a full tank of petrol thru her per month. I do this aswell because as soon as petrol leaves the refinery, its octane drops. Sitting in the servo tanks and then in your tank and its dropped a few octane points guaranteed.
Point is, always try to fill up at busy servos where fresh fuel gets pumped in more often, and run her her dry and fill up with fresh ULP once a month and you will be fine as far as fuel goes. Whether a new commy is fully LPG compatible i'm not sure. I do know that Holden wont sell them with an LPG option as they wont warranty the engines....
Still, i think you will be fine for a long time.
AnswerID: 339243

Follow Up By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 17:50

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 17:50
Holden supplied this with the dual fuel option and it is even described as an option in the vehicle handbook.

Pete
FollowupID: 606784

Follow Up By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 18:42

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 18:42
Hi Tippa

(My 80 series is running injected LPG and can run on it for life, no probs.)

I would still check the valve clearance every 40 000 klm.
my 80 series had done 160 000 klm before i fitted Lpg.
and i checked the valve clearance, they were all still as factory settings perfect.
After 40 000klm on Lpg and flash lube i have just checked the valve clearance and the exhaust valves are on the minimum tolerance and will need reshimming very soon.

Rob

I only ever made one mistake
and that's when I thought I was wrong!

FollowupID: 606799

Follow Up By: Tippa - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 19:42

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 19:42
Ok mate thanks for the good advice. As far as our 80s engines go on LPG, i can only believe what i'm told by the manufacturer and installer of the system. But now with some real world experience saying it is not so, i'll check my valve clearances periodically.
Since mine has done 280,000kms, 20,000kms of which are on gas, i'll check and adjust the rockers sooner rather than later.
Thanks again.
FollowupID: 606807

Reply By: Tippa - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 18:13

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 18:13
Well there you go! They must have finally realised that its ok with your new model. Never been that way but good to see! So you are safe as houses.
As a minimum, i'd just keep filling up the ULP tank to 1/4 only for the start-ups, and once a month run that full 1/4 tank thru her. Gets rid of the stale fuel aswell.
Cheers!
AnswerID: 339250