ALTERNATIVE TO MATRAX

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 18:31
ThreadID: 64195 Views:9461 Replies:27 FollowUps:20
Hi all, just priced a set (2) Matrax from the local ARB store @ $325
Does anyone have an alternative idea for de-bogging. In case you're wondering yes I am a tight a-rse with money. As most times when I have been motionally challenged all four wheels have been involved therefore two sets required. Any (sensible) suggestions welcomed.

Cheers ob

Reply By: Tippa - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 18:35

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 18:35
You could try MAXTRAX as an alternative ;)
AnswerID: 339254

Reply By: Ozboc - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 18:52

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 18:52
Tight arse??? PFFFFTTTT $325 for a couple of bits of plastic ... now thats crazy .....

Boc
AnswerID: 339259

Follow Up By: Tippa - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 19:08

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 19:08
I agree, but i would say it one of those "its not the cost of materials, but the cost of producing them" things.

They are probably designed here and made in China, so initial start-up costs to have them designed, contacts established, tooling made, materials bought, labor to make them, cost of shipping, marketing, distribution (or the word of the moment... logistics) aswell as profits factored in along the way, not to mention the copyrighting and risk the bloke took to outlay the money in the first place, would justify the seemingly crazy price for what you see as just an injected moulded plank of plastic...
Different if K-Mart sold thousands of them a year though...
FollowupID: 606801

Follow Up By: donks1 - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 19:08

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 19:08
Yeh.... I second that

Donks1
FollowupID: 606803

Follow Up By: P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 08:06

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 08:06
Designed here and made here from Australian Materials actually!
FollowupID: 606874

Follow Up By: Mike - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 09:53

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 09:53
Or someone/all are making a massive markeup. I had thought about these, but not at that rediculous price.

Happy trails, Mike
FollowupID: 606884

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 12:34

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 12:34
"They are probably designed here and made in China, so initial start-up costs to have them designed, contacts established, tooling made, materials bought, labor to make them, cost of shipping, marketing, distribution (or the word of the moment... logistics) aswell as profits factored in along the way, not to mention the copyrighting and risk the bloke took to outlay the money in the first place,"

And don't forget ARB's 100+ % mark up !!

The main reason why I don't go anywhere near their stores.

Pezza
FollowupID: 607182

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 18:57

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 18:57
You could always let your tyres down! What conditions do you envisage using them in Ob, sand, mud? In all my travels through sandy country, I've not got stopped by loose sand if I've had the tyres down at suitable pressures.

Having said that tho, in one of my earliest attempts at the Simpson in 1984, in an extremely underpowered Nissan 720 4x4 Ute (Datsun 1800cc 4 cylinder motor), I carted around 1800 x 450 strips of 25mm weldmesh. It's a a heavy alternative. I've seen people using the heavy duty doormats made of rubber strips. They joined three or four together with wire, again fairly bulky.

Cheers Mick.

AnswerID: 339260

Follow Up By: George_M - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:08

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:08

When I was a young bloke, and not too bright, I used to carry two strips of PSP. Picked them up at an abandoned WW2 airfield in FNQ. Weighed about 30kg each. Never used them. Took a while to work out I could get just as far by letting some air out of the tyres and doing a little digging.

George_M
Come any closer and I'll rip your throat out!

FollowupID: 606810

Follow Up By: rumpig - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:24

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:24
i've been to fraser countless times and never gotten bogged and wondered how people managed to do it. then last trip coming back from sandy cape we removed a couple of bogged vehicles from the ngkala inland track using a mates set of maxtrax (was super easy with these). come my turn i headed up the southern entrance to the track as it was easier, come around a blind corner down a hill and found a motorbike who had jumped the queue stalled and stuck halfway up a sandhill. i was now stuck between two uphill sections in very soft sand and quickly got bogged as i tried to ease myself out.
the recovery was easy because i stopped before digging down to deep, used maxtrax to reverse me out back up the hill.
MORAL OF THE STORY
it's not always your fault why you get stuck, i had tyres down low (16psi) but had to stop somewhere i normally wouldn't of because of somebody eles actions.

as for the original posting,
check out the Maxtrax website, i'm sure RRP used to only be $295 (yes i'm hearing you say that's still to expensive), unless they've had a recent price rise.
FollowupID: 606815

Reply By: equinox - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 19:04

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 19:04
I always carry a few planks of wood with me. My neighbour gave them to me for free. I cant see what the fuss is with these Maxtrax things.

AnswerID: 339261

Follow Up By: Tippa - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 19:10

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 19:10
Marketing and a nice orange colour!
FollowupID: 606804

Reply By: RobAck - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 19:32

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 19:32
Can I suggest a decent 4WD training course in the first instance. You will learn about use of the appropriate recovery equipment and a lot of other useful information and skills.

MaxTrax are actually very good but like any piece of recovery equipment you need to have the basic skills to understand how, when and where to use them. For example I had to do a recovery some time back and the call on the radio said we're stuck and the max trax are no good. Well that was the case and this unskilled driver had no idea of basic recovery and had put their faith in a piece of recovery equipment they had no idea how to use properly.

After ten minutes of shovel work and a reverse stall recovery, again they had no idea how to do this most basic of 4WD skills and we got them out no problems

So I suggest you invest in some basic training before spending time on buying recovery equipment

RobA
AnswerID: 339264

Reply By: troopyman - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 19:38

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 19:38
$325 is a lot but i bought some anyway . I am a recovery equipment junkie LOL .
AnswerID: 339266

Follow Up By: Tippa - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 19:56

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 19:56
You cant have too much, only too little!
I'd hate to be stranded in a bog with the sun setting and the beers still in the waeco.... (i think i'd pay twice the price!)
I think maxtrax are a good thing if you know when and how to use them (as mentioned) and although are relatively expensive and well marketed, they could find their way into my roof basket for my next trip.
FollowupID: 606808

Follow Up By: Member - Robert G (WA) - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 11:11

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 11:11
I'm with you Tippa. I travel a bit on my own and anything that makes getting unstuck easier is worth considering. I paid $295 for my Maxtrax and I hope I never have to use em. But if I do, I am sure I'll be happy about the purchase.
FollowupID: 606899

Reply By: Supercalafreakinawesome- Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 19:51

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 19:51
Hi ob,

Have a look at these, haven't used them, haven't even seen one in the flesh but it might give you some ideas

Sand Track

AnswerID: 339268

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:37

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:37
Yep they look good. Sort of like the door mats I was talking about. $77 bucks, a damn site cheaper too!

FollowupID: 606821

Follow Up By: Time - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 22:34

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 22:34
A mate tried using them when stuck on an up hill section of dune on the Simpson, all they did was rotate around the tyre, absolutely useless.

Used Maxtrax from another vehicle and he got out OK. The Maxtrax we had were for "evaluation", didn't cost us a bean, but at their rrp of $325 I wouldn't bother. Have used sections of arc mesh fencing in the past with good results.
FollowupID: 606847

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 11:56

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 11:56
That price is only for one sand mat - ie one wheel. The Maxtrac are priced as a pair.

I have a pair of Maxtracs and the one time I used them , they worked perfectly.

Time - when you were bogged, did you say " bugger this, Time stands still for no man "

Willie
FollowupID: 606912

Follow Up By: Time - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 12:00

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 12:00
No Willie, just "Marched on!"
FollowupID: 607180

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 13:55

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 13:55
If you can "cure all things" , you would make a hell of a doctor.
FollowupID: 607190

Follow Up By: Time - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 08:45

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 08:45
No, I just "cure all wounds". Particularly my own, with a stitch that helps me save 9!
FollowupID: 607333

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 19:52

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 19:52
bushranger make a "sandtrack" but i don't know if it is any good at what it is supposed to be designed for (in the eye of the punter.)

like equinox i carry wood, used as spacers in my pack when not in a recovery situation.
AnswerID: 339269

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:15

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:15
Hi Ob
How much do you put on recovery???
When ever we have done some serious sand work, we have always had other vehicles with is for that helping snatch. There is sand and there is real powder soft sand. We have travelled to some very remote places and had always had the safety of others.
Last year on a solo venture near Lake Torrens we managed to get bogged 4 times in very soft sand. Towards the end things were not looking good, even with very low tyre pressures and that helping shovel. We managed to get out and decided after that incident, that Maxtrax would be cheap piece of recovery equipment.
Since then we have not looked like using them, but they give me piece of mind if the situation arrives.

My moto comes back to my old scouting days, "Be Prepared"

Who has been here

AnswerID: 339275

Reply By: Member - Greg A (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:27

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:27
If sand is the problem, carry 2 x 2foot wide rolls of carpet.

The tourist Kombis used to use that at Noosa North Shore, and they were damn near unstoppable..

Greg..

AnswerID: 339278

Reply By: Shaker - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:32

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:32
Branches?
AnswerID: 339280

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:36

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:36
Ob

Hessian Sand Bags.

Cost virtually nothing. Easy to store and weigh next to nothing as well.

Never ever considered them myself until recently when I had a mega bog, trailer and all (see my Rig Pic). The young fella travelling with us (EO Member Extfilm) produced these sand bags from somewhere out of the back of his ute and it no time we had the old GQ back on terra firma again.

AnswerID: 339282

Follow Up By: Tippa - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:43

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:43
Now thats awesome.
FollowupID: 606826

Reply By: rodweb - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 21:10

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 21:10
YOu can also drive over a tarp or Torneau cover. I would prefer this to hessiona. I have seen hession get wrapped round an axle and tear off brake lines. Opposite Lock do a cheaper version of the Max track, but personally, why bother? To me they seem big and bulky and there are other ways to recover a stuck vehicle.
AnswerID: 339288

Reply By: Mark Taylor - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 21:21

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 21:21
I own and have used my MAXTRAX for my D3.
They are made in Australia, not China from a nylon material.

I would also think that the original tool making for the casting of these and all other costs involved in bringing a new product to market would have represented a substantial amount of money invested.. like around the thick end of $90 grand.

As I said, I think they're great and are reasonably priced. Especially when your money stays in Australia and doesn't go to China.

Mark T

P.S. Kevin 07 has give families money for Christmas so that "No child in Australia will be without a Plasma Screen TV by 2009"
AnswerID: 339294

Follow Up By: Tippa - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 21:54

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 21:54
Cheers. So affirming everything i stated, whats even better is they are made in our country for the understandably high price, other than outsourced to cheaper labour where the price could be questioned moreso.
Not sure how you know it took 90k to get them on shelves but it is believable.
Cheers!
FollowupID: 606839

Reply By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 22:00

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 22:00
Hi guys

Having spent 4 days marooned in the desert west of the CSR this year with mud as far as the eye could see the Max Traks we had were a boon - without them we would have been down to the axles waiting to get out, with the Max Traks and lots of digging and 5 hours later we at least got to a bit of higher ground to wait it out.

The beauty of the Max Traks was that we could lift them out of the mud - knock the mud out of them easily and quickly use them again to move further forward.

I wouldn't knock Max Tracks - when you are stuck like we were $325 sounds cheap. Real cheap.

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 339303

Reply By: feathery - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 06:06

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 06:06
If you are to tight to buy new then I will sell you mine .
AnswerID: 339326

Reply By: P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 08:11

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 08:11
I'll declare my interest first.

I sell Maxtrax (for considerably less than $325 too, for that matter), and I have had a bit to do with the designer and owner and even been away testing with them.

They are not like the alternatives, the simple difference is that Maxtrax actually work!

I don;t make a habit of getting bogged myself either, but it still happens from time to time for those of us who actually go bush... and the Maxtrax, make everything easier and safer.

AnswerID: 339337

Follow Up By: Tippa - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 11:13

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 11:13
Great to see they are a fully Australian desidned, made and owned product!
So if everyone is saying $325 is too expensive and is the only argument against more members buying the product you can sell for cheaper, what can you sell them for?
Your web site doesnt have prices.
Who knows, this topic may have drumed up a bit of business for you.
Cheers!
FollowupID: 606901

Reply By: Member - Zig (WA) - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 08:21

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 08:21
I bought a Maxtrax "copy", made by Boab. from Opposite Lock in Midland (Perth).
If I remember right they were around $175 for a pair. They have been OK so far. They are a bit of a pain when we haven't got the roof rack on.
AnswerID: 339339

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 08:54

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 08:54
Had an old ally mesh security door , mesh out of frame , cut lengthwise into 10" strips then cut in 1/2 to give 4 = strips , light weight ,flat ,stores behind back seat , easy to clean after use , have used only once in mud + once in sand , cost =$0.00.
AnswerID: 339344

Reply By: trainslux - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 10:41

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 10:41
Strips of shade cloth 80cm wide, 2m long are great.
fold/ roll up to bugger all, can stuff them in the spare wheel rim etc.

Trains

Lighter than carpet.

Or have your ute/ tray liner made up so you can use it as 2 seperate pieces to get you out of trouble.

I think that just about all of us line the floors with something.
who cares if its really dirty or muddy, if it gets us out of a bad situation.

T
AnswerID: 339367

Follow Up By: Tippa - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 11:06

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 11:06
The ute liner idea sounds like it would work- the woven recycled tyre stuff. Only pain in the you know what would be unloading everything to get them out lol.
FollowupID: 606898

Reply By: ob - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 12:16

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 12:16
My deepest thanks to all who took the time and effort to reply to my post. As I suspected taking advantage of the large pool of experience and knowledge that the members of this forum possess has thrown up a lot of alternatives. Some as simple as pointing out the value of what at first appears to be an expensive piece of recovery gear. I guess if you are buried up to the proverbials in a remote location any gear price becomes secondary. Having said that it looks like there are a lot more alternatives than I thought at first. Once again thanks guys.

Cheers ob
AnswerID: 339378

Reply By: putrol - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 12:33

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 12:33
try these
http://www.frp-grating.com.au/data-sheets/Bridging-ladders-track-mats.pdf
they also work as a ramp to gat up steep rocks & over drains
AnswerID: 339380

Reply By: oz doc - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 17:57

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 17:57
Hi Ob, maybe suck up to Santa for a set. Then when you're all kitted up, hang out at a popular spot and ask for a donation to help someone out of a bog- should have them paid for in no time. doc.
AnswerID: 339406

Reply By: Member - greg S (QLD) - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 22:27

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 22:27
G'day ob,

Usually one set will get you out of trouble.
If you have a camper trailer in tow then they recommend that you have two sets.
We have two sets (as we have a camper that can weigh as much as 1.6T fully loaded), and we needed them on Fraser Island to get my brother out of some very soft sand behind Indian Head(someone else provided another set, so we actually had 6 maxtrax). He was towing his Jayco camper with a Navara dual cab ute, loaded to the gunnels with food, drinks, wife and 3 kids. We also used a snatch strap to help get him out.

Have not needed them since, but I know I have them for when I do want to go back to Fraser Is or anywhere else. We also travel on our own, so hence the need for self recovery (we have other recovery gear as well).
We purchased our's from Dave at P7 offroad for quite a bit cheaper than that (was a while ago now). Freight may be a factor, depends on where you are. It doesn't hurt to ask though!

They weigh around approx 4Kg each (8kg approx a set)

AnswerID: 339437

Reply By: Mark S (cns) - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 09:07

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 09:07
Point to ponder after seeing some of the replies:
There was, and still is, numerous ways to get unstuck before some heavily marketed (therefore overpriced) bits of HDPE with spikes underneath came along!
Harden up Australia! There's been numerous alternative suggestions posted here that can work just as well for a fraction of the cost IF you know what you are doing and apply a bit of good ole fashined logic!

xmas cheers
AnswerID: 339472

Reply By: rapid80 - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 10:28

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 10:28
I was looking at the maxtrax recently when the wife piped up about how in Japan in the snow they use bamboo mats to get out of the bog.Rugged,lightweight and can double up as a door mat for your tent/camper,swag etc.
We found some bamboo fencing at Bunnings or you can buy bamboo floor mats with a carpet backing.We are going to try this and she has the job of sewing some loops to the mats so we can fit pegs to secure them.Limited to sand recoveries I would think. Total cost -about $40 for 2.
However I am going to buy 1 set of maxtrax just in case, cause I still think they are cheap insurance if it all turns to ****.
AnswerID: 339632

Reply By: Big_T - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 17:39

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 17:39
A cheaper alternative to Max Trax is these FRP grating devices (as mentioned by another member above)
The advantage of these things is they can also span washouts and rock ledges. Commonly known as Bridging ladders or Waffle boards in the UK.
A few of us here in S.A. are using them. Bought from GRATEMATES

$245 per pair.

Quite amazing to see them in action as bridging ladders. Lets you drive over some big holes.

AnswerID: 341872