Camping amongst the Spiders

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 19:55
ThreadID: 64197 Views:4042 Replies:11 FollowUps:10
It was late afternoon when we crested a hill to see the expanse of water that is Lake Jeavons. After so many salt lakes it was a relief to see some water again in the desert regions. Lake Jeavons lies west of the NT Border at 20°37'14 South and 128°58'06 East.

We made our way down along an old broken fenceline to the shores of the lake and I promptly had a minor hassle with my cheesecutters(tyres) breaking through the dampish lake shore. A frantic unhooking of the trailer, turning it and the GQ around and getting away from the swamp was the next move.

We didn't take too much notice of our surroundings during the hasty activity except for looking at the wonderful expanse of water and all the birdlife afterwards. Camp was made and before tucker time some tyres had to be mended. Others took time off to photograph the reflections of the lake. We were all pretty bushed and the midgies played their part to see us off to an early bed.

The next morning as the sun hit our surroundings we saw just where we were camped. Behind us was a small forest of dead Ti Trees and Paperbarks. Intertwined amongst these trees were myriads of spidwerwebs. On closer inspection we saw that the webs were inhabited! Golden Orb Spiders had made this place their home and due to favourable conditions had proliferated their specie.

The prevailing wind across the lake came from the east. On the lake shores a swamp existed with a variety of water borne plant life. This swamp gave rise to a diverse amount of insects. Depending on the wind strength, these creatures would be blown into the webs trapping them and in turn being converted into spider food!

We broke camp very carefully making sure that there were no hitchhikers aboard and quietly departed from the scene...lol

Reply By: Member RayJen Paj05 (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 19:57

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 19:57
Nice yarn, Willem....cheers, RayJen
AnswerID: 339271

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:41

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:41
Thanks Ray
FollowupID: 606825

Reply By: Ron173 - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:00

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:00
Get the mortein!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! lol
AnswerID: 339272

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:07

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:07
you know there are members here that do bring chemicals and kill all insects within there camp site - spiders , ants what ever crosses there path .....

kind of sad to think that for a few days they can not go without destroying the eco system an a given area ....

Boc
FollowupID: 606809

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:14

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:14
I was yanking the chain mate
FollowupID: 606812

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:15

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:15
I know , just wanted to point out there are actually people that DO what you suggested ...
FollowupID: 606813

Follow Up By: Snowbunny - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:49

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:49
Dont' you just love a follow up post with such positive influence?!!! Absolutely amazing.....................
FollowupID: 606828

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 15:48

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 15:48
Just like your one snowbunny, that was so useless , it was edited out of existence ...... in your words ... Absolutely amazing .

Boc
FollowupID: 606928

Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:16

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:16
That second photo is just brilliant. You should get it made into a poster.

Louie
AnswerID: 339276

Follow Up By: Tippa - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:29

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:29
Definitely. Ken Duncan eat your heart out!
My wife would have loved that campsite... she LOVES bugs and spiders and weird stuff like that. I sometimes think she wishes i had eight legs, not two... and a half... :)
FollowupID: 606817

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:41

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:41
Louie

And taken with a 2mp Canon A60(now obsolete...lol)
FollowupID: 606824

Reply By: darrell.QLD - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:32

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:32
I have had those spiders 'on my face' tearing thru brigalow
scrub on horseback..the first time it happend it freaked me
out a bit....never did giit bit by one but,,
{WHAT DO THEY TAST LIKE WILLIEM????
AnswerID: 339279

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:46

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:46
Don't think I can get myself to eating something like that.....arrrggghhh

One rainy day on the Bloomfiled Track we sought a campsite out just past the NP boundary. After the rain and after tea we rolled the swag out in front of the old G60 and dropped off into dreamland. I was just about going into deep dreamland when this 'thing' fell on my face. I instinctively brushed it off and grabbed the torch only to see a very large Golden Orb Spider wander off into the dark...lol...Horrors...spiders freak me........
FollowupID: 606827

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:52

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:52
Hi Willem

I agree great story,and the best part is you left the place the way
you found it.

Daza
AnswerID: 339284

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 21:05

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 21:05
Hi Daza

I try not to disturb the natural environment too much apart from sometimes making cross country tracks, maybe knocking down some small anthills or burning a bit of dry firewood.....lol

FollowupID: 606830

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 21:41

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 21:41
These were all along the AB after Neale Juction to the sandy country this year.

AnswerID: 339299

Reply By: Robnicko - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 22:16

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 22:16
Willem,
I was up at Abbeyard (NE Vic) over cup weekend and was amazed at the amount of huntsmans at night running all over the place. You would see thier eyes reflecting the camp light.

and yes, I had a hitch hiker all the way back to Melbourne on the passenger mirror.

Rob
AnswerID: 339310

Reply By: Cruiserman1961 (QLD) - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 08:50

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 08:50
Good on ya Willem,
you took a few marvelous pictures. Thats what it is all about. Looking at unspoiled nature; enjoying our wonderful wildlife and to leaving it all intact for others to enjoy. I always get really upset when we go and find habitats disturbed and littered.
Wish we had more people like you out there:)
Thanks for your stories, always appreciated!
Cheers, Udo
AnswerID: 339343

Reply By: Member - Rodney B- Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 09:41

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 09:41
Hi Willem
Walked into a Golden Orb Weavers web in Litchfield park a few years ago and the bugger bit me on the cheek.
Blew up on one side like a balloon for about 4 hours so now I am very careful when walking in the scrub.
Must be slightly venomous I guess but I love looking at their webs in the sun.
Some of the aboriginals eat the abdomen of the Orb Weavers as a good source of protein.

Found this web in the Vic high country last year in the mist near the Pinnacles.

Also found these guys having a break

Cheers Rod
AnswerID: 339352

Reply By: Member - Robert G (WA) - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 10:05

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 10:05
Excellent yarn and pics. I agree that the second pic would be great blown up and framed on a wall. We came across heaps of these orb spiders at Dirk Hartog Island earlier this year. They were everywhere in places but unfortunately heaps had built their webs across the trrack and you couldn't go around them. I chased the first 4 or 5 way but there were just too many after that so ended up with some hitchikers which I chased into the scrub where we made camp. They are a fantastic creature. As a matter of interest, have you ever noticed how the light from those LED headlamps seems to reflect from spider eyes? We now scan around while at camp of an evening and it amazes me now how many spiders there are out and about on the ground in some places. I never would have noticed them before. It keeps the kids amused, but freaks the wife a bit.
AnswerID: 339358

Reply By: Moose - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 14:35

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 14:35
G'day Willem
As always a great yarn. Keep em coming.
Mate spiders ain't so bad - something that freaks me out are hairy grubs/caterpillars. I reckon that if I lived at Yandaran (near Bundaberg) where they are currently suffering from an infestation of the horrible things I'd have to leave town for a while. Or arm myself with a flame thrower!
Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 339393