HFoZ

Submitted: Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 21:47
ThreadID: 64218 Views:5264 Replies:7 FollowUps:8
How many of us have joined the new HF Radio Network HFoZ? It's more a chat type network no skeds. Radiophone usage.

HFoZ-8866

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 23:25

Friday, Dec 12, 2008 at 23:25
G'day Richard,

This is the first time I've ever heard of this new hf provider. I just googled them. Their special offer ended 30/11/08, so I'm not sure when they kicked off.

I'm not sure I fully understand the need for another hf network, although more channels will never go astray of course.

I'll watch with interest......have just renewed my vks membership, but not sure I'll even keep my radio much longer; have hardly been away anywhere far enough to need it for a year or so..... (sigh.....)

AnswerID: 339444

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 01:57

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 01:57
Hi Bill

let me say I have nothing to do with them, I'm only a member.

It was started as a way for VKS-737 members to chat on the HF anytime of the day and not interfer with the skeds.

I am a member of VKS-737, Radtel and one HFoz.

HFoz is not for everyone I was invited to be a member because of my Radtel membership.

So maybe I'm saying thing I shouldn't . LOL

FollowupID: 606963

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 09:10

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 09:10
Throw in the HF Radio club and the VMS mob too - there are others smaller licensed outfits too I'm told - plenty to choose from - all to do with an individual's required coverage, products and service levels it seems :-o). and....... some dismiss the lot and get a Satphone !
AnswerID: 339473

Follow Up By: aussiedingo - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 11:34

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 11:34
G'day all, satphones are great but you can be over the next hill from someone, you don't know to call, where radio will contact the whole area. We have both, plus we hire satphones, regards, dingo
FollowupID: 606987

Reply By: Abraxxas - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 13:02

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 13:02
Hi Richard,
I am a member of VKS & HF Radio Club [VKE] and have found they both provide a very good service for travellers in remote areas. I use VKE more often now because the operators are keen to chat with members rather than just acknowledging your call. VKS has many more members and perhaps less time for conversation? BTW, I sold the satphone and will stay with HF.

HF 4929
AnswerID: 339489

Reply By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 14:54

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 14:54
HFOz is basically Radtels chat channel service. Seems to me it has been setup to go head to head with VKS. Note that VKS now has a phone service also.

I'm sticking with VKS.

AnswerID: 339504

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 20:12

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 20:12
Hi Paul

I'm a Radtel member thats why I got the invite, also Terry Clinch from

Terlin Outbacker
Antenna & Communications

is the WA side of thing and he,s the man I go to for all my stuff.

I probably don't need it but what the heck

FollowupID: 607068

Reply By: curious - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 18:52

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 18:52
Richard,
I joined HFoZ to try the GPS logging and the texting facility. I've got a Codan NGT and wanted to use some of the more advanced features. What I didn't count on was the Codan charge of $300/350 to unlock the GPS option on the NGT. HFoZ has a good offer on the Garmin GPS engine but it's starting to get expensive when you add the Codan option cost.

Semi-automatic data transmission of coordinates is more efficient than voice comms and that would free up some of the VKS skeds in busy times (e.g. mid winter). Still good to get road and weather reports from VKS and hear who's around.

AnswerID: 339540

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 20:14

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 20:14
Peter Hi. I only have a 950 Barrett and can not use this

I would like to but as I don't have any frends or family to look out for me (LOL) i could get my boss to track it

FollowupID: 607070

Follow Up By: curious - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 10:50

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 10:50
Richard,
I browsed through the Barrett site and found their GPS brochure: http://www.barrettcommunications.com.au/brochuresfix/977-2000-brochure-A-10-hi.pdf On p2, it mentions a GPS option for Barrett 950. Might be worth looking into.

I travel by myself and wondered who could monitor my trip progress especially in remote areas. On my last trip, I asked an ex-army mate as he was the most reliable, knew the outback and was competent in an emergency. Your boss or workmates may be just as suitable.

I phoned my mate weekly and logged daily with VKS737. I was well prepared and took no unnecessary risks but who raises the alarm if things go drastically wrong e.g. a rollover or accident that damages the HF radio. VKS is great and staffed by excellent people but will they raise an alert if they haven’t heard from you? I don’t know. GPS monitoring seemed useful because it was a daily log of your exact location. An EPIRB is probably the best backup emergency solution.

FollowupID: 607170

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 17:26

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 17:26

I have had a look into the Barrett GPS system and have talked to Terry about it. It only talks to it's self e.g. Barrett to Barrett.

we carry all the gear you mention above, the EPIRB is only good for them to come and fined the bodies . but we have two one mounted in the Troopy and a small personal one for when we take a walk.

I have looked in to the Spot system it looks interesting. we have been traveling the well used tracks, and get to see people every day or two, we fell safe enough.

FollowupID: 607223

Reply By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 21:40

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 21:40
My .02.....

Whilst there are numerous other options for HF comms, VKS is still the biggest in the country and as such I still see it as useful to be a member and have been since 1993 (and a member of it's predecessor for a couple of years prior). It has the greatest member database and as such is the most useful in an emergency, simply by weight of numbers.

I would recommend, however, if you like to 'chat' a lot, then it's probably best to join one of the other networks as well, some of whom have a greater range of frequencies, less 'rules and regulations' and operators willing to have a chat etc... due to less network congestion.

That being said, VKS now has access to a couple of extra frequencies, now a total of 7 as well as HF-TEL, their own version of RADTEL with direct dial telephone interconnect and it appears on the surface relatively cheap for low volume users. Only time will tell how it will fare in terms of network congestion, given it uses the same frequencies as the rest of the network.

I've recently upgraded my set so I can have a listen in to some of these networks to check out how they fare....

AnswerID: 339567

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 23:05

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 23:05
Mark Hi,

I have too much money and are a member of all three.. LOL

VKS-737, Radtel and now HF-oZ, I'm not a big chatter but this year on the AB we meet up with Tommy (Victor-****) and then in Coober Pedy during the evening sked he was in Norseman and wanted to have a chat about the AB, I thought then it would be good to drop down a channel (UHF stile) and have a chat.

We have only had the HF since 2004 and are only now getting the handle of how to talk on it and the conference to use it without fear of stuffing up. when you only get away once a year it takes time..

I now have a small tapped Antenna that sits no higher than the top bar of the roof rack and it stays on all the time, I only put the auto turn on for big trips

FollowupID: 607312

Reply By: get outmore - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 22:08

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 22:08
dont forget VKS is expanding its channels which i assume will allow more latitude for chat.
apparantly the HF OZ put the cat amongst the pidgeons with the founders (one a very prominant VKS member) having there VKS renewals declined
AnswerID: 339758

Follow Up By: AllanG - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 12:45

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 12:45

It appears that there may be some mis-conceptions when it comes to some of comparing these 2/3 networks

I've been using HF now for some 25 years and have gone through just about everything and every network you can name, but you must compare apples with apples when comparing

Firstly Radtel is dedicated to radphone calls and has bases that have dedicated frequencies to this usage, it also has many different freqs at each of the base sites thus avoiding overlapping phone calls between bases - God knows when telstra had their system you sometimes had 2-3 calls all over the top of each other - try that and see how you go.

VKS HFTel uses all the same bases and each base uses all the sames frequencies - there is also so many restrictions on when you can make calls and when you can't e.g., they can't be made during skeds - some 3-4 hour per day which just so happen to be during peak propagation time.

It appears that there is no restrictions on HFOZ so far - and as for the cost of the NGT GPS someone mentioned I contacted Lake Macquarie Comms which gave it to me for free, so maybe it pays to ask around a bit

I reckon the GPS and SMS logging feature is the best thing since sliced bread it allows my family to keep track of me and not someone you might or might not remember to do so

But i suppose my biggest thought is at least it looks like someone is finally doing something or trying to advance HF - pretty interesting i reckon - how many years have VKS been telling their members just that and strange how just when HFOZ comes online they get those long awaited/promised frequencies mmmm interesting ????????????????

All that aside compare the call charges!!

For my money you can't have a network where people can talk free for ages on a network where people are paying to use a service - major conflict i reckon

Anyway make sure you check it out fully before you make decissions

Cheers Allan
FollowupID: 607860