Another dead electronic gizmo

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 13:33
ThreadID: 64230 Views:2388 Replies:4 FollowUps:11
My Magellan Map 330 GPS passed away yesterday as it refused to locate satellites. It was 6½ years of age

It has joined the Notebook 5½ years of age and a host of other deceased electronic gadgetry which is kept in a tin trunk in the shed for when, 'just in case', I get excited and want to learn how these infuriating gadgets work!!!....lol

Luckily I have a 2008 HP PDA with all the goodies installed. We shall see how it it lasts!

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 13:44

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 13:44
Hi Willem

If that fails you can still go by the Stars & Compass & Charts lol.

Daza
AnswerID: 339496

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 13:45

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 13:45
Sorry about the Treble, something is playing up.
FollowupID: 606991

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 15:25

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 15:25
G'day Willem, Geez you're hard on your gear mate LOL
One look at where it's been and /or going and it dies ! Can't blame those poor lil lectron fellas really I suppose. Maybe you should leave it on top of a termite nest for the next traveller to wonder how it got there...and how it's owner got home :)))
AnswerID: 339511

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 18:42

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 18:42
LOL....Yes Footy. I am surprisd it lasted that long. One thing is for sure...everything I buy gets used!!

Come to think of it...the Nissan hasn't been serviced since 2004. Oil and filter changes yes...but nothing else...lol

FollowupID: 607046

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 17:31

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 17:31
Willie,
Just a thought...... my Nuvi 660 played up on our last trip to Innaminka (yes, THAT fateful chassis-cracking trip!!!).... It wouldn't find satelites using it's own internal antenna.

For the sake of a $15- external antenna (off ebay), I thought I'd see if I could bring it back to life and, guess what....good as new now.

So, see if you can find a suitable antenna (assuming your GPS has a plug-hole where-fore to insert said gadget into..... hahahaha)

AnswerID: 339524

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 18:32

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 18:32

Dunno if that will work. GPS has antenna and sits on dashboard in full view of satellites. My PDA picks up satellites with ease. Just think the old Magellan is tired...no wonder.... having endured endless corru's all over the country...lol

FollowupID: 607043

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 08:55

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 08:55
Hi Roachie,
My 10yo Garmin GPS II+ had been playing up - dropping out occasionally, suspect antenna, and thought about buying an external antenna, but instead went for a mouse GPS (BU353, <$100) which I run directly into the usb port of the lappie. So now I have brilliant satellite coverage from the mouse gps, and I have the Garmin as a backup, albeit a bit dodgy.
cheers, Gerry
FollowupID: 607138

Follow Up By: kev.h - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 16:46

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 16:46
Hi Joc45
planning the same thing what maps and software do you use I have a tablet PC and was thinking of a mouse GPS
Kev
FollowupID: 607213

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 22:46

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 22:46
Hi Kev,
I'm just running an el cheapo Compaq lappie with Windows XP and OziExplorer. The main map I use is the Natmap 250k mosaic, but I have other raster maps I have bought, or obtained, including WA forestry maps I have personally scanned and calibrated. Some time ago, I found a website with lots of 25k Vic and NSW maps for download. The website GPS Australia.net is a good resource.
Gerry
FollowupID: 607306

Reply By: boongie - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 13:02

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 13:02
It may not be dead.
I have a Magellan 300 and it did the same thing a while back.
It would be about ten years old and hadn't been used for a fair while.
I took it outside , turned it on and left it for about an hour.
When I came back it was working. It seems to happen with Magellan's for some reason. Some people have had to leave them for a couple of hours.
Hope this works for you.

Trev.
AnswerID: 339662

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 13:31

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 13:31
Trev

I tried that yesterday but perhaps I was a tad impatient. The Magellan has done it to me before especially on heavy cloud days. Some clear skies today so will give it another chance

FollowupID: 607188

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 23:21

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 23:21
Hello Willem - clouds (heavy,light, black or white) have no measurable/observable effect on sat reception.

One possible solution is to do full memory reset as the problem you are having (without full details) is well documented and this will cure it (assuming that is the problem)

With the unit off, hold down the menu and enter buttons and then turn the unit on (while still holding those buttons down) - as the unit powers on you can let the buttons go. - not sure what pops up on screen then but if it asks "reset/clear memory" highlight yes (or whatever) and press enter.

FollowupID: 607313

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 23:37

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 23:37
....the reset buttons I mentioned maybe only for Meridan ...if they dont bring up the clear memory screen try starting the unit while holding down the right arrow button at the same time as holding in the power button - this should bring up the erase memory screen.

Out of practice with these models

FollowupID: 607315

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 08:08

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 08:08
Hi Greg

Thanks for the tips.

See post 64268 as I left the GPS in the sun for a while and it came good. The problems always seem to arise during or after heavy cloud cover although I know it does not affect the GPS.

FollowupID: 607330

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 09:05

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 09:05
Good stuff

Chers

FollowupID: 607336