What do you like and dislike about YOUR GPS?

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 17:35
ThreadID: 64236 Views:4669 Replies:13 FollowUps:22
Oh no - not another GPS thread.

While there is a lot of feedback on what people have, i find it hard to work out exactly which one will have all the features i like, and with models ranging from a couple of hundred to over a thousand dollars, it is all too confusing.

We currently have a older model Magellan Meridian.

What i like: It make a zip trail of where you have been - wonderful if you need to back track. I think some of the other brands now have this feature. We have 2003 version of Discover Aus Streets and Tracks which is somewhat out of date and will cost near $300 for an newer version. It has all the tracks; many that no longer exist. It even has the internal track running through our farm. It can be used as a hand held or mounted in its cradle in the car. It takes two AA batteries, which i like because so does most of my travel technology.

What i don't like: Being an older model it doesn't have colour. Hence i find it hard to differentiate between tracks and creek lines. This older Magellan only takes a small SD card which cannot hold all the tracks, so it is a nuisance when on longer trips having to download a different state (or part of a state).

I am looking to find a GPS with a larger screen, colour, coming with and capable of holding a good detailed tracks software (upgradeable). I need the zip trail. I would like it to display tracks at the same time as latitude and longitude and direction of travel. It must be simple enough for me to easily learn to use. I don't want one that tells me where to go (my husband does that!). I am not interested in cities - most of them have bypass roads don't they?

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 17:59

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 17:59
My Garmin e-Map is pretty ancient compared to current models.

Not being an electronic wiz and never read instructions, I just read the co-ordinates then transfer them to the paper map.

Never let me down yet. Farthest Ive ever been out was 30 metres.

To me, the more features something has, the more complex it seems to operate.

Cheers.....Lionel.
AnswerID: 339530

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 18:21

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 18:21
I dislike my GPS cos its DED(dead)

AND! my 24 yo polytarp blew apart on the trailer yesterday. They don't make things as strong as they used to.....LOL

AnswerID: 339533

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 18:33

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 18:33
Gee Willem, that's tough. They should make things last a bit longer than 24 years. I like the idea of saving all t he dead technology though - it sounds a bit like my office.

Mh

FollowupID: 607044

Follow Up By: Wazza - (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 06:49

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 06:49
Willem probably remembers how to do his star shots to fix his location. Me, I have forgotten that long ago.
FollowupID: 607130

Reply By: skulldug - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 18:29

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 18:29
Mother hen,

I have the female voice on my Garmin Nuvi. I love the way you can ignore her, criticise her or even abuse her. The only thing you can't do is upset her. All she does is say "re-calculating". She is much better than my previous "combined passenger side voice- guided- air bag model. PS windscreen sucker is not as good as it should be.

Skulldug
AnswerID: 339536

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 18:51

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 18:51
Motherhen and SkullDug,

I have the Garmin Nuvi 660 (it's now been replaced by the 760).

I've found it excellent in cities, the street navigation is great. Outback it surprises me with the detail. It had the tracks out of Innamincka when we took the anti-clockwise loop out via the Dig Tree and back.

North of Coolgardie we were up near Ularring Rock and it showed the layout of a town that hadn't been there for years.

We've loaded Camps 4 and use that a lot.

If the camp isn't on the Nuvi I can load its Lat & Long and give it a name and it will take us there.

The 760 has a breadcrumb trail (your zip trail MH).

It's so good that I've given up using Ozieplorer and I just supplement Gloria (her name) with paper maps if need be.

And SkullDug, if we keep on going against her directions she really spits it and, with a great twirl of her skirts, says: There IS a better way !! and then gives us the silent treatment until we get back on track. Aussie accent too.

MH, some of the major outlets are offering the 760 with a bonus handheld Garmin Etrek for Chrissy. Might be time to buy.

FollowupID: 607051

Follow Up By: skulldug - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 19:07

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 19:07
Gone Bush,

Camps 4? Sounds useful. Can you elaborate?

Skulldug

FollowupID: 607058

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 19:23

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 19:23
SkullDug,

on this site:

Site Link

you will find some headings titled Camps QLD, Camps NSW etc for all states. They are almost all of the campsites found in the Camps4 Australia book.

Be cautious of the other listings, some are very dubious, but the Camps listings are great.

FollowupID: 607059

Follow Up By: skulldug - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 20:06

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 20:06
excellent - thanks
FollowupID: 607066

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (WA) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 15:15

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 15:15
I've got a 760 as well. Find it pretty good most of the time but on recent trip around Perth, I found the GPS sending me off the long way...sometimes in the wrong direction all together. Because I knew I was going in the wrong direction I just headed in the general direction until the GPS recalculated..recalculated and recalculated (you know what I mean) and I found my destination.

I believe my setting are all correct..'quickest route' etc.

Funny thing is, the freeway North to BUrns Beach rd only opened a few weeks back and the GPS took me that way...that was good and thought I was on the right track for sure but then it turned to manure.

I was heading from Quinns to Ascot at the time.

Anyway, over all I like it. Like the fact that I can store locations as favourites and find them years later etc.
FollowupID: 607201

Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 18:43

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 18:43
Hi Mrs Hen,

I think a feature that would be great, is one with rechargeable Litium Ion batteries. All the handhelds I have had, seem to deplete the batteries pretty fast - so one with a li-ion battery which would last longer and which you could just plonk in your ciggy lighter charger overnight - would be the ducks guts ( the chooks guts too).

I have a UHF handheld with that battery set-up it's great.

Willie.
AnswerID: 339539

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 18:45

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 18:45
That should read "All the GPS handhelds"
FollowupID: 607048

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 18:53

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 18:53
Hi Willie, as ours is basically for in car use, the batteries just hold the zip trail when the ignition is off, and would work it for a little if away from the car. I am happy to use my AA rechargeables for this - i select any camera or small appliance using AA as a preference as i keep plenty on hand and they charge overnight in the caravan.

Thanks for your thoughts

Mh

FollowupID: 607053

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 21:08

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 21:08
Mrs Hen,

I use mine when I am wandering through the scrub detecting. I would have been hoplessly lost many times without it.

In the car I use computer mapping (Oziexplorer). I use a small tablet computer on a stand, that the driver or the passenger can operate.

To me this is a lot better than a tiny little GPS screen that I have to stop and look at with my glasses on.

Before I went to computer mapping I used a GPS with a 6" screen and you could load maps into it for each state. It is a Magellan MAP324 - but they no longer sell that large screen model.

I'm off to bed - I need my beauty sleep.

Willie.
FollowupID: 607081

Reply By: Angler - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 19:00

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 19:00
We have s Garmin C510 and I really DO NOT like the non qwerty keyboard. One would think it was simple to do a software update but the mob at Garmin seem quite incapable of doing this.
Ask them and you get a straight NO, can't be done for an answer.

Pooley
AnswerID: 339543

Reply By: The Explorer - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 20:16

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 20:16
Which one? - Currently got four!! Think I have a problem.

AnswerID: 339554

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 20:34

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 20:34
Four Greg? You must plan on getting really lost!

Mh

FollowupID: 607072

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 20:47

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 20:47
I think we may both have a problem Greg I have three plus the lappie and a mouse... LOL

FollowupID: 607076

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 21:21

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 21:21
You must be a newbie to collecting Greg....LOL

FollowupID: 607088

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 21:38

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 21:38
....Me! a newbie to collecting! Ok - forgot to the mention the two I sold on Ebay today (one handheld and one re-radiating antenna) and the CF gps I sold yesterday. I had a clean out...and then there's the bag of three non functiong gps units I use for spares for my mates. I even gave the Father in Law a brand new Mio 720 the other day for helping me out. No Joke:) (was going to sell it on eBay but got too hard) Cant understabd why I cant pay the house off?

FollowupID: 607094

Reply By: That Troopy Bloke (SA) - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 20:40

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 20:40
Where's Doug T when you need him? :-)

Motherhen, the Garmin Nuvi 760 will do all that you want, other than showing lat and long at the same time as it is showing the map...but that is only two presses on the touchscreen away.
It will log a breadcrumb trail, you can select whether you want to have this shown or hidden.
It's a simple unit to use...it must be, because I can use it :-)

It comes with City Navigator pre-loaded, this gives you the voice navigation which you say you don't need.
You can purchase ($229) a topo mapset :oztopo for your bush tracks.
You can also download free mapsets to give you better coverage of the tracks in the bush.
Check out :Tracks4australia
and :Shonkymaps
and :Contours Australia 2.00 . This is a 10 metre topo overlay that can be used with any other mapset.

This is an actual screenshot (another feature of the Nuvi) from my Nuvi showing Shonkymaps and Contours 2.00. This was somewhere in the Gawler Ranges.

The Nuvi 760 will connect to your phone via bluetooth, so it will work as a handsfree kit for your phone.
It also has an FM transmitter, so it can transmit the phone conversation and voice directions over your car stereo system.
It also has a good media player, and can play your mp3's over your car stereo.

I've got a 4GB SD card in my Nuvi, with approx 1GB of maps and 3GB of music (about 40 odd albums). On a recent 3000km trip I didn't play a single CD....the Nuvi handled all the music duties via the car stereo.
No chance of a CD skipping over the corrugations.

Glenn
AnswerID: 339555

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 00:16

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 00:16
Glenn
I'm just watching.....your doing fine without my input. Good to see one has finally seen the light re OziExplorer... good one Gone Bush , I been saying the same for 2 years,

FollowupID: 607111

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 09:40

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 09:40
Oh no here we go again :)

Greg.

FollowupID: 607158

Follow Up By: Skippy In The GU - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 10:05

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 10:05
I must be missing something Dougy, whats wrong with Oziexplorer

?
FollowupID: 607344

Reply By: Topcat (WA) - Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 20:46

Saturday, Dec 13, 2008 at 20:46
I have an early model Magellan 320. Nothing complicated. Easy to use. Small in size & practical & does the job requirements of a GPS for me. Had it since being released onto to market in the early 90's & have never had a problem with it [touch wood]. Cheers.
AnswerID: 339557

Reply By: dizzy - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 00:32

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 00:32
Hi Motherhen,

I have an Magellan Explorist XL.
Reasonable, Afew map errors on the old card.
Have just down loaded the latest base map etc from the Magellam web site and piad approx $150.00 for the latest maps.
It is the DiscoverAus Topo v2.0 maps which include--Streets, Tracks, Camps Australoa wide, Bicycling Australia tracks and Outback Tourer which is based on Hema maps.
I have not had a chance to give them a good workout yet however, what I have seen they appear to be quite reasonable.

Tony
The rig

AnswerID: 339589

Reply By: Boobook2 - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 06:07

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 06:07
Motherhen, the Explorist XL has a big colour screen that is easy to see, even in full sun, uses 2 x aa and the new discover Aus is very comprehensive. I have never been on a track that it doesn't have.

Coming from a magellan you won't even have to read the manual. You can even get street by street navigation for it.

I think the crossover has the same.
AnswerID: 339597

Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 10:46

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 10:46
I selected the Garmin Nuvi 250W. Price range, 4.3" wide screen, + other features I wanted. Only thing is the pommie sheila drives me nuts. The Spanish chick sounds hot but I can't understand a word she's saying so I would like to be able to have downloadable voices - just for something different. Maybe Marvin the Martian or Yeosamitey Sam.

Otherwise, great unit that does everything I need.

Louie
AnswerID: 339637

Follow Up By: That Troopy Bloke (SA) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 12:03

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 12:03
Louie, you can download different voices...Karen is ok: Australian English-Karen

There are some novelty voices too:Garmin Voices but these ones don't do TTS.
I reckon Ozzy Osbourne would be a laugh.

Glenn
FollowupID: 607181

Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 19:23

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 19:23
G'day Glenn. Is there some kind of trick to downloading Karen? I tried a few times with no success (never been that good at pulling chicks).

I think the Yoda one would be a cracker. "turn left, at the next corner you must"

Louie
FollowupID: 607250

Follow Up By: That Troopy Bloke (SA) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 19:54

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 19:54
G'day Louie, I just tried and it downloaded fine for me.
I didn't try to send it to the Nuvi though, as that voice is already on mine.
Are you having trouble downloading it or installing it?
I don't really know what to suggest as most of this computer stuff is over my head.

Glenn
FollowupID: 607260

Follow Up By: That Troopy Bloke (SA) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 20:07

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 20:07
Louie, I just looked up the Nuvi 250W, and it appears it doesn't do TTS(i.e. reading out street names), so perhaps that voice is not suitable for your unit.

Glenn
FollowupID: 607262

Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 20:18

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 20:18
Glenn, I just downloaded it on my other computer. Correct that the Nuvi 250W doesn't have spoken street names. On the Garmin site it said not to load it onto non-compatible units or they might not work. I think I will just hang on to it for now. I did get an elf one (novelty) but cant get it to work. It is for the Nuvi 200 series.

Thanks anyway.

Louie
FollowupID: 607264

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 11:21

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 11:21
The thing I dislike about my Garmin Nuvi 310 is that you can only show arrival time on screen when in navigation mode.

Speed would be much better but is not a doable option.
Is only shown when in map mode which isnt really satisfactory.

However as it only cost me $85 with the recent discounts I wont growl too much

AnswerID: 339647

Reply By: The Explorer - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 12:31

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 12:31
Hello - based on your requirements i.e.
GPS with a larger screen, colour, capable of holding a good detailed tracks software (upgradeable), Track Log, display tracks at the same time as latitude and longitude and direction of travel, simple enough to easily learn to use, the GPS I currently have that may be an option for you (or a similar device/model) is the Mio 720.

Now firstly this is a discontinued model, the current ones are called Mio Moovs. Main reason I like it because it was cheap ($350) and it is capable of being "unlocked" to run other software besides the GPS Nav program and maps it came with (Mio Map). My main interest being to run OziExplorer, while at same time having option for auto routing/voice nav when in town. Comparable off the shelf setup is the Hema Navigator but at $900 was impossible to justify (considering the other gps units I already have). As I don’t think you would be interested in "unlocking" a Mio unit would suggest you consider a Hema Navigator.

The Hema Navigator is a GPS Navigation system with a 4.3inch display, Street Navigation with voice guidance, Hema 4WD track data, speed and red light cameras, OziExplorer and Memory Map Moving Map Software, comes with Pre-loaded SD card with Hema 4WD and 1:250K topographical maps. You then can add your own digital maps (any digital map that can be calibrated - i.e geology maps, topo map, cadastral maps ,forestry maps, tourist maps, airphotos, Google earth images). Inside the box is also a vehicle mount, 12V & 240V chargers and a carry case. Can use 16gb sd cards for map/data storage.

It does all the stuff you require (track log, display lat long etc)...though some of the software may at first appear daunting in its complexity and requires some learning - so may not suit you? The functions of OziExplorer are well documented and it is used by many 4WDers and tourers (and has many commercial applications as well). You will here some people putting it down, but that’s obviously because it didn’t suit their requirements not because the program itself is at fault. Matching a unit and its capabilities to your needs (current and future) is the key to getting device that is right.

The Garmin Nuvis are also definately worth considering for in car use as suggested above as they appear to easy to use and quality of available maps is as good as it gets for this type of device. I have never had one so don’t now specifics but check that the model you are looking at does actually save a track log - some (most?) don’t. I would also check to see the limitations on the track logging - is it limited by a certain number of points, can you save the track log and start a new one? Can you set track log interval? These may be of importance to you. The OztopoV2 maps are based on same source as the Magellan ones you are familiar with (just more current) so you will not be disappointed with those. Lead to believe Garmin are producing their own version of and Australia topo map so keep that in mind.

AnswerID: 339655