Cane Toad saved by a Pesty

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 10:06
ThreadID: 64255 Views:3575 Replies:13 FollowUps:9
As the topic suggests, King Cane Toad was saved by a Pest Controller from the Goondiwindi district a few weeks ago. I know the rules and had a momentary lapse that caught me out big time. To anyone unsuspecting this may serve as a timely bit of advise.

There has been plenty of moisture in the mid west of both Qld and NSW and the ground is very soggy in plenty of spots. I had a phone call 30 odd km's from Goondiwindi and felt with the limited reception it would be wise if I stopped to talk on the phone so the business call didn't drop out. BIG MISTAKE!!! the edge of the road was grassy and very innocent looking (even fairly level) but no sooner had I stopped, the ground started to sink under the weight of my vehicle (which was very loaded). Nothing I could do now, so I finished my phone call and got out to assess the situation before my efforts to self extract.... huh!! your kidding aren't you, I wasn't going anywhere. Jamming as much grevillea bush and timber as I could find, under the tyres, still didn't help. This only served to allow the mosquitos (which were big enough to wear saddles) to eat me alive. It was a fairly lonely stretch of road and just as I had decided to flag down the next vehicle to pass to help out (3/4 hr after I bogged myself), the good old "Pesty" pulled up in his Rodeo. Fortunately he was equipped with snatch strap as I had no recovery gear at all. It took a mighty effort over at least 4 serious attempts to get me out of the poo but the mighty Rodeo did it. The tyre tracks left on the side of the road by my vehicle were just under knee high (at least 12" deep) and the black spongy soil left behind was clear as to how permanent I was stuck had the Pesty not come along.

So be aware, if travelling solo in any black soil country, DO NOT PULL OFF THE BLACK TOP!!!

I am sure my good mate Ross H will be along soon with a pic of the freshly recovered Nissan and it's tyre tracks but I just can't seem to load them up right now.

To all and sundry, I wish you the very best for a safe and happy festive season as I am off for xmas break tomorrow and probably won't get to talk to most of you again before next year. Hope to see many of you again happy and healthy next year.

Best regards,
Trevor.

Reply By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 10:16

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 10:16
cant wait to see these pics :)

Lucky it wasn't a tojo who got you out :)
AnswerID: 339628

Reply By: Rockape - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 10:21

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 10:21
Just gotta love black soil country, a few years ago I had to go down the Mckinlay to Boulia road then onto a track east into the ridges at night in a thunder storm.

Took a shovel and crowbar to get the black soil out from under the guards. I would pull up on every cattle grid and by that time the guards would be all blocked up.

I didn't dare stop on the black soil and I still don't know how I got through, I saw the tyre tracks a couple of days later and they weren't pretty.

Differently can sympathise with you as you go down so quickly.
AnswerID: 339629

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 10:36

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 10:36
Trevor,

Naughty boy. Fancy you travelling out there with no recovery gear. I assume the "Pesty" has issued an invoice for a new snatch strap + slab + blah blah blah LOLOL
AnswerID: 339635

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 21:46

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 21:46
Gramps, no room for recovery gear when I am loaded for work. Most times it is hard to squeeze your hand between the load and my roof lining when I first leave Brissy.
plus.....I am not looking for trouble when working, not like when I am playing hehehe.

Merry xmas.
Trevor.
FollowupID: 607291

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 10:37

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 10:37
What can i say !!!

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 339636

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 11:43

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 11:43
Sitting back now and gloating are we Pesty?
FollowupID: 607179

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 12:37

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 12:37
Trevor, you're just lucky it wasn't THIS Pesty that came along in his vintage 60 series...... cos you'd still be there for sure. That 60 series has had a lot of experience with boggings; but they've all been as the "bogged" not the "de-bogger"...hahahahaha
FollowupID: 607183

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 13:52

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 13:52
Mr Roach, if the 60 had pulled into a bit of mud like that, it wouldnt have needed any help, and for rescueing patrols, well thats where it comes into its own, with so much practise, hanging around with you.
King toad should consider himself lucky that the rescue didnt break the trol in half like yours does !
Nothing vintage about the 60 Mr Roach, havent had to have mine welded up!

High Miss Toad keeper, dont need to gloat about us Pesty's, we are a good breed.

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 607189

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 21:43

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 21:43
Pesty, I'd like to see the ol 60 loaded to 4.5T and get out of the same bog......... I reckon I was pretty lucky to have a fairly toe'y petrol doing the rescueing. No amount of low range slow pulling was making me budge, all the recovery was done with the momentum in the snatch strap and the faster the Rodeo took off the more I inched forward.

Roachie, I am sure Pesty won't let me forget this in a hurry....as if he did do the rescueing himself anyway hehhehe.

I am just dreading the response from "Mr Isuzu" the Nanango Bruce himself, these are kind words compared to him I bet LOL!!

Cheers guys (and gals, Jo) happy xmas.
Trevor.
FollowupID: 607288

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 11:05

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 11:05
Know what you mean! In the early 90's, got stuck in that black sh-t out from Mt Elizabeth station when I attacked the Bachsten Creek track too early in the dry season. Peter Lacy of Mt E did warn me! Took me a day of hand-winching to get the old Mav out of that muck!
cheers,
Gerry
AnswerID: 339642

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 11:17

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 11:17
Trevor, you were very lucky. I have a pix somewhere of a tourist bus bogged on the black soil. I have another one of a guy bogged to the axles who swears that he had to shoot and eat a roo to stay alive; he was there for a week.
If it starts to rain in that country, I find a settlement until it stops and dries up.
AnswerID: 339645

Reply By: stephen looking - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 11:49

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 11:49
Yep same happened here but this was the red mud in northern NSW. Saw a nice spot lovely manicured lawns in front of a million dollar pad to pull over and check the maps, next second i was sliding side ways thought she'll be right rear locker front hubs locked in boy did i chew up that pad couldn't get out. lucky the first car to come by was an old boy in a forby dragged my ass up and on to the road, looked back at the mess i made and my heart sunk, thank god the owners where nice people and didn't care.

So like you say Trevor don't leave the road if its been raining.

Cheers........steve.
AnswerID: 339650

Reply By: Mobi Condo - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 12:27

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 12:27
Regards pull offs in wet weather.
Definitely a BIG No No.
Even into those beautiful neat little off the side graded dirt road parking bays with seats and shelter etc.
Wife was driving and we need a stop just west of Walgett in mid 2003. Had been raining all day and thankfully front hubs were locked (ready for instant transfer case engagement) as we do when on sealed roads with chances of dirt side trips. The INSTANT the front wheels left the black top and started down into the bay she knew she was in trouble, so she let the 4WD slide to a stop side ways to a grassy bit, looked at me and said "You'll have to get us out!" It was easy enough by walking about a bit to suss out firm looking bits, but the climb up the small rise to the tar did not like too much right foot! After that between towns we only stopped on the grids to clean and inspect all round with rig checks as we headed west to Bourke through torrential rain.
Cheers - Mobi
AnswerID: 339654

Reply By: Ross H (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 12:44

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 12:44
Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found

Thats just as good as roach's effort in birdsville c/p.
Must be a nissan thing . ROFLMAO

Looks like you might have been a bit heavy. hahahaha :(

Hope everyone has a good christmas and safe new year.

Regards Ross
AnswerID: 339657

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 22:00

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 22:00
I knew I could count on you smarty pants, and yes I was running heavy. Could you imagine what a scale'y would say if he pulled one of the trucks up leaving your place at 58T when he only had GVM of 42.5T ? Proportionately similar when you think about it.....trailer going back on the back of the Nissan for future runs. Not that the bogging had anything to do with this decision though, the w/bridge up at Toowoomba decided that for me before the bog.

Happy xmas to you and Leigh too Ross. Hope to catch up for a beer or three before then though.
Regards, Trevor.
FollowupID: 607296

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 14:06

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 14:06
Trev,
Here's one of mine about 10 years ago out the back of Dubbo Image Could Not Be Found

Big problem pulling 42.5Ton out of a bog.
Cheers Dave...

GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 339675

Follow Up By: Goona - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 14:52

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 14:52
All he needed was a Nissan Patrol with a snatch strap and he would have been on his way LOL
FollowupID: 607196

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 21:51

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 21:51
HI Dave, whoops is about all you can say when it happens hey.

Happy xmas mate.
Trevor.

Goona, you haven't been on the goon again have you LOL!!
Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 607292

Reply By: wendys - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 18:07

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 18:07
Brings back memories! Few years back, took the short cut through Bullo Downs, from Thargomindah to the Tibboburra road. Checked at the Info Centre in Thargo and were assured by the gent there that "those clouds are too high for rain". Yeah, right! Just west of Bulloo Downs and the rain pelts down. I hate that feeling you get when you are pretty sure what's up ahead isn't going to be good, but you know damn well going back's not an option anymore. Eventually got to Tib, but not much of it in a straight line. Mud built up in the wheel arches - wheels could just turn. There were several trucks camped at the bottom of the jump ups, north of Tib - too slick for them to try and go up. Was early in school holidays and Tib was full of wet and muddy families who were having the sort of holiday adventure dad didn't promise them! Was not a nice atmosphere in town. We went into the motel, rather than camp amongst the domestics in the camp ground! Next morning, as we drove away from the motel, there were these huge piles of Bulloo mud where we had been parked - oops! Now, I take the weather advice of people in Info Centres very sceptically.
AnswerID: 339719

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 18:14

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 18:14
All right it's not "just off the blacktop" but it happened about 30 cm off the track. A lesson learnt - Murray - Sunset 2008.

AnswerID: 339720

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 21:54

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 21:54
I remember this effort, when you first posted it, thinking "Better you than me" now I know what was going through your mind.

Happy days looking back now hey......but before....really bad thoughts hehehe.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 607294

Reply By: Member - Duke (TAS) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 20:14

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 20:14
You blokes should carry a bag of seed Potatoes with you to plant for fellow Travellers coming through a couple of Mths. later.
Regards Duke
AnswerID: 339741