Truckies Alerts

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 14:08
ThreadID: 64264 Views:4359 Replies:16 FollowUps:27
Haven't had my UHF handheld for long..Travel up and down the Bruce Highway in my sedan weekly..am really grateful to the truckies on Channel 40 for the "flash for cash", "evil Knievel" and "candy car" alerts indicating police may be in the area. Finally I plucked up enough courage to talk back to them to relay information or highway sightings that I have spotted. Any other common terms used???

Reply By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 14:12

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 14:12
secret mens business I reckon! lol
AnswerID: 339678

Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 14:22

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 14:22
TUBES

just be careful as the patrol cars DO listen in to these conversations.

some drivers have been stung alerting other drivers to their where abouts. it is illegal to do it ( we all do it ) so watch where you transmit from.ie wait till you get a couple of k's away b4 transmitting.

ps. i am an interstate driver,cheers.
AnswerID: 339679

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 14:34

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 14:34
Actually giving a warning over the UHF is NOT illegal in QLD at least , the old flashing of headlights however is now illegal ,, the biggest problem is all the eFFs and Cs on ch40 which means that anyone with kids in the vehicle is more or less forced to switch off.
FollowupID: 607194

Reply By: Rockape - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 14:36

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 14:36
Yep they listen allright, the most usefull side of a uhf are alerts on accidents/ cattle on the road/ flooding/QLD potholes that devour a vehicle/ vehicles broken down on the fog line and believe it or not people wandering up the highway miles from nowhere in the middle of the night.

And for Mark G I am an EX!!!!!!EX!!!!!!EX!!!!!!EX!!!!!!EX!!!!!! trucky and I don't feel bad about that at all. NO!!!! NO!!!! NO!!!! more having to meet market deadlines. Sleep!!!!sleep!!!!sleep!!!! beautiful SLEEP
AnswerID: 339682

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 15:01

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 15:01
rockape

hearin' ya & hatein' ya........lol
FollowupID: 607198

Follow Up By: Rockape - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 16:45

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 16:45
Mark POPEYE G
you lose your pipe again
FollowupID: 607212

Reply By: rredbeak - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 14:41

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 14:41
if youre using a handheld to alert truckies then the police cannot see any antenna on your car and thusly have no idea who is doing it.UNLESS,they actually visibly see you holding the transmitter to your mouth..

enjoy,but be carefull if you caqn see the police ,they can see you...Rod
AnswerID: 339683

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 14:49

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 14:49
And strange as it may seem , a handheld UHF can and is considered to be no different to a handheld mobile phone when used in a vehicle ,no curly cord mike = u were on the phone as far as mr plod is concerned.
FollowupID: 607195

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 17:28

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 17:28
get a lapel microphone
FollowupID: 607226

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 22:40

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 22:40
No, get the facts right, the Australian Road Rules specifically make it illegal to use a Mobile Phone handheld and specifically exclude two-way radios from being illegal.

Holding a Mobile Phone and not making a call is illegal, holding a two-way radio and talking is legal !!!

It's not logical, but that's the law.

"300 Use of hand-held mobile phones
(1) The driver of a vehicle (except an emergency vehicle or police
vehicle) must not use a hand-held mobile phone while the
vehicle is moving, or is stationary but not parked, unless the
driver is exempt from this rule under another law of this
jurisdiction.

(2) In this rule:
mobile phone does not include a CB radio or any other
two-way radio."
FollowupID: 607305

Follow Up By: DIO - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 09:26

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 09:26
Ah yes, BUT, you can still get pinched for using a radio (inc hand-held) and charged with Driving without Due Care etc or even Manner Dangerous, if circumstances warranted it. As for warning other motorists of presence of Police, radar, Speed Guns, Cameras etc., why would you want to do that when the driver in question, with obvious bad drivng habits, might be the one that cleans you and your family up on the next outing.
Play the Sailor, pay the price.
FollowupID: 607340

Reply By: get outmore - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 15:00

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 15:00
I doubt a law covers it and even if it did unless you admit to warning somone they have no hope of proving it
AnswerID: 339687

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 15:03

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 15:03
get out more

"I doubt a law covers it"

ask the guys who have paid fines.
FollowupID: 607199

Reply By: Member - Malcolm C (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 15:32

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 15:32
Tubes

Great tool. I recently setup my TX4400 wih a magnetic based antennae on wife's Honda Jazz going to Brisbane and back.

When you hear "You've got EIGHT metres coming at you, appreciate if you could clear the road", you soon learn to get right off the road quick smart.

Won't travel without it now.

Malcolm

living the 'good life'

AnswerID: 339695

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 17:42

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 17:42
I find the Police Car driving straight at you with flashing lights is a greater influence :-)

FollowupID: 607231

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm C (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 17:53

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 17:53

In this particular case - all the semis were pulling over, including me. The poor old vic car following me couldn't work out what was going on, so I tried to signal him to pull over behind me.The Pilot went past together with the first police car when this idiot pulled back onto the road. I called up and said "there's a bloody idiot still coming at you". The second police car soon ran him off the road with his siren going. I think he then got the message. ;-)

malcolm

living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 607235

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 09:22

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 09:22
LOL, i keep forgetting that not everyone has experienced over-size vehicles on the road.....the mining areas are use to this and take it for granted i imagine.

It is interesting as to what people believe is "off the road"....i try to take all 4 wheels off the bitumen into a safe area, no matter if i think there still might be room. It is just easier and safer for all to play it safe.

Now where's those pictures of some of Doug's escort of some rather large loads :-)

FollowupID: 607339

Follow Up By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 10:10

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 10:10

We too have a TX4400 and would not be without it, it has saved our skin many a time, we have been referred to as "Theres a Wobbly coming" (we have a 23ft van we are currently towing around Aust.) we also use it to help the big rigs pass us - they are very grateful of this as we travel between 80 -90 klm's an hour and they have a job to do.

We have also learn't some new words!!!!!

Matt, Caz & Kids
FollowupID: 607345

Reply By: offroad Bob - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 15:44

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 15:44
I looked up the NSW police act and flashing headlights to warn of a police checkpoint may be argued to be interfering with the actions of police but to use high beam during the daytime is not illegal. You may use your high beam to catch the attention of a friend or warn other drivers of a road hazard (excluding the legitimate actions of police). The police act does detail strict rules on using high beam at night. If you state you have only used your high beam for these reasons you should be OK. It may depend on the day and people you are dealing with. Also in the Northern Territory the police have publicly stated they don't have an issue with headlight flashing as they are about slowing people down not gathering revenue for the government.

AnswerID: 339697

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 15:47

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 15:47
bob

"Also in the Northern Territory the police have publicly stated they don't have an issue with headlight flashing as they are about slowing people down not gathering revenue for the government".

yeah right.................!!!!
FollowupID: 607205

Reply By: papou - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 16:10

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 16:10
Good post and some good replies. Now, i have a querie and without any disrespect to most truckies "How do i nicely(polightly ask the the fella driving the BIG radiator thats just about kissing my tailgate/ boot when driving on the highway etc..
Gettin a tad old and shake up a bit more so nowadays than i once useta and the sight of that big radiator makes me ticker beat a tad faster..
Without gettin mean n nasty or taking their number and passing it on as i respect they might be on a schedule "Whats the right term to ask them "Please back off buddy!!!"..
AnswerID: 339699

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 16:16

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 16:16
PAPOU

good question mate, the ones who do this tail gating are the cowboy element that the rest of us drivers talk about.

how would you ask a car driver to stop speeding up @ the end of over taking lanes? you would probably get the same response.

dont really know the answer to you question but all you can do is maybe do is let him go @ the next over taking lane so he is gone out of your hair.

happy travels & cheers.
FollowupID: 607206

Follow Up By: kev.h - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 16:30

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 16:30
Jump on the radio say sorry to hold you up, advise them that first chance you get you will pull over and let them through, they then know that you are aware of them and usually back off a bit works for me especially is its a narrow road with no safe overtaking spots
I do this when towing and have always had a good reply from the truckie
Kev
FollowupID: 607208

Follow Up By: Rockape - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 16:37

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 16:37
About a year ago I was south of Proserpine with double white lines and nowhere for anyone to pass for the next few K's when a radiator appeared in my back window, I ever ever nicely asked the driver on the radio if he would like to stop in Prossie and we could roll around on the bitumin for a while. He got my message.

First place that was safe I told him I would back off if he would like to to come round.

Your best way to solve the problem is indicate early and pull off where safe, let him go.You are happy and he can go and harass someone else.

There are some good operators out there but you allways get the clowns
FollowupID: 607210

Follow Up By: Lucko - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 16:39

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 16:39
I have found that when you encounter a tailgater - on the UHF, just a blank statement "Sitting in my slipstream only makes me go slower". Just by the strength of the signal, the guy behind you knows who's talking and who he is talking to. Towing a van, it works for me. Then give the truck whatever opportunity you can to overtake you.

FollowupID: 607211

Follow Up By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 20:41

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 20:41
Ask him if he knows you, and when he says "no" tell him to get his nose out of your ar$e till you get to know each other better
Cheers Ray
FollowupID: 607272

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 16:37

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 16:37
You will gain some info from this link.

HEAVY VEHICLE ROAD COURTESY

AnswerID: 339705

Reply By: papou - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 16:39

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 16:39
Thanks kev and about what i thought but like Tubes i too have only had my handheld for a short time, but will give what you said a go next time n see what happens:)..
AnswerID: 339706

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 22:17

Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 22:17
What about the "plain blue one with a hairdryer on the side" and even seen the same one "with a condom on" when it was raining and plastic bag over his hairdryer.

Dogbox is a paddy wagon. ect ect When you hear em talking about a YL with a Gosford skirt on and you can understand this then you know you have been on air too long. (PS: if you need to know the answer to what a Gosford skirt is, I will MM you if and when you are a Member of this site. The answer is too rude for public forum hehehe.)

Scaly's (or RTA officer's) are often reffered to as Mermaids (another one, I can't give the answer to why on this forum)

Plenty more but can't think of em right now.

Cheers cob, keep the shinny side up and I'll catch you on the flipside (that's the return leg of my trip).
Regards, Trevor.
AnswerID: 339762

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 06:25

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 06:25
What about, 'double bubble taking photos', cop car with 2 lights and camera.
'Barbie is hot or cold', weighbridge open or closed.
'Windscreen is clear', nothing to worry about your way.
'Watch your back door', one coming up behind you.
'Bring it back in' or you're clear', you have passed me and can move back in to the lane.
'Pipeline', tanker.
'Car park', car carrier.
'Sheep or Cattle' Yard, stock carrier.
'Snot', load of rubbish often involving heaps of drop offs.
'Cream', load of good stuff, usually one drop.
'Leather Legs', Highway Patrol.
'Seat Cover', passenger, usually bloody good looking bird but never in my rig, lol.
'Dollar', 100 klicks per hour.
Nothing use to annoy me more than heading off out of, say, Melbourne for Adelaide and ask someone heading the other way, 'What's it like behind you?', only to be told to be careful around Murray Bridge. Yeah right, ten hours away and the cops will still be there!!
Right, that is me, catch you on the fiip side, have a good one.
Geez, does anyone remember 'shakers'?

Dennis

FollowupID: 607323

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 09:09

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 09:09
Yeah Dennis, reading you loud and clear.
Also a double one with his angry lights on, high speed......(insert direction here)... Double one doing the job on a little one...... all pretty self explanitary I think.
If it is "all dark up here" one can assume the big one up front is telling his mate it is safe to come around what ever is holding him up. OR if there is "one in the shute" then there is a vehicle between the front truck and the one trying to overtake and it is NOT reccomended to overtake.

Regards Trevor.
FollowupID: 607337

Reply By: Volvo driver - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 12:23

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 12:23
use the terms above.. be brief.. don't yak on the highway channel, don't tell 'em your life story, no-one cares, don't get offended if no-one thanks you straight away, police in vic WILL book you for using uhf, be sneaky
AnswerID: 339833

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 13:30

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 13:30
What "terms above"?

FollowupID: 607365

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 02:04

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 02:04
A lot of generalisation in your statement then....."no-one cares"??

There are some great truckies who could talk anyone to death (in a nice way), then there are others who couldn't care less....some do indeed care for the travelling population, and i have heard some nice conversations happening between them.

FollowupID: 607494

Follow Up By: Volvo driver - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 02:35

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 02:35
don't care...

if your silly enough to babble about where you were born.. and what year.. which suburb you were raised in...what sort of flowers you like etc etc on the highway channel you WILL be told in rather uncouth, vulgar language to 'rack off' SOONER rather than later, try it yourself if you don't believe me.. but l don't care if you don't,

ask a brief question about road, traffic or weather etc but not your life story, no-one cares
FollowupID: 607496

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 05:44

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 05:44
Hi VD,
For the life of me, I cannot see where anyone on this whole thread has alluded to talking about the absolute crap you refer to.
The OP asked about some 'common terms' that are used by truckies, most of us responded with those that we knew of.
Have you ever sat behind the wheel of a 'big rig', hour after hour, day after day and listened to most of the rubbish that is transmitted?
Thought not!, as the bulk of it is from truckies trying to break the monotony of a long, boring trip.
It is sad that some posters on here tend to play the old guerrilla/sniper crap on here to cause dissent with the rest of us.

Dennis

FollowupID: 607643

Follow Up By: Volvo driver - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 12:19

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 12:19
Dennis P ( Scotland )
if you haven't heard the crap that comes from once a year suburban dwellers heading of on their once a year jaunt on to a major interstate freeway, then l'd suggest you don't drive out of a major city much,

l raised the point about keeping it brief and to the point because no-one else had, simple, besides it's SOP on any frequency, someone will tell you to rack off if you persist on babbling on the highway channel, ( how many times do l have to say it )

it's not rocket surgery, you know

the Volvo l drive is not a small passenger car.. so l do have some knowledge of "big rigs" ( what a quaint term.. l don't actually know anyone who uses it.. besides car drivers )

your comment on dissent is ironic
FollowupID: 607681

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 23:21

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 23:21
Trust me I get what you are trying to point out, honest.
Sometimes the written word comes across as agressive.

Started driving interstate in the early '70's, right up til '97, even drove a Volvo, lol, nice rig, very comfortable.

Anyway, have a Happy Christmas.
Sorry if I upset you.

Dennis
FollowupID: 607801

Follow Up By: Volvo driver - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 11:29

Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 11:29
Dennis, no l wasn't being aggressive, just brief and to the point,

you started earlier than me then, late 70's in an Vicrail J3 Bedford, now a Volvo single, didn't like interstate, just marking time now until retirement,
wasn't upset, just baffled,
no need to apologize,
Merry Christmas and a happy new Year,

FollowupID: 608269

Reply By: Volvo driver - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 13:47

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 13:47
the terms already posted by a number of people, l'm sure you've read them all
cheer
AnswerID: 339839

Reply By: kcandco - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 22:59

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 22:59
Funny how when travelling through Mackay I asked on uhf where a certain place was located (a flash for cash was hiding there) and received total silence, then put my teenage daughter on the uhf to ask the same question and was inundated with helpful truckies. The lesson I learned :: seems like you have to be a real truckie to get a reply unless you happen to wear a skirt. LOL

Kc
AnswerID: 339946

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 21:12

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 21:12
I guess if you are doing the right thing, you wont need the whereabouts of radar etc.. fairly simple i would think.. Michael
AnswerID: 340032

Reply By: Tubes - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 02:47

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 02:47
Most of us "fairly simple" people do try to do the right thing but sometimes the cameras are strategically placed in areas at the bottom of hills or in speed reduction zones when sometimes all of us may at times exceed the speed limit unknowingly.
Anyway thanks to everyone for providing some interesting terms...I find info on road conditions,weather, and oncoming wide loads also provided by the truckies very helpfull.I am enjoying my new UHF handheld..gunna take a while for the novelty to wear off...
AnswerID: 340052