Barry 2
Just returned from the
Vic High Country beat the rain by one day luckily.This is a fantastic part of our great country and it never ceases to amaze me why people have to trash the place, that goes for anywhere for that matter.As most people have indicated on explor oz that they take other peoples rubbish out with them as we do.
We had a lunch break on our last trip at Horseyard Hut on the Moroka road on the way to
the pinnacles we were amazed at the drum full of empty cans at the back of the hut obviously left recently given there new condition. Who the Bl***Y H*LL do they think is going to come along and take them away ?? ( If someone can tell me how to post a photo, I will ) it might make those responsible and any others that trash our lovely spots to think about what they are really doing !! Not to mention the Grafetti on the door and walls.
Our last night was spent at
Moscow Villa Hut out of the rain and wind a great hut generously provided for others and yet we couldn't believe the graffeti that adorns this great hut some may say its ok to leave your mark on the walls "BUT" to deface the furniture that is left for everyone to use and burn your name into the lovely timber floor defies belief those responsible should take a serious look at themselves !! It's a pity those responsible didn't read the info board about the history of why the hut is there.
It's any wonder the authorities are locking "us out". We have been travelling Aussie for over 20yrs and the disrespect for the "country/outback" is getting worse.
Sorry for such a long post, I'll get off my box now.
I'll leave you with this thought - Australia " LOVE IT or LEAVE "
Safe Travels
Bazza
Reply By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 17:21
Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 17:21
The rise and rise of the bogan culture:(((
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 17:26
Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 17:26
Time to put a bounty on them Footy. It'd improve the gene pool immeasurably.
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 17:28
Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 17:28
Al, how about we just stop paying them for breeding ?
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 17:33
Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 17:33
Nah, they'll keep doing it just to spite us. Retrospective abortion is the only solution.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 17:37
Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 17:37
Al I gotta ask..... How do ya retrospectively abort something??? LOL.
Not that I disagree with you in this instance :-))
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 17:43
Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 17:43
John,
LOL I'll have to double check with Gough in his next period of lucidity. He used it to great effect in putting down ( hahahahaha ) an interjector at one of his rallies.
Follow Up By: dublediff - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 17:45
Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 17:45
Reminds of the woman from Collingwood, got a reward from crimestoppers after having an abortion.
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 17:47
Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 17:47
Barry its not just happening in the High Country.
I am involved in a local sporting club and I just spent the best part of an hour walking around the car
park picking up empty stubbies and cans dropped by $hitheads who could not be bothered walking 50 meters to a rubbish bin or taking the things home to stick in the recycle bin.
Bogans, ferals or just plain lazy $hits, its unfortunately an increasing problem everywhere.
What happened to those "Keep Australia beautiful" adverts that we used to see all the time on TV and in the papers.
They have always stuck in my mind and to this day I would feel so guilty if I dropped so much as a lollie wrapper on the ground.
Follow Up By: Barry 2 - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 21:25
Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 21:25
Hi John
It is very frustrating maybe your right bring back the ads ??
Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 17:51
Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 17:51
John,
If their mothers are the same lazy mongrels that leave shopping trolleys wherever in the carparks, what hope do the kids have.
Follow Up By: Tippa - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 18:00
Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 18:00
...not just in carparks either... what about on footpaths and all around housing commission areas...
We have a competition of how many shopping trolleys we can count in people's front yards and footpaths as we drive thru scummy suburbs. The record is 28 trolleys in a 500m stretch of the Hume Hwy passing thru campbeltown.
Its funny how they push the trolley from the
supermarket to their home, but never push it back when they go there next time... they just bring another one home and dump it on their own footpath...
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 18:45
Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 18:45
Tippa!, The same people don't change clothes, just pull more over the top...lol.
Reply By: Tippa - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 17:55
Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 17:55
My wife's friends and their family have been running cattle in the
Vic high country for generations, and own
Bluff Hut up there. After it's rebuild following it being burnt down, it would be a tragedy if people graffitied and damaged it. I cant tolerate or even understand why people damage other's property- especially something of historical significance... for a 5 second laugh before they crawl off to the next thing to damage? Very simple people out there....
Whats worse is it gives us all a bad name and slowly but surely will restrict us from gaining access to, and seeing our country. The greenies dont need any more excuses eh...
Follow Up By: Barry 2 - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 21:32
Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 21:32
Tippa from what we have seen of all the huts we have visited in the high country it will only be a matter of time unfortunately.
What gets me is they go there intentionally to destroy other peoples property.Of the genuine campers,4x4's,hikers, bikers, etc etc who goes up the high country with spray cans ????
I would love to have an answer !!!
Yeh I know easier to solves the world problems.
Bazza
Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 17:59
Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 17:59
It truly is a sad state of affairs. I was really disappointed with the way some people (and I stress "some", not all) treated Fraser Island of recent times. I bagged up nearly two chaff bags of rubbish and crap paper at a
camp site near the Mereno. Ironically less than 1 km from the rubbish station. How about the absolute inconsiderate expletive who torched the
toilets at
Durba Spring within the last 12 months. Even Rudall River was suffering this year with a lot of rubbish strewn along the main access road! I almost got hit by an empty bottle thrown from a vehicle on the
Canning Stock route this year by an incredibly drunken idiot (he met his
Waterloo tho!) and we collected several bags of rubbish left in the Simpson.
Bazza, if you ever get a rego of a vehicle or group that are leaving rubbish (in Victoria), notify the EPA on their 1-300 number and they will prosecute them or issue a fine. It's dependant upon you making a stand tho and providing a statement or declaration. Photo's are even better. They've had an advertising campaign about dobbing in those who litter. Call 'dobbing' un-Australian if you want but these sorts of people deserve to be hit with a fine.
Mick
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 18:09
Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 18:09
"(he met his
Waterloo tho!)"
C'mon Mick, spill the beans. We all love to hear about these fools getting their comeuppance.
Follow Up By: wendys - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 18:19
Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 18:19
Littering our country is un-Australian. Dobbing in a litterer is positively patriotic!
Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 18:41
Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 18:41
Nah....Dobbing can never be condoned.
There will always be a place for violence in society.
Usually works better than a slap on the wrist....hehehe.
Cheers....Lionel.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 18:59
Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 18:59
Sorry, but I used to feel that way about 'dobbing', but now I will happily report any littering that I witness & especially throwing of cigarette butts from moving vehicles.
Follow Up By: Barry 2 - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 21:36
Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 21:36
I'm with you Wendy, I will be reporting them and photos two if I can but in past attempts to report offenses nothing is done by the authorities unless there has been other reports of the same offence ???
Result nothing done again ??
Bazza
Reply By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 19:11
Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 19:11
Unfortunately Barry, these people have little respect for themselves let alone property that doesn't belong to them.
Begins at home and in schools. Kids are all taught about their rights these days and boy, do they all know there rights. But when it comes to responsibility and respect many are sadly lacking.
It is a terrible indictment on out society when you read stories like Barry's but I suppose it has been going on for many years.
Reply By: Crackles - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 22:13
Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 22:13
Had a similar experience at Bennies
camp ground. Previous campers had gone to the trouble of collecting & bagging their rubbish only to leave it at the edge of the logging road. Who did they think was going to collect that? The closest garbage truck stopped 30km away!
Rubbish is a strange item that for many needs to be disposed of the moment it is empty. There was room in the car to get it there so one would reasonably expect there was still room to take it home.
Cheers Craig...............
Reply By: Robnicko - Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 22:51
Sunday, Dec 14, 2008 at 22:51
Bazza,
I ride trailbikes up that way and it amazes me the amount of discarded cans along the tracks throughout the high country.
When we stop for a break and find rubbish (other peoples) we collect it and put it together so that the DSE vehicles can collect it when they pass through.
Most of it I find is Alcohol cans and this only points towards drink driving along the tracks.
As you said it only gives the Authorities more reason to lock everyone out.
Rob
Reply By: DIO - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 09:20
Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 09:20
When will consumers and governments wake up. There is a solution.
In your travels, check out which State has the least road-side rubbish, discarded cans and bottles. Bet that State has a container deposit and is most likely SA. Recently, container deposit has gone from 5c up to 10c and it really solves the problem of such rubbish being irresponsibly deposited.
Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 14:35
Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 14:35
Interesting thread and there have a few like this over the years. What amazes me most is that the standard reaction is that we may all get banned because of these idiots.
I have no expectation of being banned but I have a big expectation that these people should be persecuted by the authorities - this we also know from prior posts does not happen. There have been past examples of people being caught red handed and no one in authority being interested in even contacting those that litter.
It seems that some people have grown up thinking that this type of behaviour is OK and a lack of a solid kick in the pants only supports that.