Unusual Simpson Crossing

In th latest RACQ Road Ahead mag there is a letter from a reader who crossed the Simpson in a 7 year old Daihatsu Terrios.

Amazing really!

Mark T

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 12:59

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 12:59
lol...a property owner i know drives his Terrios where we can only just get through...those of you who know Col at Mt Airley will know what i mean :)
AnswerID: 340091

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 13:09

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 13:09
Not amazing, really

In the past 3 visits to the Simpson I have seen an Xtrail, Rav4, Bravo, Mercedes M30, BMW 5, Corolla 2wd, Datsun 1400 Ute 2wd out there. Lots of things are doable in deserts if you are prepared to take your time and use common sense

AnswerID: 340093

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 15:17

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 15:17
Willem,

And lets' not forget a 100 Series with a Kimberly Karavan in tow ;)

FollowupID: 607714

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 17:09

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 17:09
Some friends just did the Simpson this year in kombis.
Other group went to cape york in kombis.
Came across an old bloke in a nissan 2wd ute at the cape.
Just took his time.
FollowupID: 607737

Follow Up By: David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Alongs - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 09:51

Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 09:51
You could drive anything to the Cape via the PDR and Bamaga road.

In 1975 a mate came across a mini heading to the Cape on the OTL, now that would have taken some guts in 75.
FollowupID: 608256

Follow Up By: ross - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 11:17

Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 11:17
Most of Australia was explored in 2wd vehicles. Its nice to have hae the front wheels pulling you along but you dont need it in sand if you can get your speed up
FollowupID: 608266

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 11:54

Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 11:54
Hmmmm ross, where do you get your info from?

Most of Australia was explored on foot, on horseback and on camel. Going back to the early 1900's some epic feats were achieved with 2wd vehicles but not without some help along the way in the form of camels or bullocks.

Doing sand driving over trackless sand(if it is firm enough) can be done in a 2wd vehicle up to a point(dune buggies etc). This I have seen in the Kalahari Desert in southern africa, where antelope catchers use V8 utes shod with aircarft tyres on the rear to run their prey down with speed.

Driving the Simspon along the French Line it is difficult to get speed up as there seems to be a 'bump' tr the bottom of each dune. Most 2wd's which have completed these runs had 4x4 back-up for when a snatch was needed.
FollowupID: 608271

Follow Up By: ross - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 22:16

Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 22:16
Maybe I should have explained it better.
While its obvious explorers on horse/camels were the 1st to explore the interior and cross the continent,it wasnt until cars were capable of doing the same thing did we get a much clearer piture of what was out there.
The early explorers were limtied to what they could see from hoseback with little time for excursions off the main path.
The airline industry here owes much to early explorers in cars who travelled to remote areas to find sutable areas for landing and refuelling in an attempt to set up regular cross contenental flights

Even a model T ford could probaby do 3-4 times the klms in a day than a pack animal(barring breakdowns and flat tyres)
FollowupID: 608350

Follow Up By: ross - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 22:17

Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 22:17
sorry about the spelling,glasses here somewhere,somewhere.
FollowupID: 608353

Reply By: The Landy - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 13:15

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 13:15
Not to take anything away from the Daihatsu Terrios, but have a look at what they were running around the outback in 70/80 years ago.

Or for that matter what Reg Spriggs crossed the Simpson in when he did the first vehicle crossing in the early 1960s

We do it in airconditioned comfort these days with every gadget under the sun......and usually in convoy..

AnswerID: 340095

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 13:57

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 13:57
Not just the 60/70/80's
There would be a greater percentage of old 2wd's still doing the bush tracks around Australia.
Still makes me laugh around Finke time...
Quite often on the way back we get caught up behind a convoy of 4WD's with there huge lift kits, tyres and spotlights for Africa.
All doing about 60kmh hitting every corrugation on the road.
Then out of the dust behind you apears an old commodore full of blackfellas, no suspension, no windows and no seat belts fly past the whole convoy doing about 100kmh.

just what your used to I guess.

FollowupID: 607708

Follow Up By: kev.h - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 18:18

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 18:18
Hi Hairy
Had that happen to me up the cape on Frenchmans track only it was a 1979 corolla with mum dad 5 kids and 2 dogs (that's 9 occupants) As we were on the track he was about 25m off to the side dodging logs trees and ant hills at about 80 klms/hr
made me feel as if I'd over capitalised on me 4by
Kev
FollowupID: 607746

Follow Up By: Member - Dick (Int) - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 19:51

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 19:51
I drove from Mokari airstrip to Birdsville and back in a Land Rover in 1968 and did not have any problems. I think we are a little spoilt now.
Dick

FollowupID: 607765

Follow Up By: Member - Stuart W (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 22:38

Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 22:38
I was doing about 90kmh on the BMW R100GS Motorbike in 1999 heading east to Warburton on the Central road when into my side vision, scaring the poo out of me came a ford LTD with a blackfella with wild hair (windows down) at the wheel,he was in control and gave me a wave. No worries.
Stuart
FollowupID: 608358

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 02:46

Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 02:46
Its all fun!!!!
FollowupID: 608376

Reply By: Member - Porl - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 15:14

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 15:14
There was a story a few years ago in Overlander or something about a Terios going over Fraser Ilsand, got bogged a couple times but nothing serious. It was the lack of weight that made the difference, you don't need the clearance if you don't sink in, it was only a few ruts caused by high clearance cruisers and patrols that made him get some help.
AnswerID: 340105

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 18:20

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 18:20
Back in Sept 2002 during Birdsville race week ,sitting on top of big red with score cards , 1-10 , along comes a HQ Kingswood ,202 donk ,3 on the tree manual , sailes up and over without a care in the world ,, score a perfect 10 , the only '10" on the day,,
AnswerID: 340131