Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 20:25
Member - Jamie M (QLD)
hey guys,
i just done a quick oil and filter change in my 2004 petrol hilux, all went good but when i finished i decided the engine bay needed a tidy up. i gave everything a quick squirt with degreaser then went to start it before putting the hose in there, nothing. it is as if it has a flat battery, dim dash lights and a tick sound when trying to start. it has a tjm dual battery system and until now was working fine as were both batteries. i am wondering if the degreaser has caused a fault there somewhere. if anyone has had this or similar happen or any clues as to what may be wrong i would greatly appreciate any help.
thanks guys.
jamie...
Reply By: autosparky - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 20:38
Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 20:38
clean your battery terminals and it should go sometimes
water and degreaser can cause that .
Reply By: Member - Jamie M (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 21:05
Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 21:05
i cleaned the terminals. i just tried to jump start it using the mrs' car, connecting to the battery in the standard battery position and no change whatsoever.
jamie...
Follow Up By: Member - Jamie M (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 21:09
Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 21:09
i haven't hosed it as yet, do you think its a good idea to do so? guess its not really going to break anything now.
jamie...
Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 21:14
Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 21:14
Yep hose it all off thoroughly and let it dry out, the degreaser and dirt will conduct electricity much better than clean
water.
Seeing as it is just about dark it may take a while to dry. if you have an gargae air compressor you could blow dry the electrical bits.
Follow Up By: Member - Jamie M (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 21:16
Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 21:16
thanks for that, i'll let you know how i get on.
thanks
jamie...
Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 21:17
Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 21:17
Hi Jamie, I degrease and hose down my engine bay regularly.
Although there is very little in the way of electronics under my bonnet [or anywhere else for that matter] a decent dose of CRC or WD40 always seems to drive out the moisture.
Cheers....Lionel.
Follow Up By: Member - Jamie M (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 21:58
Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 21:58
i hosed it out and then hit it with the wd40, no instant success, so i guess i'll give it a day or so to dry out. if i can't get it going by tomorrow arvy i'll have to call a mobile pro. cutting things a bit fine, am/was taking the
cook and dog camping/fishing for 10 days on monday, so i hope i can get someone to take a look at it this close to chrissy. anyway thanks for all your help guys.
jamie...
Reply By: howesy - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 21:51
Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 21:51
As its cranked get a multi meter and on the posts, not the clamps, watch the voltage if it drops down instantly its cranked to below 10 volts then dead cell likely if not move the probes to the clamps and retest if it drops out on the 2nd test then terminals leads or connection points are the culprit. this is a pretty reliable guide hope it helps.
Reply By: peejay - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 23:54
Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 23:54
Did you short anything and cause any sparks while under the bonnet?
even if it is ok after it dries out the problem still needs to be located and rectified .
Reply By: Member - Jamie M (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 18:02
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 18:02
well all sorted out now, but not without a bit of the old egg on face, turned out i had 2 dead, salvageable batteries. called a mobile sparky we use at work, he went straight around to have a squizz, when he called to give me the damage report he said "you were right mate, its not a flat battery, its 2 cactus batteries. so just bunged a couple of new centurys in and away she goes. probably not the best batteries on earth but will certainly satisfy my needs for now, i hope. during all this the wireless(original toyota job) seems to have locked itself up. there doesn't appear to be any code in the owners manual so i guess it'll be a trip to toyota with the remainder of my bank balance hehehe. thanks for all the advice and handy hints fellas.
hope you all have a merry xmas.
safe motoring.
jamie...
Follow Up By: Member - Jamie M (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 20:41
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 20:41
unsalvagable that is. (typo)
jamie