Part of a rocket, or part of Len's truck
Submitted: Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 10:49
x
I found this piece of metal beside the south eastern end of the Mt Davies Road in 2001. It looked as if it had been there for many years. My first thought was that it might have been part of a vehicle - maybe one of the GBH Construction Team's vehicles. But it is made of two types of metal- cast iron and a strip along the bottom of the photo of what looks like bronze. The join appears to have been welded.
The round end appears to be a quarter circle and is tapered as if to fit over another round piece of metal, OR could it be a rocket nozzle?
The Mt Davies Rd runs along the trajectory of the range.
There is some text and symbols on it which you can see in the photo- a symbol that looks like an "H" with a "J" superimposed, followed by "8". Then on line 2: ACIS2 "Star". The
grey paint was added accidentally in my shed.
Does anyone have a clue what it is?Image Could Not Be Found
Reply By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 10:59
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 10:59
Len was giving one of his popular 'spruiks' to a group of businessmen in
Adelaide.
After the dinner, one of the members was talking to him, and mentioned he had one of the original marker plaques hanging behind his bar at home.
Needless to say - Len wasn't impressed.
Follow Up By: x - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 11:38
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 11:38
So should I have left it out there, perhaps never to be discovered again, or try to find out what it is so appropriate action can be taken?
Someone might tell me that it is part of the exhaust manifold of a 1976 Toyota, in which case I have gathered some garbage from
the desert.
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 12:11
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 12:11
Gday Signman,
A what looks to be a worn out discarded ripper is hardly in the same category as a marker
plaque.
A bit like comparing a road
sign to a beer can.
Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 15:33
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 15:33
Nah- just an interesting side line...
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 15:51
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 15:51
Sorry....
Misread your tone of voice.
Follow Up By: get outmore - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 09:32
Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 09:32
iteresting isnt it that a peice of discarded metal would be littering if it is off one of the communities XF falcons or a fascinating peice of history if it is off of the Gunbarrel construction crews grader
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 11:29
Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 11:29
Is it?
Ones a bit of history.
Ones a bit of crap.
Reply By: Mark R - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 11:26
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 11:26
I doubt cast iron would be used in too many rocket components
Follow Up By: ob - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 11:32
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 11:32
Agree, cast iron way too heavy for rocket part IMHO, looks like a cutting edge from an earth moving machine
Cheers ob
Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 12:03
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 12:03
I agree with ob,
I reckon its a tooth off some sort of ripper or something.
Is the piece of metal that has been brazed on realy hard?
Follow Up By: x - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 12:50
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 12:50
Hairy,
It does seem very hard although I haven't scratched it to see. It is 3 mm thick and seems to be a cam type surface. It has bleep tered at its mid section.Image Could Not Be Found
The other side has flutes, perhaps for strength, perhaps for cooling.Image Could Not Be Found
I have seen disposable tynes from earth moving equipment. They are made from steel only as far as I know. The bimetal seems a bit hi-tech. There is no wear to suggest a digging role for this item.
Secondly, you wouldn't expect sharp small tynes on equipment used to carve a road through
sand dunes.
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 13:04
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 13:04
Maybe a bit of a drill or auger???? Im still guessing at earth moving though.
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 13:05
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 13:05
How big is it?
Size of a fist?????
Reply By: feathery - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 12:36
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 12:36
I agree it looks like part of heavy plant I think it might be a track glide I don't think it is a ripper tip or a bucket tooth
Follow Up By: Member - John R (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 19:56
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 19:56
Part of the mysterious "elephant's foot" that Len mentions requesting for the bulldozer, in his book?
Cheers, John
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 12:44
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 12:44
Windmill or
bore pump component??
Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 15:17
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 15:17
I agree with Hairy, its definately a beer can!!! Michael
Reply By: landed eagle - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 18:04
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 18:04
Looks like a torque differentiator from a discombobulator. yeah that's it!
Reply By: patto - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 19:55
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 19:55
Congratulations Hairy you have it in one . It is part of a blade bit used for drilling. The bits have 3 blades usually with tungsten bronzed on the end and are used to drill softer formations like clays and shales etc You change the blades for different size holes
Follow Up By: FOZSA - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:23
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:23
Thought it looked familiar, drill bit from a RAB rig, or at least one part of it.
Put three of those together, a metal collar over the top and you can drill for gold, nickel even diesel at certain minsites...
500,000 litres, the official version we got told,
unofficial was 1m litres of diesel, explains why were were wearing disposable suites on respiratiors when we were drilling..
Follow Up By: x - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 23:15
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 23:15
Yep. I think that sounds plausible. The 'tip' of harder metal is worn smooth and is quite rounded. The cast iron behind the leading edge of hard metal has melted back in rough burrs.
Patto, are you a miner or driller too?
Well done all.
Follow Up By: get outmore - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 09:35
Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 09:35
That wasnt at a certain
well know kalgoorlie
mine site was it?
years ago there was a massive UG diesal spill and about 10 years ago drillers drilling the oroya cutback hit it sending a masive amount of diesal out from the outside return
Follow Up By: FOZSA - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 10:07
Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 10:07
Fair bit north of Kal. Pipeline from the tanks to the plant was underground through clay. The line corroded away and they thought the guages were faulty.
Over about 5-10 years the estimates were between 500,000 and 1million litres gone into the ground.
The sent us up to find how far it has spread and how pure. We got told the stuff that was coming out of some of the holes could be put straight into the tanks. Pure diesel.
Disgusting.
If this was a tanker spill it would be front page news. It was supposed to be all hush hush but everyone on site knew what we were doing there and it was kind of obvious with big pools of diesel sitting around...