Cheap alternatives are no longer cheap? A story of Chinese tyres!
Submitted: Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 14:19
Member - Mick O (VIC)
Knowing my ability (& propensity) for totally destroying $300 tyres, I’ve spent a couple of weeks researching some of the cheaper tyres on the markets. These were to form an off road alternative to the Micky T’s, Coopers or BFG’s. I’d made a few enquiries some months back and were given quotes between $140 and $160 fitted on several Chinese brands. I’ve since done a bit more research to identify the best quality “low cost” tyres. Imagine my shock when I started calling around to find that the tyres have all gone up a minimum of $80 over the last 4 months. The prices are now between $220 and $260 which means for an extra $20 to $40 I can get my usual “Good quality”, known brand tyres (which ironically haven’t gone up as much as the cheapies).
Has anyone had a good recent (last month or so) price on Westlake CR 857’s, Maxxi MA251’s or cheaper Chinese tyres (looking at 265/75R16), preferably in
Melbourne, but hell it’s probably worth freighting them if the price is right!
Thanks. Mick
Reply By: Moose - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 14:53
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 14:53
G'day Mick
You should have expected the price to rise given our dollars dive. So if the tyres they are quoting on have arrived recently it's justified, but if they already had them in the warehouse then they are just ripping you off.
What about the MRFs or MFRs or whatever that Willem's using - did you consider them, or are they not made in the size you're after?
Sorry mate can't answer your specific question.
Cheers from the Moose
Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 14:57
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 14:57
Don't make them in my size and I want them as a tubeless unit. Cheers Mick
Follow Up By: PeterInSa - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 20:09
Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 20:09
Bought 2 x 265/75/R15 last week for $185 each, understand that tyres are going up like everything else in the new year.
Reply By: Tadooch - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 15:20
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 15:20
G'day Mick,
I fitted Bolex Dueler A/T 235/75 R15 to my jeep last month for $125 ea. They told me they were going up to $150 on the next shipment. I got them here on the GC from Branigan's tyres at
Southport.
Hope this helps,
Tadooch
Reply By: Robnicko - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 15:41
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 15:41
Mick,
Slightly off the topic but I recently tried a Chinese copy of the Michelin S12 trailbike tyre. Whilst they looked exactly the same they wore extremely quickly and I found that the knobs on the front one were too flexible and did not grip as
well when turning, they squirmed and slid and I have a black and blue forearm and busted 2 knee guards!
I am not complaining as they cost $100 for the 2 whereas genuine Michelins would be about $235 for the 2 and I see it as a learning experience.
As for car tyres, a friend who sells tyres does not trust them for the same reasons.
Better off going to Bob Jane and getting tyres on 12mth interest free and putting aside the money every month. You have to be diligent and make sure you save the money every month. Thats what I did last year and paid for my BFG's 3 weeks ago.
Rob
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 16:14
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 16:14
"Micky T’s, Coopers or BFG’s"
Just coincidentally, these 3 brands get sidewall stakes more often than anything else on the trips I've been on in recent years. They all have thin sidewalls. Goodyear MTRs have been the best in 265/75, but I'm sure there's others. The Maxxis MA761 might be worth a try - they are now made with a 3-ply sidewall, but I don't know anyone who uses them.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 16:21
Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 16:21
Its also worth considering the
Beaurepaires Road Hazard Warranty.. For an extra $16 per tyre, it covers everything.
I took it out on 4 new Silent Armours before my last
Madigan Line trip - staked one and plugged it. Back home they replaced it with a new one , no questions asked - only cost was another $16 to take out warranty on the relacement tyre.
Conditions are that every 10,000k you need to spend $32 on a rebalance and inspection.
Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 13:02
Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 13:02
Thanks Phil. I'd had the Maxxis reccomended to me as
well. That warranty seems an amazing thing. Might be the way to go. I looked at the silent armour before selecting the Dick Cepek.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 11:00
Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 11:00
G'day Phil and Mick,
I started to get all excited when I first read the $16- warranty blurb. I thought to me-self... "here's a go.... use the tyres until they're just about knackered, then deliberately stake them and take back for a new replacement for $16-"....... hahahahaha
Then I saw in the fine print that you only pay for the tread that you've used. So if the tyre is down to 20% tread left, you have to pay 80% 0f the price of a new tyre + the $16- for the new warranty,.....
DAMN!! There's always a catch....hahahaha
Have a good Chrissy, blokes
Reply By: wombat1 - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 22:11
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 22:11
I had a similar experience when looking to change offroad tyres on camper trailer
ended up with Bridgstone Duelers 693's Much CHEAPER than US branded tyres and Same as Chinese,
Long live Aussie made