How much effort do you put into trip planning?

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 14:46
ThreadID: 64379 Views:4888 Replies:20 FollowUps:16
I find it amazing that some people appear to do bugger all planning before heading off on a long trip.
There was a recent post where they are planning to leave in a month and a bit and they hadn't even decided in which direction they were going! And there have been quite a few other posts along similar lines.
Surely a long trip demands a heap of planning well in advance of departure date.
There's a saying along the lines of "failing to plan is planning to fail". I couldn't imagine going on a trip without proper planning.
How about you?
Cheers from the Moose

Reply By: ben_gv3 - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 14:53

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 14:53
Not having a good day with people disagreeing with you mate?

Whatever happened to having a carefree spirit and taking each challenge as it comes?

Not all of us like our trips planned to the n'th degree. It does take the spirit of adventure out of it...
AnswerID: 340295

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 14:56

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 14:56
Lists Moose, lists. Gotta have 'em. Lists of things, lists of places, lists of food, lists of meals, fuel consumptions, route alternatives, mileage charts, tools, spares, weights, expenses, stuff to buy, etc etc etc. Love those damn lists!!!

Mick

AnswerID: 340296

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 22:54

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 22:54
you and me are cut from the same tree then :-)
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

FollowupID: 608025

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 21:32

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 21:32
I have a list of how many lists I have LOL
FollowupID: 608215

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 14:58

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 14:58
My trip planning and prep can take 2 years for a major journey.
AnswerID: 340297

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 16:09

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 16:09
gees louise.....................how much gear do you take/own Footy?
FollowupID: 607910

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 16:22

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 16:22
Not a fraction as much as some here. Most of the time is spent researching the area, it's history etc and getting the vehicle up to scratch.
FollowupID: 607912

Reply By: Notso - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 14:58

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 14:58
All we do is plan to do the trip, eg around Aus, Across Aus, or Up and Down Aus. Then we pack the van up and say, well where will we head for today?

Works for us!
AnswerID: 340298

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 08:23

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 08:23
Yep, that's the best way for me too.

I used to sit down and think (ie: "worry") about every little aspect of a trip for months in advance.

I've now become a bit more confident in our travel capabilities and tend to not do anywhere nearly as much pre-planning.

That's not to say I don't "PREPARE" for a trip, though.

I make sure the Patrol has been serviced. I always carry spare belts, hoses, filters, tools etc, so don't need to think about packing those. Also, the Patrol always has the fridge, hard-wired compressors etc.

So, all we need to do is pack clothes in the Nally tubs, which fit in the big box on the Patrol. The camper trailer is always packed, ready to go too.....just add fresh food; but we don't try to take 4 weeks worth of food....can still get tucker along the way (except for those really remote trips).

As for the route, ....usually that's a matter of knowing where we're going and just following our noses along the shortest route; with appropriate detours to places of interest that we may be aware of.

It is great to NOT have to be in certain places at certain times. This is just one more reason why I hate caravan parks; especially the type that are in really popular places that are booked out months in advance. I've never been to Broome (yet), and the biggest bug-bear that I have about visiting there is the fact that if I want to stay in a 'van park, I'm going to have to book soooo far ahead and then stick to that commitment......this is NOT my idea of a holiday; needing to be in a certain place at a certain time = STRESS!!!!!

The one thing I do plan for is MONEY. I always do a rough calculation of the distance we're likely to travel, add a margin of 20% and then work out the possible fuel cost based on a worst case fuel cost (about 20% higher than the current actual fuel costs). Add to that an allowance of $50- per day for food and other stuff (the actual $50- figure could vary up to $100- or more depending on the nature of the trip)....so I end up with a potential all-up cost of the trip. If that figure is too scary, we stay home!!!! Not really, but we may have to scale back our planned destination if the $$$ are going to be too tight.

FollowupID: 608074

Reply By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 15:10

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 15:10
There are trip that don't need much planning and those that do. You wouldn't want to spend 4 weeks in a remote desert without planing.
The risk is you might end up like Burke and Wills.

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 340300

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 23:10

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 23:10
Robert O'Hara Burke spent 2 and a half years planning and look where it got him?

FollowupID: 608030

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 15:22

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 15:22
We spent 3yrs from the initial idea planning for our last 6mth trip , vehicle prep ,finance , route ,what to see ,when to see it ,fuel stops ,list after list after list , plan was to travel anticlockwise , 14 days prior to departure all plans flew out the window as the cape was still to wet , clockwise we go and had a ball , no time frame ,no set destination , lots of fun.
AnswerID: 340305

Reply By: Member - John K - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 15:57

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 15:57
Sure, Plan what you take like emergency equipment etc but the best trips are those that just happen after taking off in a general direction and then listening very carefully to the locals
J/K
AnswerID: 340311

Follow Up By: The Landy - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 16:24

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 16:24
That gets my vote also......

FollowupID: 607914

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 16:30

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 16:30
Well said John K.

It might take us years setting up the rig and taking enough spares and tools to cover most emergencies, but to enjoy a holiday, take it as it comes.

"Head in the general direction and talk to locals and other travellers along the way" sums up our preferred style of travel.

FollowupID: 607916

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 17:02

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 17:02
Thats where we fit in too, throw some stuff in the caravan and point the car in the general direction, now out remote areas is a bit different because you have to allow for food and maybes but even still we only prepare for the necessities and go from there. One of our great holidays was back in early eighties, we had four young kids, a caravan and a plan to head north (WA) and see how far we could get in a couple of months, we had already been as far as Onslow so drove that distance then went to each and every spot, stopped and checked all interesting areas and moved on to the next stop, we finished up in Darwin. As young as the kids were at the time they still remember that holiday. Itineraries are definitely out of our trips, too stressful trying to keep up with them.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 607921

Follow Up By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 22:48

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 22:48
Agree with you guys. A well set up vechile can go where its driver wants to when he wants to. Even in remote areas you can change plans if you let someone know. When we are not remote we try and not plan to far in advance eg.. pack up in the morning and work out where we are staying as we drive, all we need know is what general direction. This is excitng and allows you to change plans as you go and see more things. Seriously this is how we do it most days. It is fun and carefree. Yes we are well prepared which took alot of planning but after 2 yrs on the road doing this I recon it's the best way.

Josh
FollowupID: 608023

Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 16:25

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 16:25
Moose

I think a lot of the fun is in the planning and the anticipation generated from the planning.

I think it was Madigan that said something along the lines of "adventure comes from poor planning"
Now you can look at that a couple of ways. Also, just how much "adventure" do you want.

Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

AnswerID: 340321

Reply By: HGMonaro - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 16:38

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 16:38
Depends on how often you get to go away and for how long the journey is. Longer journey, less planning needed. You go away for 6 mths every year you can wander around carefree and as slow as you like. For most of us, you might get a 4-6 week block away from work once every few years... then if you want to get further away from home than you can drive in a few days, you need to plan. Also, if you're only going to go someplace once, having some knowledge of what's out there saves you driving past things that your hear about later and wish you knew about.
Not everyone with a van is retired!
AnswerID: 340325

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 22:56

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 22:56
you got it in one I reckon HGMonaro!

MM
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

FollowupID: 608026

Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 16:50

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 16:50
Hi Moose
Apart from vehicle preparation, little planning goes into my trips.
I sat down for Hours trying to work out how far per day, where fuel was, places to see only find that some random thing will pop-up that looks fantastic, but not be able to do because I had to be somewhere by nightfall, if you change that day the next day will be out,I found it frustrating, my work days are planned out, why would I want my holidays the same, FFFF that!!

I will do SOME homework, camp-sites, permits, attractions, Relative climate conditions ,absolutely have to, so that I Ensure my vehicle is set-up for specific task, If Crossing the Simpson Desert for example, Heaps of food/water, spares, lots of fuel, but if your trip is in the Victorian High country, all of the above would be more of a hindrance in the form of extra weigh.

One other random thought, How did Captain cook plan his trip?

No plans, no dissapointments.

Shane
AnswerID: 340328

Follow Up By: Moose - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 17:00

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 17:00
G'day Shane
Yeah well old Jimmy was in a different boat (awful pun I know!) because he had no idea what lay ahead and had had no option (other than to stay home).
We however can mitigate potential problems by planning - as in your remote travel example.
Personally we don't have a rigid daily plan but a rough idea - allows for diversions etc. However due to limited time I can't afford to do as others have suggested and talk to the locals to find out what to see and do. For example for our Vic High Country trip a couple of years back we had done heaps of research on possible camping areas, tracks, huts etc. I don't think we would have been very successful if the extent of our planning was "let's go to the High Country" - which is what some others appear to be advocating.
Cheers from the Mooose
FollowupID: 607920

Reply By: Steve63 - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 16:59

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 16:59
Depends. Long trip on the tar requires less planning than for a remote trip. If you are not remote having the freedom to change plans can be good. Sometimes you only find out about things on the road or an oppertunity appears to go somewhere unusual. Not planned does not mean unprepared.

AnswerID: 340330

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 18:27

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 18:27
Moose

Some of us here venture into unknown territory on an annual basis and so a lot of planning and preparation goes into our adventures.

For instance....next years major trek will take us into very remote parts of this country and it is probable that we might not see a shop for up to 60 days. So a lot of planning goes into such a trip. Already have 10MB of stuff in a file on the computer. A lot of research...making contact with others in the know or who have been in the same area.

THiugh we are setting off at the beginning of June 2009, planning a general route to the destination started in October this year and has already been altered 3 times...lol. It is always an adventure going to these places as one does not get the real picture of what to expect even when looking at specialist topo or sat maps and even Google Earth

And then there is the tucker and gear one needs to carry and the fuel and other supplies and deciding what has to stay home to reduce weight. And then the 4by has to be in tip top condition and shod with the right tyres.

Ordinary trips along the bitumen require less planning and one can play it by ear.

AnswerID: 340350

Reply By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 18:30

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 18:30
WE (well me) love to plan a trip and always write a multipage document outlining a trip.

We (well me again) , set an objective usually one that requires a bit of an effort and go for it.

sucess is determined by wether or not we meet the plan.

Guess that comes from to much project management with critical pathways and timelines.

Gee , I just realized why my friends call our trips "Missions".
AnswerID: 340352

Follow Up By: ben_gv3 - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:36

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:36
I thought trips/adventures was about enjoying the journey not the destination???

IMHO sometimes it's good to leave work (and your work mindset) behind.
FollowupID: 607994

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 23:13

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 23:13
Critical Path Analysis IS always about the journey ben, the destination is merely a goal

FollowupID: 608031

Reply By: Crackles - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 20:37

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 20:37
Early on my outback trip planning started up to 2 years prior but over time have cut that down to just 6 weeks for my most remote adventure to date. With the wealth of knowledge & information that is all readily available particually on the Internet, detailed planning is no longer a time consuming task particually as my vehicle sits ready in the shed.
Cheers Craig............
AnswerID: 340385

Reply By: Member - Matt H (SA) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:42

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:42
Moose,
I concur with Mick O. - LISTS. It's in my blood after being "indoctrinated" by the Air Force way of thinking for nearly 20 years!!!
My wife & I (at the the time, 28 & 38) travelled Oz for 6 months in our camper trailer, despite a mortgage and a car loan.

Man, that took some planning! About 3 years in fact. That said, we did it on a budget of $500/week or $70 a day. That was broken down further to $30 for fuel, $30 for food, and $20 for accomodation.

Guess what? We got home after 6 months and was only $500 over budget.(AND that included side trips, beer, souviniers and more beer).

Planning works!

Given today's economic climate you'd be mad not to plan - and proper planning means LISTS.

Besides, it's fun - crossing things off your lists means you're that bit closer to your goal!

Have a look at my old camper trailer on this site - it started as a 7 x 4 box trailer!!! All home built and nothing has ever failed!

Cheers, Matt
AnswerID: 340399

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 06:26

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 06:26
Ran a club trip into the Kimberley with 6 vehicles this year lasting two months. Had to meet a vehicle at Kunanurra on a certain date.

Initial idea for the trip was 2 years prior to the start. Most of the planning was places to go and things to see and booking caravan parks well in advance like Broome. Learnt from the previous year when we were in the overflow.

Bit of homework on places like Walcott Inlet.

Can't plan on your travelling companions though when they are club members. Prefer travelling with one other vehicle owned by a good mate.
AnswerID: 340433

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 11:49

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 11:49
Well....
We can only buy 2 bottles of stones or port per day and only between the hours of 6.00 and 9.00.
So if Im takeing say 4 of each I need to stat my trip planing 5 days in advance if we plan leaving before 6 at night.
Apart from that it takes about 3 hours to shop, fill the water tanks and throw the food in the camper. The Mrs. fills the car on the way back from shoping and we're about ready to roll.
Planning?? Absolutely
AnswerID: 340484

Reply By: Nic I (NSW) - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 13:43

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 13:43
I find the range of planning efforts and detail fascinating, regardless of the travel type.

A friend of mine likes to arrive in a foreign country having done no planning whatsoever, except that legally required for his entry and exit. He has no local knowledge or currency, no acccommodation or itinerary planned, and knows as little as possible about the country.

He says not knowing these things hugely increases his enjoyment of travel; that prior knowledge takes the edge from the learning experience. It would terrify me, but then he has saint-like patience.
AnswerID: 340496

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 14:24

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 14:24
Its all really subjective is'nt it , a very good friend of ours is the complete opposite , can only manage 10days away from his buisiness in 1 block once per year , his idea of the perfect trip/holiday is to take a cruise ,same cruise every year ,same cabin even , likes to have every min planned out for him , when to eat, when to sleep ect ect.
FollowupID: 608128

Reply By: Member - Royce- Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 00:02

Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 00:02
My first few trips around Oz I spent months planning and putting things together.

Last trip up north, I did nothing out of the ordinary. Packed the day before and headed off. Okay, I have most things I might need on board all the time.

The point though is that anywhere in Oz there is a supermarket or general store or roadhouse that can supply what you need.

Heading off road, simply add more water and maybe food. Tell someone where you are going and when you expect to be somewhere.

AnswerID: 340577

Follow Up By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 07:51

Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 07:51
Hi Royce,

Depends where you are going - if going on a desert expedition there aren't any supermarkets or garages out there. You need to be totally self sufficient and plan accordingly.

I have been on trips where we haven't seen another vehicle for weeks let alone find a shop.

Its on these type of trips where European travellers come unstuck - they think there are bitumen roads and shops everywhere.

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

FollowupID: 608242

Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 00:13

Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 00:13
Moose, we would do more planning on the final leg coming home than on the trip, if on a short and limited time frame (as some have eluded to four weeks annual leave). We take it easy (in our general direction), finding out what to see that isn't in the tourist brochures from locals and other travellers, then when about half way through our time, turn in the general direction of home, preferably on another route. We rarely cover much of the same ground, and it is all new to us. Even if we don't get to say the centre of Australia or wherever that holiday it doesn't matter - we have relaxed and enjoyed the trip and not been under pressure from deadlines or bookings. If work starts Monday, then the last few days are planned with more precision and will probably involve longer drives.

We never book accommodation - the only exception being at Melbourne before going to Tasmania - of course being a rare deadline.

On this year's holiday in the Kimberley, i did research the places along the Gibb River Road and take on board the advice of others on the forums, before deciding which places it would be wise to take our rig into, and which it would not (eg narrow road and inadequate turning room). We still left decisions on some places (eg Kalumburu) until we got near there and had talked to others who had been. Our time frame for the GRR was an unknown; we just took it a day at a time, relaxed and enjoyed it all.

We still had a time frame and a return time, only this trip was planned to take around four months. It included Alice Spring and surrounds including Uluru, and it think we got home a day or two ahead of schedule (coming home quicker on the last couple of days due to rain).

AnswerID: 340579