Hooning around legally.

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 15:53
ThreadID: 64383 Views:2803 Replies:3 FollowUps:4
Got to do some legal Hooning this week, down comissioning a large electronic scoreboard sign near an oval as a passenger in a site managers commodore ute.

He decided he needed to look at the sign close up and thought that the recent rain had soaked in and he could drive around the back way.

Even as we approached I smelt trouble and tried to advise him not to stop, but stop he did and quickly buried the back wheels as he tried to move on.
He tried a couple more times but just buried it further. Giving up he phoned a work crew and organized a tractor, explaining that the standard tractor cost was 1 slab around here.

It would be 3/4 hour before rescue, so I tried to advise him to drop tyres etc etc but no way and after a while he thru me the keys and said "You try it if you like".

As I jumped in the ute I told him to sit on the tailgate and I started it up.

Never driven one of these before and it took a while to realise it was a column shift automatic ! Only option I could think of was to get up a rocking motion which was a bit tricky. So back and forth I went into reverse then forward.
Trying to momentarily apply the handbrake on/off as well.
Took a bit to get the hang of it and the auto transmission made a few unhappy noises but after at least a dozen reverse shift changes I got the rocking movement happening just a little bit. The cars body was touching the soft ground by now
but from what I could tell the wheels got through the top 150mm of mush and found something a little harder underneath.
Kept at it long after you would normally give up, but slowly the car began to move 100mm back then 200mm forward as I sync- locked in the movement.
Several more changes later and I actually got it moving off but we
had to keep the wheels churning thru the grass covered mush down into the subsoil and this took a lot of wheel spin and sliding around.

The site manager was yelling "Keep it going, Keep it going" so we just poured in the power and fishtailed nearly a 100m to high ground leaving deep ruts behind.

The site manager seemed quite impressed, gave the project the thumbs up and called the work crew to cancel the tractor and their slab.
Apparently they get a decent ribbing after a bogging but I have never seen anyone so happy after I throughly tore up his lawn.

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 18:25

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 18:25
Driving a Nissan you don't get a lot of experience getting yourself out of bogs, just getting through them. Pulling Landcruisers OUT of bogs is most satisfying, but so is driving them on Nundooka station!

That said I may have once had a name for getting stuck in work cars and sedans .... The rocking motion has worked a number of times for me too, and had I known about letting tyres down I reckon I wouldve gotten out of my fair share and maybe, just maybe, not have the monniker of Mr Bog

AnswerID: 340348

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 18:41

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 18:41
Hi Bonz

Good stuff , yes same worked for me , apart from the fun aspect it was a good little traction lesson which is better learnt in someone elses car.

This driver just got in an rev'd it , but what I was looking for was
that little bit of extra inital shove caused by surface tension and mud sucking the tires.

Took a while but we got it and it really did take a bit to get into the rythum and amplify that small movement.
FollowupID: 607941

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 18:31

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 18:31
Hi Robin,
A great outcome for the day.

A carton is the standard "fine" for getting bogged on any construction site.

I worked on a coal handling project many years ago.

Every time the civil engineer turned up on site he got bogged, at least twice a week.

Each time he got bogged the civil guys would have to pull him out. Every time he promised to pay the "fine" but never did.

After about 3 months of this one of the dozer operators was jack of it.

Soo, next time young civil turned up on site he completed the ritual and got bogged.

The dozer driver completed the game by backing the D9 up to the Commodore sedan, dropped the ripper through the boot lid and the boot floor then towed the Commodore out backwards.

Young civil never got bogged again and appeared the following Friday with a couple of cartons.

Debt paid, lesson learnt!

AnswerID: 340353

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 18:41

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 18:41
Gee you guys play rough Geoff , I don't think I will cut up your lawn.
FollowupID: 607942

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 18:46

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 18:46
Hi Robin,
I do basically what you do.

Electrical Engineering, I just happen to have worked in some "interesting" places and with the last of the work sites truly great "characters"

FollowupID: 607943

Reply By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:16

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:16
Hi Robin, Did it have a L/s diff?, I know when Ford fitted them to their XF range of commercial vehicles it saved some embarrssing moments for a lot of council and other goverment department workers....lol. Reminds me back on the farm with a two wheel drive tractor, get that forward and reverse rock happening!!.

AnswerID: 340392

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 08:06

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 08:06
Don't really know axle , but I believe the column shift auto is the budget model so I guess not - I recently brought son a falcon ute with sports pack and it has no LSD surprizingly.

Utes seem to be hopeless cars for traction
FollowupID: 608071