Advice Needed - Towing a Large Caravan up a steep slope.

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 20:57
ThreadID: 64396 Views:13815 Replies:19 FollowUps:50

I know there are people with vast towing experience out there. It is our desire to take our caravan up to our newly acquired tree change property. Concern is the last 300metres is a gravel road and is steep – my estimate is between 25 and 30 degrees. Would I loose traction towing a large van on such a slope? My 20 year old Lcruiser is standard – no diff locks or even LSD. I would use 1st gear in low range of course (manual). The van weighs 3 tonnes.

Also is it true the steeper the slope the more weight probably pulling on towbar and less on the road – I have a max 350kg towball weight. It would be basically a standing start on the gravel section as there is a concrete culvert creek crossing at bottom of slope. If its too risky what are my options – would it help to get another 4X4 and chain them together to tow van ? (the public road ends at our front gate so there is no other traffic on this section). What about putting ballast of some sort in 4x4 to improve traction ?.

To get to the gravel section there is 4 km of narrow winding bitumen road with no capacity to turn a van around – so I have to be sure I can get to the top. Any other ideas or suggestions would be appreciated. (Where is the V10 Touareg when you need one ? – like the one towing the 737……lol)

Refer to photo below which shows a side view of road through grass and trees – see powerlines also which approx follow slope of road.

Cheers GPM

Reply By: D200Dug- Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:03

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:03
Just an non expert point of view. I would have another 4WD preferably with a winch or a tractor standing by at the top of the hill the first time you try.
AnswerID: 340390

Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:12

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:12
Reduced tyre pressures (lengthen your tyres footprint) will make a heeuuge difference to your traction ability....

I wouldn't hesitate to go to 10-12psi in such circumstances if I thought it necessary...

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 340391

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:49

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:49
How are ya Ed?

I should have thought of that too...lol

FollowupID: 608000

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 22:17

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 22:17
G'day Willem,
Yeah, all good here:)

I must say I'm surprised that a man of your wisdom didn't think of the obvious ;-))

Too easy, really.......

Catch ya later,
Ed

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 608011

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 22:33

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 22:33
Some people are wise.....some people are otherwise.....lol
FollowupID: 608017

Follow Up By: feathery - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 08:13

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 08:13
do not lower your tyre pressure this will reduce your ground pressure causing you to spin on the surface if you increase your pressure you will allow your tyres to bight into the road surface giving you greater traction
FollowupID: 608072

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 08:23

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 08:23
Well, there you go. A differing opinion on traction. Not sure about the 'bight' tho. :-)
FollowupID: 608075

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 09:40

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 09:40
Saharaman,

I remember doing a day trip with Gramps up the Colo. He was wheel spinning badly on loose gravel on a steep hill. He dropped the pressures and went up from there, without any problem.

I tow my 2.5 tonne Bushtracker up and down a very steep slope to get into my land on the Abercrombie. I have no problem, but I do use the diff locks in my auto Cruiser. I have done it without them though - it was not so slow and assured, but I made it OK.

Willie
FollowupID: 608089

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 15:10

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 15:10
not let your tire pressure down ? im a little mythed at this also - i was once in the front of this massive slippery hill sand on dry clay - could not hardly walk up it for the steepness of it ...

everyone had a crack at it with there tyres at 40 psi - NOT one person made it - just ended up in a lot of tire spins - then we all reduced tires to about 15 PSI ..... we all made it with very little effort and minimal wheel spin .

here is an idea - if you have another vehicle with you , say another Patrol or landcrusher - see if you can connect them up and try to tow the other vehicle up the hill -- if you make it EASY without needing to reduce tyres pressure then you should be ok -- if you struggle with a vehicle half the weight and with 4 tyres(of the van) , then you know that you will not get the van back out ....

Boc
FollowupID: 608134

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:21

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:21
GPM

Will the van be staying at the top of the property or will you want to take it down the hill again?

A number of ideas spring to mind.

Fit chains to your wheels
If there is a flat piece of ground at the end of the 300metres then you could use a pulley to pull the van up
Yes 2 x 4x4's welded together might do the trick as well :-)
Concrete the 300metres
Find someone with a very strong winch to winch it up
Lighten the van to the max

AnswerID: 340393

Follow Up By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:26

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:26
Thanks for the comments so far - all good suggestions.
I had not thought about lowering tyre pressure even thogh I do it on sand.
Yes Willem, I will want to get van down again for other trips and uses - maybe only a few times oer year though.
It would be great to concrete road but it is still council road to our front gate. I will be lobbying them to bitumen it but dont hold your breath.
GPM
FollowupID: 607992

Reply By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:29

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:29
just noticed there is an unsolicited caption under my photo. How did that get there. It was not put there by myself.
AnswerID: 340395

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:36

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:36
I don't see anything belpow your photo except 'Click Image to Enlarge'
FollowupID: 607993

Follow Up By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:41

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:41
On Mine it says: Australian Humour From The Past
FollowupID: 607995

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:47

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:47
Yeah, I saw that somewhere on the site tonight. David may be experiencing some gremlins as well as pest posters

FollowupID: 607999

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:51

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:51
Aha, got it now, lol.
Like Willem, I was looking underneath your rig picture not the one you refer to in your post.

Dennis

FollowupID: 608002

Reply By: kingswoodwagon - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:31

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:31
GPM,

Often a couple of grand spent on an old tractor is cheaper than improving/engineering access to the top of the hill.
Especially if its going to become a regular occurrence.

Have fun and dont break anything.

swampy

AnswerID: 340396

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:47

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:47
Great idea. Imagine what it would cost if you got draged backward and sideways down the hill?
Smash, thousands.
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

FollowupID: 607998

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 13:37

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 13:37
Thats what I was thinking....if your worried about it buy an old tractor,
FollowupID: 608120

Reply By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:33

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:33
G/Day mate, i would play it safe and have another tow vehicle,

without diff locks of any discription, i think you will run into trouble with traction at the front, If you have to stop half way up then thats when all hells gunna break loose...LOL.Not much fun hanging over a bank with a 3t load dangling behind!.

AnswerID: 340398

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 22:04

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 22:04
Hello Axle

One day, in another life, we were unhitching the 27footer in a caravanpark at a place called Daylesford. In a senior moment I forgot to chock the wheels of the van. There was a slight slope running for about 75 metres to a 25 metre drop off into a carpark below(didn't know that at the time). Caravan started waltzing down the slope at a leisurely pace. Grabbed hold of the hitch and jockey wheel and dug me heels in. Caravan dragged me along making nice furrows in the lawn with me boots. Yelling at wife to turn Cruiser around post haste and get the winch cable out. Cruiser was in low range as we had just come up a very steep hill to the park! Turned the old truck around but then said "Now what?"...in angst. Started giving orders looking in opposite direction on what to do. What seemed like eternity she eventually came running with the cable in hand and we secured the van. Whew!!!! Then the winch wouldn't work. Nevertheless, chocked the wheels, hitched up again and left the place. Went down to the Hot Spa to get over all of our dramas for the day...LOL

FollowupID: 608004

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 22:13

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 22:13
HAhahahaha!, You just have to get off your bum and write a book!!Lol.

,And i wan't the first copy.

FollowupID: 608009

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 07:29

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 07:29
If Willem wrote a book, it would put Goofy in 2nd spot after all these years
FollowupID: 608065

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 08:25

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 08:25
I still have to see you contribute anything of value to this forum, 96 GXL. Yer just a sad old bloke
FollowupID: 608076

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 10:39

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 10:39
I did similar with just a 6x4 box trailer.

As it rolled away I tried to stick my foot on the ball to slow it and got my leg stuck in the A frame as it headed down the hill.

Not a pleasant experience !

I went to the chemist to get some pain relief and some person asked if I wanted a bone density test to see if my bones were brittle.

I said "no I just took one thanks !"
FollowupID: 608105

Reply By: Member - George (WA) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:59

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 21:59
I have a similar problem to yours, about same slope but brick paved. Apart from tyre slip you may also be putting your auto gearbox or clutch under undue stress. A 3 tonne van is heavy. I solved my problem wit a good 240V 2 phase winch at the top of the driveway, works a treat. Use it to pull up and lower down. Wife works the winch stop/start button and I steer the jockey wheel. I can send you a photo with the set-up if you like. Not a cheap solution, around $3000 for winch and electrics, but certainly a safe one
AnswerID: 340404

Follow Up By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 22:06

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 22:06
I dont think the winch would work in my situation as there is a bend in the gravel road about half way up.
I like the idea of the tractor - as I need to get one anyway for slashing etc. So maybe I will wait til I get one and then use that. It will be a proper 4x4 tractor with front and rear diff locks as the property is steep and I dont want a tractor roll over.
Only problem is it is probably some months before I get a tractor.
Cheers All
GPM
FollowupID: 608006

Follow Up By: Harry - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 22:23

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 22:23
G'day,
4x4 tractor would be a safe option seeing how your thinking of getting one anyway and the slope is max. 15deg
Ave a good 1
Harry
FollowupID: 608012

Follow Up By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 22:41

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 22:41
How did you work it out to be 15 deg Harry. I reckon its more like 25 by my calculation
FollowupID: 608021

Follow Up By: Member - DickyBeach - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 04:09

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 04:09
Saharaman,
I agree with someone's query about 30 degrees, looks a lot less to me, do you have a schoolkid's protractor with which to measure the angle at the top of the power wires (which when you subtract from 90 will give the angle).

But, in any case as someone else commented, so what.

Years ago a lot of us were stuck down in the Snowys at the bottom of a very steep, VERY wet and slippery climb and we were extricated initially using the "slingshot" technique:

Two 4wds drove up the hill as far as they could, until stopped.

One of them then ran his winch cable out to maximum and connected that through a pulley anchored to a huge tree way up the hill. The other 4wd then reversed down the hill while the other drove and so one of the vehicles was moved further up the hill.

They repeated that 4-5 times until one of the 4wds was on the level and then, using everybody's snatchstraps & towropes linked together he "towed" the other up the hill.

Then the two of them, joined in tandem and anchored, progressively winched (using the joined tow-ropes) each of the rest of us (12-15) up the hill.

What's my point?

Somebody suggested a pulley (around a tree) and you winch the van up. A pulley halves the load, remember.

My long-winded twopennethworth.

DB

FollowupID: 608052

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 08:55

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 08:55
Reckon the slope is 23 deg.

Got your picture up on the screen and over 100mm, there is 30mm fall on the power lines. Giving a tan of 0.428, or 23 degrees.
However, if the picture is not square to the road, the slope would be less.

Agree with the tractor, or else winching up the van.

Do you get a chance to go over the hill a bit, and put the car at the top, long rope to the van and drive the car down the other side.
Snatch block at the corner in the road.
Thats if you can stop and block the van on the hill, and it would stay there.
FollowupID: 608080

Follow Up By: Harry - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 17:03

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 17:03
Easy, when you've been a surveyor for 35yrs.
FollowupID: 608149

Follow Up By: Harry - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 21:47

Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 21:47
Well Oldplodder, your reckoning is way out.
There are very few tracks or gradients that will go over 22deg.(and that is steep)
There are some exceptions and this aint one of them.
Just looking at the photo I reckoned it wasn't more than 15deg., so now I've measured it, turns out it is 15deg or pretty close, your 23 is off the mark even though you know what Tan , Sin and Cos are.
Go borrow a clinometer off your local surveyor and find out how to measure a slope and you will be surprised at the outcome.
Nothing is as steep as you might reckon but can be still difficult to drive.
No more comment will be entered into.
Ave a good 1, I am.
FollowupID: 608337

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 22:02

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 22:02
Hi Saharaman,

You know what I'd do?

I'd just plain tow the bloody thing up the hill.

Who cares if it's 29.27659093156 degrees, it's just a bloody gravel road!

If you are seriously concerned start the 20 year old Landcruiser off in 3rd or 4th in low range.

By the top you'll be using 4 letter words to describe the speed of travel and wondering why you didn't start in 4 High.

If you are really worried drop the tyre pressure to 25psi before you start.

AnswerID: 340405

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 22:26

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 22:26
Geoff,!! Now thats what causes grey hair...Lol.

Baldness is caused if you don't make it ..lol.

FollowupID: 608014

Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 18:38

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 18:38
It sounds like you have been there done that, exactly my thoughts too
Don't know about starting off in 3rd/4th LR but would be good to get there.
A 4WD has more grip on a hard surface than most 2WD Tractors.
It comes down to the amount of rubber in contact with the surface.
Don't apply to much throttle to cause wheel spin
Amazing what a good 4WD can do
Russ
FollowupID: 608173

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 23:50

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 23:50
Hi Russ
Fair call on the 3rd or 4th.

I was more trying to say that using a higher gear in low range was better than a low gear in high range. It's always easier to shift down a gear but stopping to shift down a range might cause some excitement!

Yep, you're right, been there done that.

I had a table top landcruiser years ago and the family had a block at the time that was somewhat vertical acres.

There was a long gravel road into the place or a short extremely steep right of way across the neighbours place.

The stuff I towed up and down that right of way would amaze and astound.

There was one key to it, I always made sure the back of the table top had a near capacity load to keep weight over the rear axle.

FollowupID: 608233

Reply By: Eric Experience - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 22:21

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 22:21
GPM.
The 3 ton is that the empty van weight?
Don't use a tractor unless the tractor weight is over 6 tons, the large wheels on a tractor make them more prone to rolling over backwards than a 4x4 with small wheels. Good luck. Eric.
AnswerID: 340409

Follow Up By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 22:44

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 22:44
Eric,
Im not sure how much the tractor weighs but it will be whats called a low profile tractor suitable for steep slopes with all 4 wheels the same size. It is rated at 45 degrees. I.e. it can transverse accross 45 degree slopes safely. Obviously it can go up and down even steeper ones.
GPM

FollowupID: 608022

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 23:03

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 23:03
Providing the tow point is attatached below the rear axle level eg, ( drawbar) Then there should not be a problem.

FollowupID: 608029

Follow Up By: Eric Experience - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 23:36

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 23:36
Gpm.
No rubber tyred vehicle can climb 45 Degrees, The coefficiency of friction of rubber on road is less than 1 you need more than 1 to climb 45 Degrees. The height of the hitch point on a tractor makes no difference to the stability , the diameter of the wheels is the limiting factor. Many good men have died on tractors because they thought like Axle. Eric
FollowupID: 608036

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 23:57

Thursday, Dec 18, 2008 at 23:57
Eric!, " The Height of a hitch point makes no difference to the stability of a tractor' And your worried about it flippingi over backwards????????. Your statement amazes me.!!.

FollowupID: 608039

Follow Up By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 00:15

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 00:15
According to my research there are 2 factors that determine a tractors stability on steep slopes - (1) Centre of gravity and (2) weight distribution. when a vertical line from the centre of gravity of a tractor comes outside the wheel track, the tractor rolls over. Therefore a low centre of gravity reduces the risk. Weight distribution is even more important - as it effects the oscillation mass. The front wheels of a conventional tractor can come off the ground if going up a steep slope or with a heavy implement attached. If this happens and a back wheel drops into a hole (even a small one) when the front wheels are off the ground, there is no resistance from them to the sideways rotational force imparted to the whole tractor and the tractor will rotate horizontally around the wheel in the hole. many farmers have been killed in such accidents - sometimes on a gentle slope but with too heavier an implement and a small drop of the rear wheel can roll it. The Mountain Tractor I am getting has 70% of its weight over the front axle (most conventional tractors have 50% or less). This minimises the possibility of an oscillation rollover. Eric, all I can say is the manufacturers rate the MT at 45% with lugged tyres.
GPM
FollowupID: 608042

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 13:45

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 13:45
Eric,
"No rubber tyred vehicle can climb 45 Degrees"
Hey?

We used to live on a very steep block and would drag all sorts of things up and down hills in an old trctor....just reverse up?
FollowupID: 608122

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 15:57

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 15:57
I must be a chicken!

I would not want to be on any sort of vehicle on a side slope of anywhere near 45 degrees................

FollowupID: 608140

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 16:17

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 16:17
Roachie,
Me either...on the side that is....
FollowupID: 608143

Follow Up By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 18:56

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 18:56
No one says you have to go on slopes like that - thats just the rating. All it means is at 45 degrees a straight vertical line from the centre of gravity is still inside the wheel track. i.e. all other things being equal this tractor will not roll if travelling sideways on a 45 degree slope.
GPM
FollowupID: 608176

Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 19:41

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 19:41
I don't know where you are coming from Eric
If the hitch point on a tractor is below and in front of the back axle a tractor will not rear over, for quite some decades now the centre of pull on tractors has been between front and back axles
Roll over different again, negotiate a sidling 40 or so degrees drop a down hill wheel into a hole and the angle can change dramaticly
If you have an implement hanging on the 3pt linkage leave it down or just off the ground, Balance.
Russ
FollowupID: 608193

Reply By: NigeB - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 00:08

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 00:08
Try tying helium filled balloons to the rear bumper of the van.
This will obviously decrease the weight from the van axles while transfering weight to the tow vehicles rear wheels thereby increasing traction. More balloons will assist with vertical motion whilst increased traction will assist with forward motion thereby facilitating your safe journey to te summit.!!!!
Now... what was that caption about Oz humour from earlier days?
Good luck!*@#?!
AnswerID: 340423

Follow Up By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 00:19

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 00:19
Refer to Reply 4
FollowupID: 608043

Follow Up By: NigeB - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 00:50

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 00:50
Okay...so the whole thing's not a joke.
I still reckon the balloons is worth a go !!!!
FollowupID: 608044

Reply By: Roughasguts - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 05:03

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 05:03
Hmmm I have driven lots of tractors up hill.
And towing an Air seeder up hill and the whole rig rolls back well that's no problem it digs in and you stop rolling.
But tractors have bad brakes especially in reverse! not to mention light steering! so maybe your better off with your 4x4. And that brings up your electric brake unit on the tug, and van do your brakes still work in reverse ? I know on my prodigy they do, but others may not. Check that you will need them more so in reverse!.

I imagine it could be like reversing your 3 ton boat down a boat ramp then trying to stop the tug on a slippery ramp! it ain't going to stop is it.

Good luck with it sounds like fun.
AnswerID: 340431

Follow Up By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 07:27

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 07:27
I would presume the electric brakes work in reverse. It has a breakaway system on it which would have to work forwrd or reverse I would hope. But I have never reversed anywhere steep where I had to use the brakes.
FollowupID: 608064

Reply By: Best Off Road - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 07:36

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 07:36
I really have no idea and would be too scared to try it myself.

Another alternative may be to find someone locally with a bus or truck and get them to tow it up.

Just a thought.

AnswerID: 340440

Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 09:42

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 09:42
I really like the idea of having another 4WD in front of you, to either hook up or winch you up or even to help you get back down again if things go pear shaped.

Willie.
AnswerID: 340461

Reply By: DIO - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 09:52

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 09:52
A 20 yr old Cruiser and a 3 ton van. To start with, sounds like the van is way too heavy for the vehicle in question ??
AnswerID: 340462

Follow Up By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 10:22

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 10:22
DIO,
Your inference is that the towing capacity of a vehicle is age related. As far as I know it is specified by the manufacturer and remains constant no matter the age of the vehicle. My van actually has an ATM of 2700kg but I rounded it up in case it was over this a bit with water left in tanks, solar panels and rear dual spare tyres etc. The vehicle is 20 years old but only done 170,000Km and the 12HT turbo diesel goes a charm.
Personally I do not see why its towing capacity would not be within specifiactions.
GPM
FollowupID: 608101

Reply By: flashwillie - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 10:16

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 10:16
i love things with tracks and blades like ,cat d4d would do ,you can get good old ones .fiat made a squat one around that size.
AnswerID: 340465

Follow Up By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 10:29

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 10:29
Yes that would be useful. Some of the property is too steep for even a 4x4 tractors such as down in the creek gullies and gorges. At a later date I may also get an old Fiat dozer or similar as I want to clean some of the lantana and undergrowth from some of these steep gullies and re plant with cabinet timber species.
But my first priority is for a good 4x4 tractor as it will be a lot quicker to travel around the usable areas with for slashing etc. I have many kilometres of private tracks to slash so I can drive around in my old Lcruiser. It is a 2 year project to clean up the property at least.
GPM
FollowupID: 608103

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 11:26

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 11:26
Saharaman,

Any chance that your local council could be going past, at a pre-determined date, with a grader???

Carton of the good stuff for a good bloke............

Just a thought.

Michael
FollowupID: 608108

Follow Up By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 19:07

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 19:07
Actually Michael the Council were out grading this section a few weeks ago but I did not know they were coming at the time. They sent out a single axle tip truck with a load of raod base and it could not get up the hill as it had rained a bit the night before. So the grader towed the tip truck up so they could work the new material on the way down. They probably wont be in the area again for awhile. But a good thought nevertheless.
GPM
FollowupID: 608179

Reply By: mick - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 10:38

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 10:38
Saharaman,

I am guessing that once you have "towed" the van up the hill you will be doing the same going down the hill.

That could cause more of an issue. Once gravity, momentum and all the other forces take over you will have no control

Good Luck

Mick
AnswerID: 340468

Follow Up By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 11:32

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 11:32
Yes Mick that will be another issue.
Actually Ive been more concerned thinking about coming back down then going up. Its a different matter with 3 tonnes pushing down on you and the weight of a 4x4 all up the front.
However by the time I want to bring it back down I probably will have a 4x4 tractor.
But a good comment nonetheless
GPM
FollowupID: 608110

Reply By: austastar - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 10:49

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 10:49
Don't let it be like this

AnswerID: 340471

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 14:47

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 14:47
Lower tyre pressures to 25psi for more traction, use 1st low range to be sure and as a backup if you have any doubt get anothe 4X4 to assist in front by coupling with a chain.
It will be the coming back down that may be a problem however if the brakes on the van are in good condition and work well, I see no real problem.
I have towed my van up steep slopes using the above method albeit without the second vehicle however my van is only 1.8t loaded.
Just do not attempt in wet conditions.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 340504

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 16:07

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 16:07
I agree with that suggestion.

When it comes time to bring it back down (if you haven't got a tractor by then), I would be using another 4x4 behind the van, tethered by a chain, to assist restrain the whole lot if need be.

In either case, I would allow the 60 series try to do the job alone, but have the chain hooked up (but slack....if that makes sense)
FollowupID: 608141

Follow Up By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 18:49

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 18:49
Thanks everyone for your responses. Some good suggestions there I had not thought of like letting tyres down. Never occurred to me to try that on a hard gravel road. Only ever done it in soft stuff.
Also Ozbocs suggestion has merit. Try towing another Lcruiser up in neutral first to see how that goes - if there is a problem we can disconnect chain and they can just proceed under their own power. But if I can tow a 2 tonne Lcruiser up with no problems there is hope for the van.
Also Dodgers and Roachies (and others above) suggestion about having a backup vehicle on standby makes good sense.
GPM
FollowupID: 608175

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 19:23

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 19:23
Just a thought You say your van has an ATM of 2700kg BUT may weigh more. If it does its illegal and may well invalidate your insurance should disaster befall you in this endeavour.

ATM includes everything and should not be exceeded.

Saw one the other day being pulled by a Prado which has a limit of 2500kg. This van would have weighed all of that standard and also had Checker plate tool boxes along both sides of the chassis. Would have been 500kg over I would think and as insurance companies are well aware of overloading they are weighing accident damaged vans more often now days.

Just something worth thinking about.

FollowupID: 608185

Reply By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 20:21

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 20:21
you don't say what type of cruiser you have.
I guess it is not a tray top, if it was I would drop a ton of something on the back, if not throw a few sacks of something in the back so the tow vehicle is heavier than the trailer.
Do not apply too much throttle to cause wheel spin but maintain enough for engine power.
My experience with 70 type Cruisers would be get up into 3rd Low range, keep a steady throttle and drive up the slope.
If bleep happens don't sit there with the foot on the brake pedal get into reverse quick and jack knife the trailer into the uphill side,
If you can't get it up the hill don't try to get it down
Once you have been there done that you will wonder what you worried about
Cheers and good luck
Russ
AnswerID: 340547