Inverter power drain

I have a 300w inverter (K Mart variety). Things electrical are certainly not high on my knowledge base! 2 questions:

1. If I run a 45 watt box fan off it how much will it suck out of the battery per hour? Trying to figure out if I can run it all night when camping and the weather warrants it.

2. If I run the fan through a timer switch when the fan cuts out the inverter would continue running (unless I get out of bed and manually switch it off of course). Are there any issues with leaving the inverter running for extended periods when it isn't actually powering anything?

Thanks from the Moose

Reply By: austastar - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 13:25

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 13:25
El Cheapo inverters can draw up to an Amp un loaded.
Your 45W fan will draw about 4 Amps at 12Volt.
Divide your Battery capacity in Amp Hours by the Amps drawn (say 5) and that is the time to FLATTEN the battery.
You NEVER want to go below 80% of the battery capacity or it will damage it.

Get a couple of 12 V computer fans and run them in parallel for full speed, and series for half speed. Quieter and efficient.
AnswerID: 340490

Follow Up By: Moose - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 13:34

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 13:34
Thanks austastar
I have a couple of old computer fans at home so I'll have a play and see if I can work out how to use them.
FollowupID: 608118

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 18:40

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 18:40
trouble with computer fans is they wont push nearly as much air as a 240v box fan does.

Also the box fans that have the revolving front are great for moving air to all corners.

I have a honda genny and ac in van, but only run it for a few hrs in late arvo.

Of an evening I run a small inverter (150w) on a box fan with a timer, I usually run it for about 5hrs 10pm to 3am, when it knocks off as its cool by then and everyone well asleep, the timer draws very little.

The following arvo when genny on I charge it up with a 25amp ctek charger for about 3hrs and it is right to go another night.

80% is a very safe margin, I always run mine down to 50-60% and have done for years with no ill effects.

Rgds

Ron
FollowupID: 608174

Reply By: anglepole - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 13:31

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 13:31
The current drawn from your battery drawing 240v/45watts fan, depending on the efficiency of the inverter would be 4-5 Amps (approx) This would be the approx power consumed by ONE headlight.

If you have a timer on the fan the inverter will continue to draw a small amount of power on idle certainly less than one amp.

I am unaware of problems leaving an inverter "unloaded" check with the info included with the unit

If the battery to be used is your "starting" battery I would not run the fan all night.

AnswerID: 340492

Follow Up By: Moose - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 13:35

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 13:35
Thanks anglepole
Would run off aux. battery so no worries there.
FollowupID: 608119

Reply By: ABR - SIDEWINDER - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 13:32

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 13:32
I have just done a test on the ABR 1000W inverter.

Switched on - No load 0.45A
Switched on - 50W Fan 3.1A

8 hrs @ 3.1A = Approx 25A / night. (If run without timer)

How do you plan to charge this the next day ?

Derek from ABR
AnswerID: 340493

Follow Up By: Moose - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 13:39

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 13:39
Thanks Derek
Will run off auxillary battery. As we only plan to camp for one night (2 max) per spot the battery will be recharged by driving the next day.
FollowupID: 608121

Follow Up By: redeye141 - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 19:06

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 19:06
Derick.

If it was a 50 w fan the maths do not add up.

P=ExI

p= 12 x 3.1A
p = 37.2 A.

Your fan must have been much lower load than anticipated.

I also have a major issue with you using amps used over a period instead of the industry standard of Amp/Hours. This is extremely unprofessional.

Redeye
FollowupID: 608178

Follow Up By: ABR - SIDEWINDER - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 19:15

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 19:15
Thanks for your concern.

I used an amp clamp meter not maths.

I try to explain things so the average person can understand, sorry if this upsets you.

NOTE: P=37.2W

Derek.
FollowupID: 608183

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 22:51

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 22:51
Redeye,

settle down a bit mate.......... Derek provides good info here mate..... dont up im.

I've bought from him and he is a reputable trader.

just look at all your facts n decide.

Talk about your specific needs..... and I'm sure it will be answered

rgds

Ron
FollowupID: 608224

Follow Up By: get outmore - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 08:05

Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 08:05
LOL this must be a 12 volt thread with all the agro

only thing ill say is I seem to run my 700cca cranking battery too flat to start the diesal in only a matter of a few hours with a dick smith 300 watt inverter running only a computer watching DVDs

this was acertained using no maths or amp meters
FollowupID: 608244

Follow Up By: ABR - SIDEWINDER - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 09:29

Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 09:29
Hi get outmore

Replace your battery soon. It is not holding charge.

Derek.
FollowupID: 608252

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ (wa) - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 09:39

Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 09:39
Try using an AGM Deep CYCLE battery instead of a CRANKING battery

You will see the difference in battery performance in first night

Mainey . . .
FollowupID: 608254

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 14:07

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 14:07
Also be aware that the inverter should be able to breath a little :))
They can get a little warm so find a nice spot where it will not get any camping junk placed on top of it.

AnswerID: 340499

Follow Up By: Moose - Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 14:20

Friday, Dec 19, 2008 at 14:20
No worries on that count Kiwi Kia - it's mounted on the cargo barrier with plenty of breathing space all around it.
FollowupID: 608127