Engine saver (water) alarm kit.

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 00:36
ThreadID: 64418 Views:6146 Replies:9 FollowUps:6
Why aren't these standard kit in all new vehicles?
I recently posted that this unit had failed after a couple of years in our ute.
The alarm itself still worked, but the " self-check" system went awol.
Yes, David posted the replacement in a "24 hr bag".
It arrived a day late:( the joys of isolated living, eh. Hahaha. as if. We're less than an hour out of Bundaberg. Sheesh!)
All is good again.

Fair dinkum , if you don't have one of these fitted, then you shouldn't drive off sealed roads. I've cooked one engine - busted hose eh. (Isuzu, so minimal damage: cracked head, scored cylinders - still running in the local area to this day).

With this cheap little sensor fitted, I know that a burst hose, or a stick through the radiator, will signal immediately.

So does this sound like an ad?
You bet. Best insurance bucks you'll ever spend.
Jeff H.

Reply By: Member - Malcolm C (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 02:13

Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 02:13
Totally agree with Jeff.

Do I have one fitted? No. Why not? Too lazy I suppose. Or, I'll get around to it one day. Weak excuses I know. .

About 10 year ago, I had a driver take a Toyota Commuter (mini bus) to Charters Towers. Along the way he managed to get a stick in the radiator and lost all the water. He just kept driving until there was that much smoke in the cabin he thought he should pull over and investigate. Rang me on the mobile and said the vehicle's got no power. He'd cooked the engine without even knowing it. He also cooked his job.

As a side note the insurance company actually covered the claim to rebuild the diesel engine.

Malcolm
Townsville
living the 'good life'

AnswerID: 340584

Reply By: Patrol22 - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 06:58

Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 06:58
Jeff - can you please post a link so I can read more about these gizmos?
AnswerID: 340588

Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 07:43

Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 07:43
Do a search on this site as they advertise here.
FollowupID: 608241

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 08:19

Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 08:19
Here: Engine Saver

FollowupID: 608245

Reply By: Peter 2 - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 07:11

Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 07:11
Having had two Toyota's suffer total coolant loss, the first a HJ47 when the bung fell out of the bottom of the radiator and the second a 1HZ powered Coaster when the radiator split.
You get absolutely NO indication from the temp gauge/sender/warning light as Toyota senders need coolant around them to indicate the temp.
No coolant, no temp indication.
Both times it was the smoke and lack of power that indicated there was a problem.
The engine saver is a good idea and yes I have one fitted to the Humvee. Lots of vehicles do have a similar thing fitted as standard.
The other thing that can be fitted is an TM2 Engine Watchdog.
Again Aussie made and probably easier to fit for most people as it only needs to be bolted to the part that you wish to monitor.
It can be used to read the temp of anything, engine, radiator, transmission, transfer case, diffs, the list is endless.
website is herehttp://www.sig.itel.net/
AnswerID: 340590

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 08:28

Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 08:28
Hi Peter,
I was talking to David from Engine Saver during the week and he mentioned a new kit he will shortly have available that combines his low water alarm with a block temperature sensor to give what he believes the most comprehensive coverage available.

He made some great points on block temperature sensing alone. One that stuck with me was the case of a vehicle losing all coolant whilst parked overnight.

He pointed out by the time the block in this scenario got to 120deg, the accepted alarm point it would be buggered already but the low coolant sensor would have already done its job.

David also mentioned that he is going to do a retrofit kit for the older coolant only sensors for people who want to upgrade to both low coolant and block temperature sensing.

We didn't discuss cost for any of the above.

FollowupID: 608246

Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 08:39

Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 08:39
BTDT
Woke up one morning in the swag beside the truck, looked underneath it and noticed a spot of green on the spring and a large wet patch on the ground. Was very cold and the rad bottom outlet had shrunk to the stage where it let about half the coolant out overnight.
I've also had the heater leak onto the floor in the cruiser in really low overnight temps when the brass pipes shrink enough to loosen the hoses.
Had it happen on a brand new 4wd hilux years ago in the Brindabellas in the middle of winter, drained all the coolant onto the floor!
FollowupID: 608247

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 07:13

Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 07:13
Hi Jeff, Ive got into a habit of eyeing my gauges every couple of minutes.

Got caught out once, all appeared ok but had that warm smell in the cab. Stopped to check and found a bypass hose perished under the hose clip.
Thankfully the radiator had only lost half its coolant, no damage done.

Theres a myriad of gadgets and gissmos out there some just gimmicks, but Im not going anywhere till I get one of these.

Cheers.....Lionel.
AnswerID: 340591

Reply By: The Landy - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 07:31

Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 07:31
Have them fitted to my Landys'....good investment in time and mony.
AnswerID: 340592

Reply By: Malleerv - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 07:35

Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 07:35
Most people say "I watch the gauges all the time, why do I need a water level alarm?" but what they don't realize is that once the water level has dropped below the temperature sensor in the engine the sensor will stop working and sometimes the gauge just sits on "Normal" while in fact the engine is starting to boil. This can happen in a few minutes.

AnswerID: 340593

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 08:08

Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 08:08
Hi Jeff,
I've got to agree with you.

Many years ago I cost GMH a brand new V6 engine in a 6 month old Commodore.

I was heading north west on the New England Highway at the regular 100km/h when all the dash lights came on and the fire went out.

Coasted to the side of the road and lifted the bonnet to find one of the heater hoses had popped off the block.

Rang the NRMA and he wandered out with a tow truck. After giving the engine a crank, at this stage it had cooled enough to just turn over he pronounced it dead.

Apparently when the local GMH dealer took the alloy heads off they were purple and shaped like banana's!

To this day that temperature gauge hasn't moved in any direction. The mechanic later mentioned as Peter I think said above the gauge can actually go down when the coolant disappears!

Yesterday afternoon the crew I work with and I had lunch in one of the cafe's overlooking Newcastle Beach when a rather sickly Commodore pulled up out the front.

Next came the NRMA ute. The NRMA bloke put I reckon the best part of 10 litres of water from what looked like 2 x 5litre containers.

Then came the NRMA flatbed. Can you sing "Another one bites the Dust" ??

Having said all that the driver has to know what the alarm means for it to be useful!

My mates fathers mate (We'll call him Fred) had one of those front engined V8 water cooled Porsche.

Being a German car they are very thorough in their engineering and had included a low coolant alarm.

So the Porsche was wandering along the road one day with Fred at the wheel when the "Check Coolant" light comes on.

So Fred being as mechanically challenged as what he is thinks for a second or two then turns the air conditoning on and keeps driving!

He never ever has or will tell us how much that exercise cost!

AnswerID: 340595

Reply By: Member - Alex B - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 08:39

Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 08:39
HI All,
I'm another "fan & Promoter".
I cooked a motor in a Pajaro years ago coming down the New England Hwy at around 2am. ALl seemed normal until the oil pressure dropped. I pull over to find the motor dead dry and crackling like a old campfire.

The Engine Saver gives me great piece of mind and David's service is excellent.

Wishing you all a great Christmas & brilliant New Year.
Alex B
AnswerID: 340596

Follow Up By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 18:02

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 18:02
Same in my 91 Paj. It smelt hot so we stopped and there was no green juice - the water pump had let go.

We had the pump repaired but the heads let go about 6 months later - probably related.

Pete
FollowupID: 608795

Reply By: Member - Ian F (WA) - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 15:29

Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 15:29
I have one ( good Value)
But have you heard this one . Work has quite a number of vehicles with a similar unit installed. A couple of years ago a certain person was coming home from a mine site,rang the workshop mechanic saying the engine stopped, yes cost an engine. He was asked did the beeper sound? His answer "yes but it gave him the bleep s so he plugged the beeper with an ear plug!!!!!!!!!!!!" what can I say?
AnswerID: 340628

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 22:50

Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 22:50
What can I say??? hahaha

For blokes like that, they should fit the buzzer to a kill switch, so if the buzzer goes off, the engine stops......too easy......
FollowupID: 608361