Smash and grab
Submitted: Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 13:29
Kim and Damn Dog
Do any of you know where I can get a self adhesive label that states ‘No valuables in this car’?
I appreciate that many of the bad guys can’t read, but anything is better than nothing.
A mate’s wife had the window of her car smashed yesterday.
They don’t leave valuables in the car, but now have to replace the glass. I’ve done a Google search, but can’t find a generic label.
Kim
Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 13:36
Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 13:36
Gday Kim,
Up here they smash your window for half a pack of smokes!
I dont think valuables is the right word.
But....If your serious, you can buy sticker paper you can run through your printer and make them yourself.
Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 13:51
Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 13:51
Gidday Hairy
How does that work? Never heard of it.
Bit more detail would help me along the way.
Kim
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 13:59
Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 13:59
You can buy special paper like you do for bisness cards, Photograpic paper, post cards etc. but it is meant for making stickers ( gloss one side with adhesive on the other and a peel off back)
You just write whatever you want in word ( probably templates) and put the sticker paper in your printer and print away.
Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 14:27
Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 14:27
Hey Kim,
A newsagent should have ... or can order A4 sheets of precut stickers ... not all printers are happy rolling the extra thickness through their innards though ....... Officeworks and other stationary suppliers usually have plenty in stock.
Best deterrent is a hand scribbled note ... using whatever words you think appropriate ... and hang it off the open glovebox ... dont forget to leave your console & ashtray open as
well .... fella out this way has hundereds of dollars of vehicle damage .... and all that got taken was the ashtray and 5cent pieces .... Obviously they were too dumb too realise the value of the gear on the back
seat.
Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 16:43
Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 16:43
Thanks Hairy and OzTroopy
I'll pass this information on to the family. Their a bit peaved at the moment because it's delayed their holiday by a couple of days.
Kim
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 02:40
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 02:40
Were are they?
Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 18:50
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 18:50
Melbourne.
Kim
Reply By: Flywest - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 14:01
Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 14:01
You need one that says
"This vehicle fitted with a break glass detector, wired to an electric detonator inside 47 sticks of dynamite - if you want to smash a window to steal something - knock yourselves out - the vehicles insured for 2 x it's value, at least I get a new truck & the world gets rid of one more scum sucking theif".
That oughtta do it! ;o)
Ohh - the break glass detectors are only about $27 at tricky dickys.......the electric dets and gelignite are cheap too if you know anyone with a shotfirers permit. ;o)
I'll KNOW for sure if anyone breaks my window - I have acute hearing - yeah I can hear 47 sticks going off from a good ways away from where I parked! LOL
Strange my broken windows ceased....course I leave a few old dets & nobels gelignite wrapper laying on the dash and seats just so they KNOW it might not be a joke!
Mans gotta do what a mans gotta do in todays world. ;o)
Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 19:50
Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 19:50
"course I leave a few old dets & nobels gelignite wrapper laying on the dash "
- if you tried that in NSW, you'd end up in court in a few days.
Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 15:05
Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 15:05
gdat all
this will deter the mongrels.................Image Could Not Be Found
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 15:10
Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 15:10
................or even ol' faithful does
well too!!Image Could Not Be Found
Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 17:46
Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 17:46
When I was at teacher's college one of the
young blokes with a holde ute thought he would get a python and leave it in the front to deter theft.
He expected it to spend the day wrapped around his steering wheel. Instead it worked its way through the innards of the dashboard.
Died there! ... Maggots dropping for weeks.
PS.... he never became a teacher!
Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 16:38
Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 16:38
Kim,
the Victorian coppers have run a few crime prevention initiatives. There was one called Look, lock, leave or something similar a few years back and it related to car theft and theft of stuff from cars. They had all manner of stickers for them. Why don't you give a cop
shop a ring or even your local neighbourhood watch mob.
Follow Up By: DIO - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 17:30
Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 17:30
Neighbour Hood Watch Groups are a reliable source as are many Public Hospitals, Shopping Centres (
places with large public accessible car-parks) and Auto Clubs. Try you local
Police Station too, as they might also have some available. Other option is to simply print your own on thick paper or med weight cardboard.
Reply By: Member - Royce- Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 17:44
Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 17:44
I don't need a label. None of my vehicles look as though they could possibly have anything of value in them!
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 19:42
Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 19:42
Royce, that's when they pinch the vehicle to joyride in !
Had it happen to me, nothing of value in car, looked crappy and was. It was so crappy it wasn't even insured. But it was my crappy....until one windy night two kids stole it.
Follow Up By: get outmore - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 12:01
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 12:01
dont think that will stop them.
i used to live in a caravan and bought the oldest crapist VCR player i could find
so no one would steal it
-
well out of date, no remote, door with buttons behind it busted off etc
the 2nd hand
shop was emabarressed to take money for it
..................... It got stolen
Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 12:07
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 12:07
My old mower died, so I sat it out on the front verge, hoping someone would 'steal it'. After two months, brought it back in.
A week later I put it out with a hard rubbish pile. Gone within the hour.
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 20:14
Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 20:14
Hers a better suggestion Spend $99 and get some DATADOTS
from www.datadotdna.com
These are sprayed on your possesions and u get labels of various sizes for car windows and individual items saying item is identifiable by police.
Have done all my stuff and put stickers on them and the car windows. Also tinted all windows so they cant see whats in there anyway.
Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 20:30
Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 20:30
I had a $1500 dollar
test meter stolen from a soft top ( my fault - forgot to take it out ) Was the only time I lost anything out of it ... coz it was raining and had all the roof on.
Supplied the local police with
home contact #s / item serial numbers / picture .... 2yrs later when back in the area, a bloke showed me this u-beaut thing he bought at a police auction ..... Guess what the only colour of the spectrum I saw was, for the next few days.
Better off to engrave items - at least the sods can see the markings ... most of them dont understand hi tech microdots - and the items have to be recovered and then hi tech identified.
Just my opinion ... but if they cant see in because of heavy tinting ... that means you hiding something ..... so a smashed window anyway ... just for a look.
Follow Up By: get outmore - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 12:07
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 12:07
Dont believe that about tinted windows.
same as they tell you high fences just act as a sheild for them to do as they like. its not true
better of keeping stuff out of site
i used to have a 3ft fence along my back yard (corner block)
first thing that happened when i moved in was my bike and other stuff got flogged.
after that i started leaving little stuff out to see how often people were in my back yard
50c
a packet of slugs with about 10 left in etc etc
the pricks were darn near living in my back yard with the stuff dissapearing nearly straight away
i put up a higher fence and bingo not another problem
Reply By: landed eagle - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 09:48
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 09:48
I heard an article on the radio the other day that thieves were targetting cars with GPS in them. Even if the unit isn't on display,the tell-tale ring where the adhesive sucker on the windscreen is, is enough for the low-life scum to trash your vehicle in the hope that the GPS is in the glovebox.
I'd sooner put my ph no. on the car and say 'call me before you smash the window,I'll sling you $50 bucks and hope you buy some bad drugs'