Submitted: Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 13:58
brendood
G'day Ladies & Gentlemen,
I know the Diesel/gas/petrol argument has been done to death, so I am not going there.
My question is, is there anyone currently travelling on dual fuel (gas/petrol) around oz that can advise me on wether it is viable.
I have a 100 series gas/petrol and will be towing a 20 foot van.
We want to do a Simpson crossing and go all over the country (yes I will be carrying extra fuel).
I like the power of the big (thirsty) 6 and it is economical on gas when not towing, so I want to keep her, but I am leaning towards a turbo diesel.
I dont want to get into the "diesel is better" argument, just want to hear from dual fuel travellers that can give me good advice.
Thankyou in advance and safe travells.
Brendan...
Reply By: Wherehegon - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 14:15
Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 14:15
Turbo diesel only way to go I reckon. There are some comunity's where your not allowed to even enter with a petrol vehicle. Towing a 20 foot van wow you will be sucking it big time. I presume you have towed previously with the van behind the petrol cruiser so would know its useage, Im guessing some where around the 25L per 100 more on gas unless injected not venturi system. My uncles old 80 series 4.5L six use to use around the 25 per 100 on average he now owns a 100 series turbo diesel. Not getting into a debate but you did mention "but Im leaning towards turbo diesel" and you have mentioned you want to go all over the country. Buy yourself another 100 series but turbo diesel, transfer all the goodies from the petrol over and wont look back. WHG
Reply By: Member - DOZER- Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 14:16
Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 14:16
Brendan
You could go across the simpson with a petrol gas, but you would need to fill up with gas and keep it as backup as you ran fuel, as ULP is all you will get out there...presuming you arnt taking caravan across, you should be looking at doing a worst scenario of 30l/100 and do calcs from there....i see no reason why you couldnt make it all over australia with your chosen setup....as long as it doesnt rain too hard that is...
Reply By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 19:37
Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 19:37
Hi Brendan
It only takes a little forward planning.
The one thing with LPG it is not to cheap in the bush
And not reliable pump out of order or something stupid.
What i do when we are going to remote
places
keep the LPG for reserve and carry extra jerry cans
And when you now where the next LPG is available
with in range,about 400klm for me switch to LPG
I did the
Simpson Desert last year without any problem.
Rob
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 00:28
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 00:28
Rob,
The number of times the gas outlets at servos DID NOT work far out numbered the times they did. (Recent tour of WA mining areas - not all that remote eh.)
We run diesel/gas, so just a PITA, not a major hassle.
Watch'em mate, watchem.
Jeff.
Follow Up By: Steve - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 12:41
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 12:41
I couldn't get lpg between
Cunnamulla and
Blackall last time I was out there. There were three servos that did LPG but none had it on. The one that did (
Augathella) have it, said "sorry, the pump's not working"
Reply By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 06:32
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 06:32
No Problems Brendon
We have been most of the regular runs with a Petrol/Gas car including crossing the Simpson .
130lt gas, 140lt petrol in
tank
Car set up for 1000km range and so can do most things.
Just consider the gas as if it were a big jerry can and plan with that its range in mind.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 22:14
Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 22:14
Onya Robin.
All good.
jh.