shockers for patrol
Submitted: Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 18:51
Member - shane (SA)
As above, need to change front shockers on the GU patrol. what im thinking is Monroe gas 4x4 shocks at $195.00 a pair, or OME at $255.00 each, tough dog $275.00 each. so just on two a bit Monroe for the price of the others. I have had OME before and didn't think they were that great.
I don't do that much off road stuff mainly towing.
whats peoples suggestions?
shane.
Reply By: Foxhound (WA) - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 19:21
Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 19:21
For what your doing I would say the Monroe gas would be just fine, you won`t get any more benefit for the extra money.
Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 19:32
Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 19:32
Monroe have been doing what they do for a very long time...
This suggests to me that they must be pretty good at what they do, otherwise they would not have survived...
At the prices quoted, they would have to be a hands-down winner in the value-for-money stakes..
| Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"Member My Profile Send Message |
Reply By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 19:41
Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 19:41
how many brands on the market?? I reckon you'll get just as many replies. For the record I am happy with my Tough Dog foam cells at $165 per shockie
Cheers Stefan
Reply By: Member - shane (SA) - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 20:29
Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 20:29
thanks for that, I know everyone has their own choice for what ever but i have had OME before as said. when i tried to claim for one leaking i got all the excuses under the sun why it was not their problem. Had Monroe before also and never had any problems with warranties. Have pedders on the van and in ten thousand km have had them replaced twice. so a think if i need to replace the Monroe's, i can do it twice and am still ahead.
Shane.
Follow Up By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 21:31
Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 21:31
No matter what you buy mate, there will always be someone who will come along and tell you "ohh they're bleep , you shoulda bought xxxx"... Just go with whatever you feel or can afford... The old man runs EFS in his GU ute, my older brother runs Pedders foam cells in his GU wagon, my other brother runs Tough Dogs (i think), and another brother runs Dobsons & i run Tough Dogs... I've been in all their vehicles & personally, i think they all ride the same...
Cheers, Brad
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 22:20
Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 22:20
Konis.. best on the market.
Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 22:43
Saturday, Dec 20, 2008 at 22:43
Shane,
I had the OME nitro's on my GU. I did a lot of looking and asking. Everyone raves about the big
bore Koni's and they're probably right but the price! Frightening! I ended up getting a reasonably prices set of big
bore hydraulic shocks marketted by a local 4x4 store in eastern
Melbourne. They were about 250 the pair fitted. They've done really
well so far but as most serious travellers will tell you, shockers of any description have a life of 2 years anyway, particularly if you're doing a lot of dirt roads and outback travelling. With that in mind, go the munroes.
Cheers. Mick
Reply By: bushtucker - Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 09:03
Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 09:03
Hi guys
Have you looked at rancho 5000 great shocks and a good price
$140 a shock.
You can get them from 4wd1.