Are we there yet ?
Submitted: Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 10:55
Member - Footloose
Only 5 more weeks and I'll be off to the Land of the Long White Cloud. As usual I'll be on my Pat Malone...
well somebody has to stay at home and work !
2 weeks of a very different kind of 4wding on the South Island, a gift from the tag along tour operator, a mate of
mine that came over here for peek last year.
Now I haven't been o/s since 1978, so it will all be a bit new for me.(OK it's only NZ but it's a giant step for me. The rest of the family will hop onto an aluminium tube and zap off to Europe at any time, but me? I like terra firma...more firma less terror.) Customs, Immigration, check ins and check outs...all will be quite new to me. Sitting in a cramped
seat next to some stranger for 4 hours wont my idea of fun, either. With my luck, it will be mutton dressed up as lamb,with an iPod.
I've got my language translation book ready, and have seen the utube clips. The mate rekkons we shouldn't strike too much snow in February, but it does happen. So I guess it will be all mud and snow and up and down and around the mountains to get to the lakes. We're not even going near to anywhere that's a tourist stop!
As opposed to 1000km a day transit legs and flat, sandy desert country.
I'm told the temperatures might be a bit different also (great place, pity about the weather?:)
I suppose it's about time I did it. I'm getting sick of waiting for the road to be built.
No sheep jokes, please ! There are more sheep in Australia than NZ I'm told :))
Reply By: darrell.QLD - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 11:01
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 11:01
Someone once told me that sheep graze at 60kph over there..
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 11:03
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 11:03
Maybe you should visit and check it out ? :)))
Reply By: troopyman - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 11:12
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 11:12
Will you be driving up that track that goes beside the tasman glacier . Spectacular scenery everywhere you go .
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 13:20
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 13:20
I suspect so :((
Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 11:27
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 11:27
Hey Footy,
Be ready for a 'Culture Shock'.....NZ has some.....hahaha.
Cheers.....Lionel.
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 13:21
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 13:21
Lionel, yes met a couple of em over here :)) Mate is different, he's a Kiwi Kiwi LOL
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 13:24
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 13:24
Oops, blasted reading glasses. I meant to say he's a Kiwi's Kiwi.
Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 11:48
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 11:48
Footy,
This may help,
How to speak New Zillund
A is for Arm Uttered when thinking
B is for Bull What you're charged for a meal
C is for Cuds Children
D is for Donut Long version of don't
E is for Ear What we breathe
F is for Fush Sea creatures
G is for Guess Used for heating or cooking
H is for Hull Land that isn't flat
I is for Ice cream What I do when the All Blacks lose
J is for Jug Type of Irish dance
K is for Ken's Popular holiday city in Queensland
L is for lust Something you write before going shopping
M is for Milburn Capital of Victoria
N is for Nutter To have a yarn
O is for One doze A pane of glass in a wall
P is for Pigs Found on a clothes line
Q is for Quad Slang term for a British Pound Note
R is for Rung Piece of jewellery
S is for Sucks The number after five
T i for Tin The number after nine
U is for Undies West Undies good cricket team
V is for Volley Area between two hulls
W is for Windy A girls name
X is for Xylophone It's the same in any langwudge
Y is for Yuppie An expression of delight
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 12:44
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 12:44
i thought 6 was pronounced sex..it was when I was over there...or were they asking me sumthin...lol?
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 13:16
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 13:16
Very god Wayne... LoL
Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 21:15
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 21:15
Gidday Wayne
You forgot
C for Crap
K for Krap
W for W - - - --r
Summing up the post
Might see you up here in the real world some time.
All done in the best of humour
To be a Kiwl and be a member of this siite you need a sense of himour and at times a thck skin as
well.
Is this getting off topic?
Russ
Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 12:12
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 12:12
Have a good trip Footy. Say hi to Artie for me.
Louie
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 13:22
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 13:22
Thanks. But not sure who Artie is ?
Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 22:16
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 22:16
You know, when the Kiwi rugby team do their pre game thingo - Haka or whatever it is called. The thing there they hold their hands out in front, thrust their pelvis forward and yell "come Artie come Atrie'. I just figured there was a famous sheep somewhere in NZ named Artie. (I know, you said no sheep jokes but I couldn't resist that one).
Louie
Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 23:08
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 23:08
You can talk sport any time you like
Rugby
League
Netball
Olympic games
Whatever
More people live (if that what it is is?) in any one Oz city than all of NZ and may you stay there, it has been getting a bit crowded over here lately,
That is why I am going Outback again, might see you out there somewhere.
Russ
Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 15:19
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 15:19
Footy,
I am going to Nuzilund in Feb, but only to the North Island and no 4wd work.
Just eatin, drinkin and lookin around. Maybe catch a trout if I'm lucky.
Have a great time and don't discuss sport, if you want to make friends.
Willie.
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 15:25
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 15:25
Willie, great. Hope you have a nice trip. If I can get close to an Internet cafe I might even
check out EO :))
Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 16:01
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 16:01
Hi Footy, I was in your mates backyard driving through the old gold miners tunnels a couple of weeks ago and the stream bed is getting a bit rugged so you will love it. There is still plenty of snow on the mountains. Pouring with rain and only 13 degrees yesterday so make sure you bring a bit of wool to wear and a raincoat :-)).
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 16:52
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 16:52
Funny thing, that. Every time I mention the weather he tells me it's blue sky and the sun is shining :)) The bad weather is always just up or down the coast etc .
Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 20:51
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 20:51
Footy,
check my profile photos, you will be visiting the tunnels and several of the barren mountain tops including the zig-zag. Maybe you should also pack an oxygen bottle, not many Ozzies get to drive up to that altitude :-)), on a real nice day you can almost see Sidnee. There is a little snow in one of the pics and there was snow falling there a few hours later and next morning. The motel (Waiorau Snow
Farm) is just over the top about 4 km further on and that photo was taken first week in February.
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 08:38
Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 08:38
Oxygen bottle ? Oh dear, he didn't tell me about that :))
Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 16:53
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 16:53
More sheep in Australia than NZ ?? there,s more bleedng Kiwis in Australia than in NZ ,,, have a goodun.
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 16:56
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 16:56
I tried telling my mate that but he's not having any of it. Obviously he never bought anything or got a tradie out while he was here :))
Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 20:47
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 20:47
Footy
If you get the chance, ask your mate to take you into the lower foot hills of Mt Aspiring.
We climbed up there together in my youth, and on one occasion met up with Hillary.
It’s God’s country and you won’t be disappointed. Have a good trip.
Kim
Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 20:56
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 20:56
Hi Kim, Their trip will have them driving up on to the top of one of the ranges in the Cadrona Valley behind Wanaka and they will be looking across to the Cadrona ski field and Mt Aspiring (if it isn't snowing :-)).
Check some of the photos in my profile.
Follow Up By: troopyman - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 21:58
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 21:58
Some clown directed me from wanaka to
queenstown and drawed a mudmap . I think i was half a mile from the sun .
Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 22:48
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 22:48
Kiwi
I know the area very
well and stayed at Wanaka many times. Looking over the
lake in the evening was a great pleasure.
I think the Cadrona area will look a bit barren during that time, but it's still magnificant country.
Kim
Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 22:08
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 22:08
Buy yourself a pair of possum socks,they are great,nice and soft and warm around the house !
Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 22:32
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 22:32
I 'spose you will come back to EO as Futty? Hahahahahaha
Hope you have a good holiday. Its a great place.
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 08:41
Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 08:41
hahaha...very clever Willum LOL
Reply By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 22:43
Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 22:43
Hi Footy.
How far up in the South do your plans take you.
Will you make South of
Queenstown, ie Southern Scenic Route.
Are you in a 4WD.
I can sort and organise a trip or two, I guess as usual time will be a factor. The Nevis Valley is a great run, need at least a day to have a good look from
Queenstown, I could arrange to stay in an old stone hut and perhaps get access to a Station track that almost goes to the top of the Remarkables on the side that the Loopy's ,sorry tourists don't see.. The Cardrona Crown Range Road is all sealed, went through there last year with the F250 and the 5th wheeler it goes up and down. Good views though.
I would be happy to guide in Feb. a run would be great. Can talk to a few mates and get to a few
places the average tourists don't get to see in Central and South Coast
Don't worry about the
weather it happens and you can't change it from happening, snow in Feb not often below 3000 metres, that is where people die climbing Aoraki well over 100 people have died doing that probably more Ozys have died there than Kiwis have in the Outback .Gods Own is a long skinny land Aotearoa (Land of the Long White Cloud) and the
weather can change quite fast.
Aside from that I will be in
Brisbane on the 26 May a daughter is going to be working at the Institute of Sport in
Canberra
I have a bit of time to get there before the July school holidays so my plans are Simpson Tanami
Wyndham, and Tallawnii or Gunbarrell perhaps. See how it goes allowing for
weather, stray sheep, Roos etc...... LOL
If I don't catch up with you here might catch up over there.
Check my profile and get in touch.
Russ