Hema Navigator?????

I will be buying a GPS after Chrissy to use during our 09 Lap.

I really don't know a lot about em but quite liked the Magellan Explorist XL. It seemed to tick all the boxes in terms of robustness, pc connectivity, it's water proof and you can use it hand held.

I got talking to a fella tother day who was raving about his Hema Navigator and just how easy it was to use together with it's accuracy.. This ol'mate reckons he had a Magellan Crossover but this thing is streets ahead.

Now, I know the Navigator is not the same thing as an XL. I know it’s more a vehicle based gizmo that you can use out west as well as around town (I have no interest in a street nav unit) but this fella reckons he used it during his last outback journey which included an east and west crossing of the Simpson plus some off the track excursions. In all areas the unit told him exactly where he was to the extent that he could even see the ends of dunes that he needed to get around.

So, what’s the word? Are they all that or is ol’mate just easily impressed??

I still like the XL coz I will use it on my bike when I get back but if this thing is that much easier to use on this big trip I’d be keen to give it a go.

Reply By: Member - Scooby (WA) - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 18:02

Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 18:02
Hi Joff1,
I am very impressed with my Hema Navigator, very user friendly. I am running 50,000 :1 maps of SW West Australia and 250,000:1 raster maps of WA loaded on a 8GB SD card and cannot fault it. I am familiar with Ozi Explorer so I suppose that helps. Previous to the Hema I had a HP Ipaq which was always crashing.
One thing I have noticed with the Hema is the batteries will run down when it is switched off. According to the Hema help line this is normal. I charge mine from my computers USB port once a week when not being used on the road.
Scooby
AnswerID: 340800

Follow Up By: joff1 - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 18:29

Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 18:29
Thanks Scooby. Am I correct in sauing that when it's in the car it is being constantly charged. The problem you have had is only when it's being stored??
FollowupID: 608436

Follow Up By: Member - Scooby (WA) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 10:28

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 10:28
Yes joff 1 you are correct, when in the car it is being charged. My cigarette lighter plug is wired to be on all the time so that when I turn the engine off the navigator is still running off the car. When on a trip I often leave the Navigator on all night as it draws so little power and allows a quick startup in the morning as it is already locked onto satellites.
Scooby
FollowupID: 608508

Follow Up By: JohnnyC - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 03:26

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 03:26
Gday Joff1,
I have one of those Hema navigators, have not used it a lot but it seems pretty good, also good with street nav.
I believe that if you just switch it off it hibernates, and can quickly restart, but uses the battery, if you are storing it shut down the application first the same as you would a laptop.
FollowupID: 608649

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 18:17

Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 18:17
joff1
If that is all you want it for, have you considered the 8.9"small laptops, half the price. Install OziExplorer and the Natmap 2008 series of maps and will have the same features, bigger screen and change in your pocket.
They are many brands on the market. Load up your word and excel and you can do your report while in the bush.

Cheers and Seasons Greetings

Who has been here

AnswerID: 340801

Follow Up By: joff1 - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 18:28

Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 18:28
HUH?

Seems I need to do some googling LOL
FollowupID: 608434

Follow Up By: Warstar - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 19:00

Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 19:00
How does the computer locate you???
FollowupID: 608442

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 19:09

Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 19:09
Hi Warstar
You connect the laptop via a GPS or GPS Mouse. The hole package even if you started from scratch, is well under the $999 asking price for the Navigator and will let you do far more tasks.

Cheers and Seasons Greetings

Who has been here

FollowupID: 608443

Reply By: wombat1 - Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 21:47

Sunday, Dec 21, 2008 at 21:47
My test for technology is how far can i get without reading the manual. My Navigator passed the test. Its worth trying the guys at Go bush camping in Lara for these units.

Simply plugged it iin and it was ready to use. All pre loaded with enough maps to get me started.
AnswerID: 340823

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 00:10

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 00:10
joff1
End of Dunes.... like my Garmin Nuvi 760 does eh.

AnswerID: 340837

Follow Up By: Member - Peter H (WA) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 00:38

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 00:38
Hi Doug

Bought my 760 today. Lovely unit.

FollowupID: 608474

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 00:46

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 00:46
Good one mate.... pop into my gps webpage and check out the helpful hints on how to gain some extra memory in the unit, read it and if you do it make sure you dot the I's and X the T's .

The Website

FollowupID: 608477

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 01:27

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 01:27
ummm..no Doug - your Nuvi is displaying contours not "ends of dunes".

What is being discussed is this ..

Image is from 250K Natmap of close on same area you posted and is the same as the 250K map supplied on Hema Navigator (though there are other less detailed maps as well).

The lines represent the extent of each dune.

As you can see (but probably wont admit) the 250K map shows the extent of dunes whereas the oztopo map you have posted from your Nuvi does not, it just shows 10m contours which, even at that scale are too broad to identify individual dunes in this area

Also keep in mind the data used to create the contours for oztopo is based on 90m spaced spot heights so narrow dunes will not rate a mention.

It would be difficult (but not impossible) to show relatively subtle dunes by way of contour lines but it would require a high level of survey plus a lot of lines cluttering up the screen...plus when does a dune stop, and when does it start (based on contours).

In this instance suspect the map makers have just traced the extent of dunes using stereoscopic air photos - and thereby where "dunes" stop and start is obvious based on human eye (and that is what is shown on the 250K map). Based on experience even the 250K mapping is pretty accurate in this respect.

FollowupID: 608478

Follow Up By: Member - Lord Cochrane (SA) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 03:59

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 03:59
Correct me if I am wrong but couldn't you purchase the Hema 250k maps and load them on the 760 and get the same image?
FollowupID: 608479

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 05:25

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 05:25
Lord Cochrane
You have been corrected...... WRONG

FollowupID: 608480

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 05:27

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 05:27
And yours is showng silly lines......not dunes , perhaps we better go google earth,

FollowupID: 608481

Follow Up By: Member - Toolman (VIC) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 08:44

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 08:44
Folks,
I did spend a fair bit of my time generating the contours in areas of Australia for the NATMAP series of maps. They were plotted at 1:100k with 20 metre contour intervals with the with the 50 metre contour being captured for the 1:250K maps which were derived from 1:100k compilations. The 1:100 compilations now only exist in the the archives for a significant part of Australia especially in the desert areas. Plotting contours in sand ridge country is difficult and we made no attempt to plot individual sand ridges. We were required to plot the general shape of the terrain ignoring sand ridges (using the valley between ridges as the terrain surface) and placed spot heights on top and the bottom of many sand ridges to indicate the height of the ridge. The sand ridges were plotted as separate features as accurately as possible and almost every sand ridge that fitted our minimum length criteria was plotted. In the old series of 250k maps (PRE 1997)the sand ridges were depicted as plotted and you could navigate by them from the air or on the ground.

In the current series of NATMAP 250k maps (post 1997)and digital maps I would be very careful trying to use sand ridge information to navigate with, as some enthusiastic some public servants took the decision to "tidy up" the sand ridge patterns in areas where they "looked very messy and fragmented" so they would look neater on the maps". They did this by removing sand ridges from the maps to make the map look more aesthetically pleasing to the eye. We did protest the decision but lost out. Our point that taking sand ridges off the maps didn't mean they ceased to exist on the ground was ignored.

The moral of the story is don't trust the sand ridge depiction on the 250k NATMAP maps after 1997 in central Australia. Hema used the base data from the NATMAP Series maps and added their own researched data , so be careful with them too but I suspect they used the original data and I am not sure if they updated to the "generalised version from NATMAP post 1997.

So Doug is right in saying if you want to see a true representation of the sand ridge patterns and extents, go to Google Earth.

Identifying sand ridges from contours where the sand ridges are contoured would be very difficult in my opinion (ie the crests of sand ridges). I haven't yet see the Oztopo maps so I can comment on them specifically.

Toolman

FollowupID: 608491

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 10:23

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 10:23
"And yours is showng silly lines......not dunes,"

No Doug, it is the "silly lines" in Oztopo dont show dune ridges, they are contours.

The 250K map legend specifically states that the lines represent sandridges.

They are not randomly generated "silly lines", though I suppose to some they may appear to be just that.

FollowupID: 608507

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 10:31

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 10:31
Hello again

We have sort of gone off track. Point of my post was to illustrate what was being discussed in the original thread re sandridges being depicted on maps i.e. the 250K map available on the Hema Navigator that shows dunes ridges. I think I got that right.

Doug incorrectly pointed out that the Oztopo maps, when displayed on the greatest GPS in the world, show the same thing, they dont. They just show 10m contours, not sandridges/dunes.

The "silly lines" do in fact represent dune ridges despite Doug’s claim they don’t. How accurate this depiction is, is another question and would vary from location to location. I personally haven’t checked every sand dune in the deserts against the 250K map series but the ones I have seen were “pretty” accurate as I stated before (don’t ask me what pretty accurate means:). Also keep in mind it is a 250K maps so there is a limitation on the detail that can be shown. It would not be possible to show every single dune present in some areas. The smaller scale Hema maps lack even more detail with respect to sandridges.

Of course if you want to see a true representation of the dunes looking at an air photo/sat image is the best option (next to actually driving there) but that wasn’t the question being asked or the point of the post. However, the funny thing about that line of thought, going back to the original discussion, is that you could also view calibrated air photo/sat image images on a Hema Navigator via OziExplorer.....so if you want to see sandridges – get a Hema Navigator (or similar device that has a program such as OziExplorer that allows viewing of calibrated air photos/sat images).

FollowupID: 608509

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 11:53

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 11:53
Hello

Below is the sat image for the same area previously depicted with the sandridges (or "silly lines") taken from the 250K maps overlain. This illustrates that the lines depicted on the 250K maps are in fact depicting sandridges and aren’t as silly as some think (you have to laugh dont you). Also shows, in this area at least, that the number of sandridges depicted is high, so doubt cast by Toolman in respect to this may be slightly unfounded (i.e. don’t think sandridges have been "tidied up" too much in this area, if at all).

Accuracy varies but I would still call it pretty good (keeping in mind it is 250K data and inaccuracies in my calibration of the sat image). Whether or not the depiction of sandridges in this manner (ie on a 250K map) is useful/fraught with potential problems when used in a real world situation is another question and would be dependent on intended use/aim of those using the info. Certainly better than nothing.

FollowupID: 608518

Follow Up By: Member - Toolman (VIC) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 18:45

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 18:45
Greg,
Just to clarify what I was saying.

The areas I am talking about were where the sand ridges were short and did not follow any specific pattern or direction. For an example of the type of area, refer to (Simpson Desert Nth) coords 24.8112S & 132.6334 E. I am not saying that 5this area specifically was tidied up but that was the type of area that was tampered with and in those areas the sand ridge patterns are not an accurate depiction of what exists on the ground. The sand ridges shown are accurate position wise , but not all sand ridges were kept, which to me was unfortunate. I could go though my records and find out specifically which map area's we tidied up but that but that would be a long job and it really isn't all that important. When the names come back to me I'll let you know.

The area you have depicted above is not what I would call a confused sand ridge pattern and would therefore not have been touched. I am not surprised they are relatively accurate. We took a lot of care plotting them.

What I am interested in is how you overlayed the image and the map so professionally.

Toolam

FollowupID: 608569

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 19:18

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 19:18
Hello

No worries – sounds like a painful job plotting all them – far out! There’s one or two to do!!

Anyway what I did...

Screen capture from GE. Calibrated in OziExplorer by using identifiable points with coordinate read out from GE. Think I used 4 points.

Downloaded Geoscience Australia 250K map data for the area (Pandie Pandie map sheet) in arcview shapefile format (from GA website). Looked for a file called silly_ lines.shp but couldn’t find it so used one called sandridges.shp instead.

Imported this into OziExplorer (using import shapefile function) – Bingo sandridges overlain on GE photo. Saved it as an OziExplorer track file and change line type to red dashed. Exported image as PNG using OE, then saved as jpg (800 pixels size) in image editing program.

I could have also imported the shape file and then saved it as a kml file using OziExplorer and displayed it directly in GE. This would have eliminated the need to calibrate the screen capture..but I only just thought of that option.

FollowupID: 608572

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 19:22

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 19:22
How much would the dunes have moved in 11 years ?
FollowupID: 608574

Follow Up By: Member - Toolman (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 08:48

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 08:48
Mike,
The sand ridges were plotted anything up to 35-40 years ago and none would have been added from about 1980s onwards when the maps were completed for the first time. Since then they have just been revised for cultural changes mostly - (roads & tracks, bores, mills tanks/dams fences, buildings, power lines microwave towers etc). The sand ridges would be 99.9% from the original plots. I couldn't tell you how far the sand ridges have moved but you could find out by referring to the original aerial photography and comparing that to google earth.

I suppose you are aware that the sand ridges move along their length not like waves in the ocean and the lines reflect the direction of the prevailing winds.

Toolman
FollowupID: 608668

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 09:24

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 09:24
"I suppose you are aware that the sand ridges move along their length not like waves in the ocean and the lines reflect the direction of the prevailing winds. "

- I learn so much from Exploroz Forums !

FollowupID: 608677

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 22:03

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 22:03
Hello Lord Cochrane (SA)

RE: Statement "Correct me if I am wrong but couldn't you purchase the Hema 250k maps and load them on the 760 and get the same image?"

Sorry for late reply but further to Doug's response (which was technically correct) it is actually possible to show the same data but it must be in a different format. The Hema and Natmap maps used by the Hema Navigator are in raster format whereas Nuvis required data in Garmin specific vector format.

The free "shonkymaps" has included some of the sandridge data in its map set but not all. As Doug illustrated the OztopoV2 maps don’t.

Oztopo crew could have included the data, but they chose not to presumably because of the amount of data required and corresponding increases in file size and maybe screen clutter?? If you are keen it is relatively easy to make your own Garmin maps, so if you had a specific requirement to use a Garmin and needed the data you could do it.

FollowupID: 608845

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 09:44

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 09:44
joff, the Hema Navigator looks pretty reasonable and is made by VMS who also market the in-dash system I have. It would have iGo 8 in it which I reckon is a very good navigational package, but limited by the Sensis mapping in regional areas, which is about to be improved by an upgrade.

The Memory Map software is like the OziExplorer Lite lightweight version and you will find it restrictive if you have been using Ozi. Memory Map uses a proprietary mapping format so you buy new maps for anything over what you may already have. If you are used to Ozi, you will want to load it.
AnswerID: 340857

Reply By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 12:03

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 12:03
Hi Joff1

We purchased a HEMA navigator in October as we are currently traveling Oz via 4WD and caravan. We are still not sure if we like it or not (this could be ignorance on our behalf as we are not 100% sure if we are uisng correctly!!) it doesn't seem to re-position you if you change route, it sometimes takes the Looooong way which is really annoying with the price of diesel!! and quite often we get a message along the lines of "this route is not calculated you may be given incorrect directions" she will also tell us to turn right when we are in the middle of nowhere and nowhere to turn right. But apparently this happens will all GPS' we have not as yet used the topo maps.

Matt,Caz & kids
AnswerID: 340868

Follow Up By: JohnnyC - Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 04:23

Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 04:23
From your comments it sounds like you are using the route66 street navigation in a remote area where it is really only meant for turn by turn instructions in built up areas.
You would be better off using Oziexplorer or Memory map applications which are much more suitable to country and remote areas, all three application would be loaded if you have recently bought it.
They are moving map displays and are very detailed, especially Oziexplorer but will not give you navigation instructions, merely your position on the map, you can plot tracks and distances to waypoints though.
I find it's easier to have a paper map to refer to as well, the GPS gives you a very detailed view of your immediate area, say a few kilometers across,great for finding tracks and waterholes etc, and the paper map for the big picture.
Once you get the hang of it it's really quite easy to use.

Cheers, have fun
FollowupID: 609119

Reply By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 10:34

Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 10:34
Hi Johnnyc

Yes I do believe that we are using the route66, thanks so much for the advice, we are still trying to get the hang of things neither of us are too good when it comes to computers!!!

Matt, Caz & Kids
AnswerID: 341478

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 15:43

Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 15:43
Hi all, very interested in the discussion. For those who have the Hema Nav, can it be used with a laptop running windows vista, oziexplorer (NMEA) moving map display, as there are times when a much larger screen is really handy. I am currently a magellan explorist 500 (excellent), but having had to go to windows vista, am unable to get NMEA/moving map working. This happened after upgrading to the new maps and having to "upgrade" the firmware as well. Pain in the you know what! So its either another cheap GPS (that works with oziexplorer & vista: anybody know any???) or go the whole hog and spend $1k on the Hema.
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 341504

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 16:00

Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 16:00
Hell - Have you tried the explorist vista driver?

Explorist vista driver for NMEA output

(dowload link for the driver is at the bottom end of abovementioned webpage)

I dont think you can use the Hema navigaor to provide NMEA data to a PC. OziExplorer works with Vista. Possibly better off getting a cheap gps mouse (<$100) when you want to use a laptop.

FollowupID: 609149

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 16:05

Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 16:05
PS - there are cheaper (~1/3 price) alternatives to Hema Navigator (HN) that do the same thing. I run oziExplorerCe, Mio Map and Garmin XT on an "unlocked" Mio 720 - cost $350, though you have to also buy regsiter copies and maps for programs such as OziExplorer/Garmin so that adds too total cost - but still less that HN. Not saying HN is not good buy - sound like many happy customers.

FollowupID: 609150

Follow Up By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 17:32

Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 17:32
Thanks guys, but I have tried 3 different USB drivers including the so called new and updated driver from magellan. I have all the latest maps for oziexplorer, and the magellan, so no problem there; just unable to get NMEA working after having upgraded the magellan with the updated firmware to run the new mappping software..
Fred B

FollowupID: 609155

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 17:43

Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 17:43
...what is the "new mapping software" - VantagePoint?
What version firmware are you using?
Can you uploadand download waypoints/track to PC OK?

FollowupID: 609157

Follow Up By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 20:42

Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 20:42
Explorist, Mapsend and Vantage point can be used to transfer files to the GPS, uploading and down loading way point and geocaching files. But both explorist and vantage point don't work (NMEA) with my Explorist. Vantage point is so basic doesn't allow 'port' changes or other system/setup changes (that I can find, anyway).

Sorry, the mapping software I was refering to was topo 2.27 maps. The firmware is ver.2.03 I had to load 2.03 as the new maps didn't funtion correctly with the old firmware, it kept freezing.

Everything used to work fine on my old laptop running XP, but it died and purchased a new vista machine not aware of all the problems this would cause.
Fred B

FollowupID: 609182

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 17:36

Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 17:36
If anyone knows of a specific cheap mouse/usb or PCI card GPS that definitely works with vista and oziexplorer I would like to hear about it. Thnx.
Fred B

AnswerID: 341513

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 09:39

Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 09:39
Joff,

You are good at starting arguments. ;)

Was watching Pat Callinan's 4X4 show on Chanel 10 yesterday while cricket had a lunch break. Pat did a bit of a review on the Hema job that looked OK. Probably more of an infomercial though.

My old PDA running Oziexporer and Tom Tom gave up the ghost.

I'm now running Oziexplorer and Copilot on a laptop together GPS gate so I can run both applications at the same time.
AnswerID: 341561