Amazing Xmas Week Gas Price Coincidence

Submitted: Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 10:01
ThreadID: 64474 Views:2603 Replies:8 FollowUps:6
Filled up the 9 litre gas bottle yesterday at a servo near where I am staying. What an amazing coincidence: a 38% price hike compared with last week - yes, 38%. Last week's price at the same servo $25 - this week $34.50. Not bitching about the price as such but at the size of the increase. What d'ya reckon?

Reply By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 10:12

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 10:12
I dont think its just a Christmas thing
I noticed when getting the last Swap and Go at Bunnings price went from $24.50 to $27.45 in one hit for 8.5 kg bottle.
wish I could get a 8% pay increase.

Howard
Resigned to Retirement

AnswerID: 340860

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 10:56

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 10:56
Amazing how the price to fill your bottle is going up when the price of LPG for my car is going down....

Something smells...
AnswerID: 340863

Reply By: madcow - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 13:23

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 13:23
$18.00 at BCF Albury.
AnswerID: 340877

Reply By: Robnicko - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 14:35

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 14:35
I keep saying.....look up 'saudi cp' on google and see the monthly reductions in the price of LPG (bottle + Auto).
It has dropped heaps since the end of October, almost 80% yet do we see that at the retail end...NO.

Just go to Supagas if there is one near to you. They seem to be the only compant that sells Gas at a fair price.

LPG should be much, much cheaper than it is being sold for as the wholesale price of it has dropped by so much...profiteering seems to be the Christmas spirit. Just remember it's the same people who prifiteered on the stock market that are now scraping for a couple of dollars.

What goes around comes around

Rob
AnswerID: 340889

Reply By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 14:38

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 14:38
dunno what your whingeing about latrobe valley prices $30+for 9kg

AnswerID: 340890

Follow Up By: Mark R - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 16:11

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 16:11
Hey Steve,

As you will read in the original post, I'm not whinging about the price but struggling to understand how they can justify a 38% overnight price hike
FollowupID: 608548

Reply By: A-TREK CAMPING HIRE - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 16:51

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 16:51
G'day fellow exploroz viewers, we do gas bottle refills by weighing the bottle first then filling it, then weighing it again, you are then charged $3.00 per Kg for what ever goes in, for example if you have a 9Kg bottle, we weigh it, first weight =13.4Kg ( rarely do we see empty bottles ) then we fill it and weigh it again, second weight 17.6Kg ( bottle and contents ) 17.6Kg minus 13.4Kg = 4.2Kg x $3.00 per Kg = $12.60.
You don't pay for a full tank of fuel at the servo when you only put $20.00 in, gas bottle fills should be the same.
We do have a minimum fill on a customer bottle and thats $3.00, so if your only topping up and takes only 1/2 Kg we charge you $3.00.
so if anyone is interested we are located at 92 Brickworks Rd, Kallangur, Brisbane northside about 2 minutes of the Bruce highway,
Cheers, Dave
A-TREK CAMPING HIRE
& T.D.Canvas
www.atrekcamping.com.au
http://www.atrekcamping.com.au
AnswerID: 340910

Follow Up By: Member - Greg A (QLD) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 18:36

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 18:36
Sounds like a great deal, Dave.

You'll be seeing me there for sure.

Greg..
FollowupID: 608568

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) The O - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 19:19

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 19:19
Maybe you should put your prices up and make more money!
FollowupID: 608573

Follow Up By: A-TREK CAMPING HIRE - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 23:23

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 23:23
G'day Olcoolone, the gas company say we should be charging by the bottle, but morally we think it's wrong, i don't like getting ripped off and wouldn't like to rip onyone else off, i've always worked on the saying "would rather make little profit and have lots of customers than have big profit with little customers"
majority of my business is word of mouth,
cheers, Dave.
A-TREK CAMPING HIRE
& T.D.Canvas
FollowupID: 608631

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 08:31

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 08:31
A trek , the Matilda that I frequent for gas also weighs the bottle before and after filling if told prior to the fill that the bottle is not "empty", and charges accordingly , a rare thing nowadays it is actually a "service station" that still gives service.
FollowupID: 608666

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 17:41

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 17:41
Matilda servo,s on Bris nth side ,$19.95 for a 9kg = $2.21 per kg , 6 weeks ago price was $15.95 = $1.77 per kg.
AnswerID: 340918

Follow Up By: A-TREK CAMPING HIRE - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 23:12

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 23:12
G'day Axel, not sure if you understood what i was saying in my earlier post about charging $3.00 per Kg, Matilda's charging $19.95 for a 9Kg bottle is good value if your bottle is dead empty, but if the bottle only took 1Kg, they would still charge you $19.95, we would only charge you $3.00 for that same 1Kg of gas, if it took 2 Kg, we would charge $6.00 but if the bottle took 9 Kg then we would charge $27.00, morally i think it's wrong to charge for a full bottle if it only needs a sqirt,
cheers, Dave.
A-TREK CAMPING HIRE
& T.D.Canvas
FollowupID: 608627

Reply By: Austravel - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 21:13

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 21:13
How about $38 for a 4kg in Rocky. Damn criminal!
AnswerID: 341291