Submitted: Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 15:49
Member - Patrol Geoff (QLD)
We are heading off to
Adelaide shortly and are towing a friend's (borrowed) camper trailer.
I've heard that some Nissan's have a weaker 5th gear and that it wasn't recommended to use 5th when towing. I can understand that with a caravan, but does that also apply with a camper trailer? I don't know what the camper weight is, but was told it is considerably less than 750Kg. It has a mechanical (inertial?) brake, but not electric brakes. Obviously how much it weights depends on how much extra stuff we take along, but in general:
Can a GU Nissan Patrol (2002) tow a camper trailer in 5th gear without problems?
-geoff
Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 16:04
Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 16:04
the GUIII (Nov 01 onwards) was supposed to have the larger 5th gear splines. If it is a late 02 model you may be OK. Early GU III still had the short splines.
Mine went last year when not towing! Having said that I towed an off road camper on a 2000 km trip with it around Vic and NSW with no problems. Try the
Patrol 4x4 site as
well.
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 16:17
Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 16:17
I'd always towed in 5th gear, but have recently been a bit more conservative and tend to now tow in 4th unless I'm on a slight downhill section where I can "coast" without using any/too much throttle. It's not as though the big Chev donk can't do the job in 5th, I just try to keep in the direct-drive that 4th provides, rather than risking any gearbox damage.
Mine is a 2000 model which was when they were having trouble. I haven't been able to find out whether my 5th gear was changed or not. I doubt it would have been done under warranty as the motor was swapped out right from almost day one, so Mr Nissan would've wiped his hands of any warranty claim
well and truly!!
I don't reckon you'd have worries at all, ....your Patrol is
well after the problem spline period and the trailer you're going to be towing is
well under the vehicle's load potential.
I would, however, be keeping an eye on the engine temp gauge if towing in 5th.....if it starts to get warm, chuck it back to 4th; more revs = more
water pump action = cooler motor (
well; that's the theory anyway).
Follow Up By: Member - Patrol Geoff (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 01:23
Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 01:23
Thanks for that. I'd have thought more revs would mean more heat. I know GUs can be problematic with heat and whilst I've never had that problem with
mine it's not been in 40+ degrees either. I've read the saga that some people such as yourself had when trying to resolve overheating issues.
-geoff
Follow Up By: Member - John - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 06:05
Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 06:05
4th gear, not over fuelling, less heat.
Follow Up By: Member - John F (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 13:03
Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 13:03
Agree with John, the heat generated proportional to the work done, not engine revs. Work done is a function of the load x speed x slope for a given time.
Incidentally my 06 hilux owner's manual says not to tow in 5th. It gives the reason as poor engine braking and poor battery charging - the latter, as anyone with half a brain knows is a crock, but they won't say that the design is inadequate... At least they warn you.
I have also observed that the fuel consumption is no better in fifth if the revs are kept around the max torque range in a lower gear. You can often feel that in a lighter throttle being required for a lower gear at a given speed, especially uphill.
Regards, John F.
Reply By: Gunna Do - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 16:20
Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 16:20
Patrol Geoff,
I have one of the earliest GU Patrols, a 2.8ltr '98 model, and have owned this vehicle from new. I have towed a heavy 4x4 camper trailer (over1200 kgs) since I bought the Patrol and most recently now tow a
Camp-o-matic camper trailer (not sure on weight but likely over 1000 kgs).
To date I have had not problems with the gearbox (touch wood), and I think as long as you keep within the specified weight limits of the vehicle and are not doing anything extreme, you should not have any problems using 5th gear for towing.
Reply By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 16:44
Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 16:44
We have towed a 2ton caravan for some 40000 ks on the Mainland and used to use 5th gear a lot but keeping an ear on the donk and as soon as it starts to strain back a cog we go. Having said that this year on our trip we were advised strongly by a mechanic in
Ceduna, quote " don't ever tow a van in 5th gear".
Ran into a guy at Pardoo Roadhouse and he asked me if we towed in 5th, he used to pull a Ultimate CT around and he blew his gear box, hence my suggestion is to be on the safe side and don't us 5th.
You will love the Flinders, dont forget to call into the
Prairie Hotel at Parachilna, cold beer and wonderful tucker.
Baz
Reply By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 17:17
Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 17:17
I tow mainly in 4th and, like Roachie, slip into 5th (overdrive) when off the power on a long down
hill or a strong tail wind and the road is smooth. There is little difference in fuel consumption towing in 4th and the 1:1 direct drive ratio is easier on both the engine and gearbox. I have towed for 28+ years almost everyday, caravans, campers, tool trailers, tandems, etc and with various vehicles with both autos and manuals and the GU Patrol box is the only one to fail on me! So contrary to popular belief, they are not the strongest gearbox around. Treat them as such.
Reply By: Kirk and Jeanette - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 17:59
Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 17:59
I have a 93 GQ with a 4.2 diesel. I towed the camper trailer for ages, across the nullabor twice plus some other trips with no problems so far using 5th gear however I use 4th almost all the time now as I have figured out that the fuel consumption is heaps better in 4th.
Reply By: Willem - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 19:29
Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 19:29
5th gear is an overdrive gear and not designed to tow at all.
I tow an overweight bush trailer all over the place and like Roachie and AJB, I select 5th only when coasting. As soon as the pace slows down I drop back a cog.
Of course the GQ has a truck gearbox and is extremely strong and reliable whereas the GU gearbox was somewhat weakend by the manufacturer for no apparent reason.
I would use common sense and err on the safe side when towing with a GU and stay in 4th unless you find some nice long downhill runs.
Reply By: Robin Miller - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 21:40
Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 21:40
Also a 2002 GU here Geoff but the petrol one which puts a lot more torque thru the same manual gearbox.
I suspect that trailer could easily be 750kg if loaded.
My bike trailer , which I recently built and towed thru Simpson etc was 600-800kg depending on load and is unbraked.
Like other comments above , I have had no issues but only tow on flat or easy territory in 5th and drop to 4th very quickly , in this car 3rd can be used up to 120kmh , 4th to 160 while 5th goes to 200kmh, so using 4th is still reasonably comfortable at cruising speeds,
Reply By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 05:30
Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 05:30
5th gear towing, down
hill and coasting....as soon as you feel any uphill strain, on anything, go to 4th, ie..4th gear most of the time.
Enjoy !
Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 08:21
Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 08:21
I am feeling a little inadequate as I tow in DRIVE and let the auto do its thing unless there is some long steep
hill then I take control with the sport shift. The van is around 3 tonne and the temp guage always looks happy. With my camper trailer around 1500Kg I never really had to worry at all.