Towing a Camper to the Flinders Ranges

Submitted: Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 15:50
ThreadID: 64483 Views:5893 Replies:11 FollowUps:8
As I mentioned in an earlier post, we are heading off to Adelaide shortly having borrowed a friend's camper trailer. It will be towed by our 4.2TD Patrol.

The trailer is an "off road" variant (Mod Con I think it is), but without electric brakes (it has some kind of a mechanical brake) and it has a regular trailer towball type hitch.

We plan to do some driving around the Flinders Rangers. I've not experienced driving a trailer around in an offroad setting, so I was wondering if I'm likely to have any problems. Just how difficult are the main tracks around there? Is there anywhere I should particularly avoid?

-geoff

Reply By: Member - Malcolm C (QLD) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 16:01

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 16:01
The last time I drove around the Flinders Ranges was in a 98 Ford Fairlane sedan - left the van at the caravan park. But then again they were made for that sort of country.

One of the places we went was called Secret Valley

Malcolm
living the 'good life'

AnswerID: 340897

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 16:11

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 16:11

you won't have any issues. The main roads in Flinders are well maintained. Holiday traffic may affect them a little but rain is your only real problem. There are specific 4x4 tracks on the Gammons that are non-towing but otherwise it's all good. You'll find caravans in a lot of the park camping areas having been towed by conventional vehicles.

Mick

AnswerID: 340900

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 18:00

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 18:00
Geoff.
Totally agree with Mick's comments.
We were there in July(very cold) & had a great time towing a camper & exploring the area.
Enjoy your trip.
Vince
FollowupID: 608561

Follow Up By: Member - Patrol Geoff (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 00:59

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 00:59
Vince, we'll be there in January. I gather it can be quite warm.
-geoff
FollowupID: 608642

Reply By: Rangiephil - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 16:15

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 16:15
The majority of the Flinders ranges roads are 2 lane bitumin ,
To Quorn, Hawker, Wilpena Pound are all perfect bitumin.
The main issue once you leave the bitumin for the gorges etc will be tyre longevity. I would recommend "LT" tyres for car and trailer.

I was camped next to a guy with a GU at Rawnsley Park who had gone for a drive through the gorges tracks and lost 3!!!! passenger type tyres in 1/2 hour.

None of the public tracks could be considered "off road" ie needing high clearance or very steep etc. They are just sharp flinty tracks that often run down river beds.
I assume you would not want to tow a trailer on the private pay as you go tracks because they are steep.
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 340901

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 19:37

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 19:37
Hi Rangiephil
We have spent more time in the Flinders in passenger vehicles than in our four wheel drive. Have been up there well before the black stuff went to Wilpena. All of those early years we drove to our cars ability with stock standard tyres. I think that it all comes down to your driving skills. We always were very careful when in rocky conditions and had no problems. Back in those days (the early 70's) the roads never had the upkeep that they receive today. The person that you described in the GU sounds like the type of person that gives people in four wheel drives a bad name - I've got a 4X4 and can go anywhere and at any speed I like.
We have travelled every track in the Flinders and to do 3 tyres through the gorges - well he simply did not know what he was doing.

Cheers and Seasons Greetings

Who has been here

FollowupID: 608579

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 02:45

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 02:45
Stephen, you may be being a bit harsh IMHO. I have driven just about every piece of road and track you can in the Flinders and touch wood in 30 years have only had 1 flat tyre, but having said that when we did the EO Gathering there a couple of years back, Lucy steaked a tyre, Des Lexic got a screw through one and a about 7 other members got either steaked or just small penetration flat tyres. Most of these are very experience capable 4X4 drivers and it's just the luck of the draw. I know quite a few members on here that have had 3 or even more flats in one day.

As mentioned I have done some pretty nasty tracks over the years and the one flat tyre I mentioned getting was just the dirt road going into Chambers Gorge, bolt from a trailer I believe was the cause, so it can happen, and if the passenger type tyres that the GU had on it as mentioned by Phil were good for this sort of country, why do tyre manufacturers make AT and MTR style tyres and lastly why do you have non standard tyres on your Toyota?
FollowupID: 608647

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 08:09

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 08:09
Hi Blaze
Anything can happen out of the normal, on any track or road where ever we travel. As you would know, a very high % of the tracks driven by all types of vehicles in the Flinders are over well formed and maintained tracks. All the tracks usually through the gorges are over large, smooth water worn rocks. As for a bolt through the tyre or a screw, that can happen anywhere and I am not talking about that.

How many times have us experienced drivers (raised and lived on dirt roads all my life in the country) been taking our times over rough roads, when you are passed like a bat out of hell by some person in a four wheel drive doing a million miles per hour, only to find that same person on the side of the road a half hour latter with a flat tyre. Stopping to lend a helping hand, the tyre is a complete wreck, shredded from being driven flat and fast over the rough road. The then driver then says, how bad the roads are, nothing of how fast or over inflated his tyres were.

Why do I have non standard tyres on my Prado?. Simple I usually travel about 10,000 kilometres a year. Does not sound much, but living in the country, I walk to work ever day, so the car does not get out at all during the week. When we head bush, we usually head for remote places and clock up about 6000 kilometres in 3 weeks. So in theory, my tyres would spend about a minimum of 70% of there life on surfaces from sand, rock, Mulga scrub and everything in between.

Our four wheel driven in driven on the type of terrain that it was made for, and not afraid of theat scraping branch down the side while cross country travelling or spinifex clogged under the vehicle.

Drive to the road conditions and most of the time the tyres should be fine. The Flinders is a top spot and the peson heading there should have a great time and hopefully no problems.

Have a great Christmas and take care.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 608662

Reply By: Von Helga - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 16:31

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 16:31
Please don't talke this the wrong way however, you don't exactly exude a lot confidence on what exactly it is that you are towing.
I would like to think that you will/have got advice on what brakes they are, how they work, and in fact they are actually working or you could just go with "she'll be right mate". The first emergency stop could be interesting though.
AnswerID: 340907

Follow Up By: Member - Patrol Geoff (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 01:09

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 01:09
No worries. I don't know what the brake mechanism is called. But it does work. The towball receiver is attached to a horizontal rod that slides into a cylinder directly behind it on the drawbar. When the car brakes, the momentum of the trailer forces it down the rod and causes tightening on the wires that attach to the brakes.

For reversing, there is a latch that you flip over to stop the towball receiver being forced into the cylinder (and hence prevent it from applying the brakes).

That's all good and I'm happy with how it works from a "normal speed" and having to brake. My concern was more on its ability if we have to crawl downhill a lot. I could imagine that such a scenario might not generate the momentum required to apply the brakes in a timely manner.

-geoff
FollowupID: 608643

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 18:15

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 18:15
Think you will find you will do what we did.

Find a good camp spot and do day trips from there.

Most roads to the camping areas are bitumen if not good dirt, with the occasional bit of corrugations.

Most of the tracks are from easy, to moderate to hard (not many), but ask the ranger when you can and they will keep you straight.

The harder ones you can definitely do as day trips.

Good to see you being cautious, means you are less likely to get into trouble. :o)
AnswerID: 340921

Follow Up By: Member - Patrol Geoff (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 01:11

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 01:11
Thanks for the tips.

Yeah, my days of leaping from crazy heights into pools have long since diminished too. Though I'm pretty sure I never did it from some of the heights that I saw posted here a few days back.

-geoff
FollowupID: 608644

Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 18:41

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 18:41
Hi Geoff

We took our caravan through the northern Flinders in 2006, and had no problems, even though it was Easter and there was quite a lot of traffic, and it rained while going through Brachina and Parachilna Gorge. We chose not to camp in any of the lovely looking camp sites in Brachina as we did not know how much rain was expected, and were criss crossing a creek. We stopped much later along Parachilna when the rain slowed a little, but we watched the water level all night. The roads were all good unsealed roads.Brachina Gorge drive has a series of geological features signed, with lots of interesting information.

Prior to Brachina, we spent a couple of days at Wilpena to do walks and short drives around there.

We drove out to Mt Chambers Gorge, where we could have camped, but chose to drive on.

At Arkaroola, we stayed a few days and without the caravan did some drives around the park and surrounding stations. The drive out to the hot springs was very scenic, but a little corrugated.

We then left the caravan by the roadside to spend most of the day on the 4wd circuit in the Gammon Range. This was the only real 'track' we took.

AnswerID: 340927

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) The O - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 19:14

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 19:14
90% of the roads you would be able to tackle in a standard 2wd car.

The only places are dedicated 4wd tracks (must have low range) and driving deeper into some of the gorges if you don't feel like walking.

The dirt roads are very good and you should be able to travel at 80 to 100Kph with out much issue.

The only time you will need 4wd on most of the dirt roads is if it rains.

When are you going to go, we ill be up there from the 29th of December for about a week.

We go up there 2 to 3 times a year and love it.

Suggest the bush camping area at Rawnsley Park, they have a special on ...stay 3 nights and the 4th is free.

AnswerID: 340933

Follow Up By: Member - Patrol Geoff (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 01:17

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 01:17
We haven't got a fixed date. We'll be in Adelaide up to January 10th, and then plan to head north. I'd read elsewhere (this site perhaps?) that it was fairly easy to get a place to stay and whilst bookings were required it wouldn't be difficult in January. We're happy to bush camp pretty much anywhere.

-geoff
FollowupID: 608645

Reply By: Dion - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 22:02

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 22:02
I was just home (in Quorn) last week, we copped a fair bit of rain, as did the Northern Flinders, with several main roads closed due to flooding. There are still possibilities of more summer rains.
Check this site out:

http://www.transport.sa.gov.au/quicklinks/northern_roads/area4.asp

Although roads are mainly opened, there will still be creeks which will need to be driven through with caution, not because of holding water, but because of debris still there.

Dion.
AnswerID: 340968

Reply By: Member - John & Sally W (NSW) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 22:18

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 22:18
Hi Geoff,
It's good to remember to drive to the conditions. According to road conditions link they have had some rain through that area so some of the dips might be a bit rough due to water damage.
Probably telling you stuff you already know but don't forget to protect your rear windscreen from rocks bouncing back off the trailer.
The visitors centre at Wilpena Pound is full of great info, maps and track info, places to camp etc.,
It's a great area to find a pleasant base camp and do lots of day trips. Have fun.
Sally
AnswerID: 340973

Reply By: Blaze - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 02:26

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 02:26
Geoff, as all others have said it wont be an issue, we tow an outback Jayco all over the Flinders. If you get a chance, couple of places worth a look if you want some good driving? With Camper at base camp of course...LOL
Try Skytrek at Willow Springs, tell Brendan that Glenn (Riverland) said to say HI, and also head up to Warraweena and drop in and see Stoney, well worth the look. As others have also said it can get hot in January, just make sure you have water if you go walkies and if you have troubles, (lof course lets hope not) please stay with the vehicle. There will be plenty of people driving around.
AnswerID: 340993

Reply By: Member - Glenn H (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 17:05

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 17:05
Here's a pic of --- well the pic says it all really. In the garage at Hawker April 2007.The tow truck operator said it's speed and inexperience. And a nice income for him to go up into the Flinders and rescue people. The guy wasn't towing, just going too fast- twice. Cheers, warrie

Warrie

AnswerID: 341099