considering a sierra - other options??

Submitted: Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 20:38
ThreadID: 64492 Views:4879 Replies:7 FollowUps:6
G'day all,
Im considering a Suzuki sierra as a smaller second fourby, to just jump in for short week-enders by myself, when I do a bit of shooting up the bush.

will be driving up the h'way 2 or 3 hours, then swagging it, minimal camping gear, using potentially a sierra for a bit of spotlighting, ( knocking off a few feral bunnies, )

There doesnt seem to be too many on the market, (looking at drive.com, here of course, and googleing.)

so what other options are there, or, where else should i look, ??

thinking something that has a few mods?.. any year / engine size better than others??

a better more suited, just as easily moddable make ??

what else do i need to consider??

BTW first truck is a 100 series, that SWMBO will need while i go out one up.

Not thinking huge mods, just usual suspension, tyres, maybe a winch....

Thoughts, experiences?? questions I should ask myself??

thanks guys and merry xmas etc,,..

regards,

Jarrod.

Reply By: ross - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 20:51

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 20:51
You could probably get a usable old swb Patrol for the same cost.
There is also the Daihatsu Rocky/Feroza
AnswerID: 340955

Follow Up By: ross - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 20:52

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 20:52
A lot of people like the old Jackeroos which can also be had quite cheap
FollowupID: 608593

Reply By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 20:56

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 20:56
Hi Jarrod
I had a sierra many years ago my self for hunting.
Great 4x4 but out grew it.
But as you say not easy to find.
I have never owned one but if they are as good as a sierra
i would look at a rag top Suzuki Vitara 1.6 engine, 4X4 with dual range.
Most of them would have never been off road
mostly a girls car, nothing a cammo paint job couldn't fix LOL.

Rob.
I only ever made one mistake
and that's when I thought I was wrong!

AnswerID: 340956

Follow Up By: Jarrod73 - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 21:06

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 21:06
Thanks Rob.

How would i go for aftermarket accesories??.
i.e. suspension lift , fuel tank etc?

wanted to try staying in something small from an insurance and fuel perspective, as well as general ease to work on, cheap parts etc.

thanks..
FollowupID: 608596

Follow Up By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 21:37

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 21:37
That's why i bought my Sierra back in the early 80's for
fuel economy, fuel has always been expensive.
the only problem is not much cargo space.
I had a small 4x3 box trailer to take all the gear and fuel.
As for accessories for the vitara not sure.
I Also should have said have a look at dual cab utes like ford courier 4x4 2.6l, rebadged (Mazda) drove good.
and basic to repair.
they can be found very cheap a mate of mine had one
we went hunting in it all the time.
Basicly stock std it went everywhere over some very hilly and rocky country looking for goats.and good to spot light from.

I only ever made one mistake
and that's when I thought I was wrong!

FollowupID: 608604

Reply By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 08:05

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 08:05
A Suzuki Sierra 1.3LTR IS A GREAT LITTLE CAR. Took mine pig shooting in the Gulf. You do not have to do anything to them, it went everywhere I could take it. Got bogged on the Karumba Plains in the wet one year though. While a mate and I lifted up the side of the car the wife put some timber under the wheels and out we drove. Great all round 4x4, but they will not carry much. My Blog has a photo of one. Look for rust around the welded seams, they are bad for that. Check for oil leaking from front diffs, if its had a hard life the diffs can bend and they flogg out axel seals. Uni Joints are small and wear quckly if used in harsh environments. Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 341002

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 08:13

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 08:13
Sorry as for Mods. Do not lift them much as they are narrow wheelbase and you want to stay as low as you can, I would not go any more than 2" higher. I used a boat trailer electric winch and that worked a treat, thay are a lot smaller and cheaper than purpose buit car winches. Fitted it to the Alloy bar work. Of course the run time and capacity is way down as well but it pulled the Suzukis Ok - never used it in the bush though. Do not put too wide a tyre on them, floggs the front bearings and seals out. Tony
FollowupID: 608663

Reply By: garrycol - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 09:53

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 09:53
Sounds like a long wheel base 1.3JX would be the go - more room than the short wheel base - rides a bit better anf just as capable.

Garry
AnswerID: 341016

Reply By: OzTroopy - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 10:05

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 10:05
My order of preference in your small and fuel efficient criteria:

Suzuki Sierra / Daihatsu Feroza ... Feroza is more town orientated but stronger driveline than sierra and also has a has lift off top. The last of the sierras were a bit wider than previous models I think ... in wheel track. Feroza had two width models also.

Earlier small economic vehicles:

Suzuki Sierra / Daihatsu Rocky (diesel)

SWB Rockys are like rocking horse droppings but a few of the streched ones come up occaisionally. SWB Rocky is bigger than Sierra and has a 2.8 oiler ... a totally different category of vehicle. If nissan is happy with 2.8 in patrols you get the idea of Daihatsu power to weight ratios.

In the real old bracket:
Sierras / Daihatsu 2.5l / Subaru Brumby ... and like all well designed / desired / useful vehicles ... as scarce as - or surprisingly overpriced for their age.

And before it all starts .... Daihatsu is not Toyota. Toyota acquired majority shareholding in Daihatsu Auto in late 90's - about the same time Daihatsu stopped making anything that could compete with smaller Toyota models.
AnswerID: 341020

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 10:06

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 10:06
BTW .... early Sierra were also badged as Holden Drovers.
FollowupID: 608684

Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 11:54

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 11:54
Jarrod73
There's twenty advertised on carsales.com, two more than $10k the rest are all less. Not sure where you are, might be worth the trip interstate, there's pretty highly modified one in there. It's got everything that everyone advises against................... Depends on how keen you are to own one.
Keep the shiny side up

AnswerID: 341042

Reply By: Jarrod73 - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 17:07

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 17:07
Thanks heaps so far guys.

OK, cpl quick questions...

what year did the coil suspension start?
does the screen fold down on all models?

thanks again..
AnswerID: 341100

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 22:55

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 22:55
coilys came out in mid 96 Sj80 and none of the coilys have the fold down front window and it was only on the soft top leaf sprung .Here's a picture of my young blokes, 2" spring lift ,2"body lift and ofset rims & 29"tyres you cant go wrong.
Cheers Dave..

GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 608853