Enjoyable birthday present
Submitted: Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 22:15
Member - JohnR (Vic)
I know birthdays are never wished to members on EO these days but I recently took delivery of a present from a group of EOers in the form of an armoured vehicle driving afternoon. I had a birthday with the round digit at the end, type birthday and an inventive person thought up the "let's give John an experience" sort of pressie. I have no doubt that there are people on EO that have spent their lives driving these though.
Along with a Big Card all signed I eventually managed to get a mutually agreeable day, but not until after the bullet proof Saracen blew an engine and had it's gear box serviced.
I had some tuition with theory to start on the pre-selector gear box before driving the Ferret Scout car first. It was the sporty machine. Five speeds forward and reverse. This one had been driven at 130 kph forwards on one occasion. They run better when the gear box gets warm as the gear train of boxes is quite extensive.
After driving the Ferret for a while and going solo, I got further instruction in the Saracen. A Saracen is a 10.5 tonne armoured personnel carrier. The Ferret was only 4.5 tonne. The Saracen had 8 cyliners of a Rolls Royce systems and the Ferret 6. The Saracen lumbered everywhere. Howard the tutor and owner, got on fine but I was a bit big for the throw of the engagement pedal. You can find out more at
The Collection
For those who don't know pre-selector gear boxes, you select the next required gear, and just before you need it, you depress the engagement pedal - two seconds down and then let it up. It is easy to look at your terain and decide the next gear. It was a problem with the size of my feet and the placement of the pedal. I mention my size, I was about 193cm and I guess a little shorter these days, my feet had to fit inside part of the body work and the space was for size 9 max I reckon.
I wouldn't mind a Ferret really and if I didn't need some cash, lined up for something else, they could be useful about here some times, just great at spotlighting times
Where is the insurgency now, as we are ready, aren't we?
Now if I swung this turret around I could shoot you off your feet
I can tell you I had an enjoyable afternoon anyway and some really good memories
Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 23:40
Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 23:40
Let the ferret out for a run, eh John?
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 07:44
Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 07:44
Something like that GB. I was amazed how small it was for an armoured vehicle with two inside and its speed capability. The 4x4
suspension was pretty good too, all coils.
Reply By: Blaze - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 02:18
Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 02:18
But would it Tow a fully loaded KK John, not that I'm saying Heather would load it to much LOL. Maybe I am confused and thinking of my SHMBO.....
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 07:51
Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 07:51
Blaze, I am sure it would eb like the Taureg and the Jumbo to start with but the specs say 130 hp in the RR engine
at Wikipedia. But I think this would tow better as you wouldn't have to put all the sand in the back. I actually saw one on ebay a coupla weeks back. I didn't phone but Nick thought it was cheap.
Reply By: Rock Crawler - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 07:02
Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 07:02
Looking for labour voters are we ?
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 07:41
Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 07:41
Eric, spotlighters who do't get permission are easily tackled. I have some good friends that vote and may even be that way.
I reckon that if I had one, the 30 calibre barrel would have to come out, and take a 12
bore instead.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 08:06
Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 08:06
This handle em Eric? Handle different to a little Merc
Follow Up By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 09:27
Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 09:27
Eric,
You're the man for the job, you reckon you could get me one of those?
Might be a good replacement for the hilux in time....
Merry christmas
N, S, L & W
Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 00:56
Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 00:56
had no idea whi this was for a bit lol
Reply By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 07:30
Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 07:30
Happy Birthday John, or should we call you "Dangerous" now? :))
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 08:00
Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 08:00
More like "haphazzard" I think Jim. I am Pisces, so it was a long time ago. LOL Thanks for the thought.
I thought this was an interesting cutaway view of the internals
Note the transfer case position (there is also one the other side) and with the rear engine it was great to drive. The steering wheel runs parallel to the armour, canted away at the bottom, but at least the steering box was ahead of the wheel in the Ferret. Not so the Saracen where you work over the box.
Reply By: Al & Mrs Al- Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 10:38
Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 10:38
Glad you enjoyed it John
Lyn
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 17:25
Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 17:25
Was fun Lyn and I came home and did some homework on the Ferret. There was one passed in on ebay at that time.
Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 14:56
Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 14:56
John got a mate who collects military vehicles and fire trucks and he had a Ferret and Saracen Scout car he used them for Anzac Parades. Expensive toys to have.
Glad you enjoyed your pressie and happy belated ?0 B'day
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 17:27
Tuesday, Dec 23, 2008 at 17:27
There are a lot worse things to collect and I am sure expensive too Duncan. I wouldn't go a Saracen but the Ferret would be fun to own. I would let it out for Anzac parades too.