New to 4WD with an empty Landcruiser

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 13:29
ThreadID: 64534 Views:4545 Replies:10 FollowUps:12
Okay this is the hard bit. We are purchasing a 2nd hand 100 series Toyota Land Cruiser. First trip to the Kimberley from Canberra in May. We are not new to country and dirt track driving with me as an ex Army driver and my wife did the Redex trials and rallying when a "little" younger.

We do not know how far to go with 4WD and are using this "little" drive to find get ideas. Plan is to slip a mattress in the back, get something to keep the perishables from rotting, get something to cook with and have some fun on the way learning. Apart from good tyres, water, a recovery kit, radio, good maps and a good first aid kit we do not know what to get.Adelaide to Darwin is on the Ghan so that eliminates anything on the roof and we do not want a trailer and absolutely no caravan (been there!). At least not yet. Next trips are up the Cape and to Cameron's Corner.

Well that wasn't too bad I guess you have an idea where we are right now.

My question is this; What basic things should we take on this "learning" trip that I have not mentioned already? We have 5 months to set up so be gentle with us please. Thank you and Merry Christmas.

Reply By: troopyman - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 13:39

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 13:39
air compressor
AnswerID: 341220

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 13:44

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 13:44
Thanks troopyman. That will also be handy for the Cape Leveque run in case we need to drop the pressure in our tyres. I also read that they are a must for the Cape. Thanks and Merry Christmas to youi and yours
FollowupID: 608888

Reply By: stephen looking - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 13:42

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 13:42
Vk1dx

I would reconmmend a fridge ($1000-1500 40L) and that also requires dual batts get an isolator for $100 and a battery deep cycle for about $300.Use thick cabel and good joins.

Long range fuel tank. try for a 1000k range.

Even though you sid your sleeping in the car also get a tent with a good mosie net. you will use this.

I would also reconmmend getting a roof rack for the light stuff and when on the train put the stuff on the roof in the car.

Dont spend heaps on crap just get the good as you go if you need them

Cheers..........Steve.

AnswerID: 341221

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 13:47

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 13:47
Thanks Steve. Got a link for the fridge so I can show the "boss". Phil
FollowupID: 608889

Follow Up By: stephen looking - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 13:51

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 13:51
Hey mate thats a system link i would reconmend an engel 40l less power draw and quiet good if ya sleeping in the van. (does cost more but its worth it)

FollowupID: 608890

Reply By: SteveL (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 13:49

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 13:49
Firstly ,how long do you intend travelling? If you intend on going for a few months you may get sick of the cramped conditions in the back of 4wd,especially in hot weather.
You may also get sick of dragging all your gear out to gain access to your bed.There is also the question of where you put the gear when you get it out.-Steve

AnswerID: 341222

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 14:07

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 14:07
We are away for 6 weeks with a solid week of camping along the Gibb River Road and the rest is a mixture of camp/motel. That will help with the cramped conditions.

When we select what to take it MUST fit in the front seat for security when we are in the back sleeping.

May also get and take a "minimum" type of tent. Nothing flash though. We will get a better one later to go on a "solid" roof rack in the future. Cannot do it now because of the Ghan.

Lastly a couple of truck loads of common sense and humble inquisitiveness (spelling???) and a huge sense of adventure - Hows that!!!

Thanks Steve
FollowupID: 608891

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 14:08

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 14:08
vk1dx

After 40 years of mucking around with 4x4's it has come to this.

Look here for gear

Cheers and Merry Xmas

AnswerID: 341223

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 14:24

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 14:24
Thanks Willem I like the rear setup. I am tempted to do that first for this trip. Saves moving things into the front seat. Also the pic showing where you have the fridge certainly helped. Just the little things. Hmmmm Me is thinking now. Merry Christmas.
FollowupID: 608894

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 14:40

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 14:40
Yep and all the storage compartments in the back are made from 16mm MDF stuck together with 50mm angle brackets. Costs next to nothing to make and I use existing seat and seat belt anchor points to secure the storage compartments..

Since those photos were taken I have made some alterations to the rear but now think that the original set-up was better :-)

FollowupID: 608895

Reply By: Smudger - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 14:45

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 14:45
Get a copy of Camps Australia Wide 4 - it's the bible for campsites right around Oz. You can plan your day by it, or the whole trip.
Otherwise A decent box of tools and spares. Puncture repair kit (Cheapie from Super Cheap Autos will get you by.)
Having got trapped for a couple days by high water once on an overnighter, we never travel without our satphone these days. Buy or rent. There's a cheap way to buy. search this forum for earlier posts on Motorola 9500A
AnswerID: 341224

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 15:06

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 15:06
Comms are not a problem. I am an amateur radio op and have capabilities to transmit and receive everywhere on the HF, VHF and UHF bands. By law I have to stick to the ham bands but its helpful in an emergency to have this capability.

Thanks for the hint though.
FollowupID: 608897

Reply By: MAVERICK(WA) - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 15:01

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 15:01
welcome and get ready to enjoy. first remove the back seats then get started. willems is good and set up well. you will also benefit from some sort of shade cover from the roof.mine are blue tarps that are cheap and easy to replace. cable tie to a roof rack or bars and use them for shelter. you will get plenty of advice but the main one is to keep the vehicle as light as possible while still being comfortable and safe. rgds
Slow down and relax......

AnswerID: 341225

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 15:09

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 15:09
We will and we will.

What do you think for the roof rack which I think will be a full sized one and not the factory toy.

Is aluminium strong enough or should we go for the steel one despite putting weight up there?

FollowupID: 608898

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy (Bororen) - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 15:18

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 15:18
Also something to consider.
If you are travelling for a few hours a day, when you stop the diffs, gearbox and transfer case take hours to lose their heat (especially in the tropics). This heat radiates upwards into the floor of the vehicle.
It will be really hot in the vehicle with the residule heat and body heat. So you will need to have the windows down....Mozzies, sandflies etc. Make up a couple of flyscreens in a frame that can be placed in the window frame after the windows are wound down. Winding the window up 1/2 inch will secure them, make a groove in them to fit over the glass slightly to stop it being pushed out.
Or use a tent.

Just a thought.
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 341227

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 15:52

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 15:52
Now thats something I can do now. Thanks Dave
FollowupID: 608905

Reply By: Member - John and Val W (ACT) - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 15:48

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 15:48
Hi vk1dx.
Spent 6 weeks in the Kimberley last winter - see our blog. Went from Canberra and from the Kimberley went on to the Pilbara.

We travel in a Troopy and sleep in the vehicle - works well provided your vehicle is well set up. Some things to take not already mentioned include 2 spares, swimmers, good insect repellant, reliable camera/s, and preferably a good esky to complement your fridge.

Going from a Canberra winter to the Kimberley requires clothes and bedding for both summer and winter conditions. If you would like to chew the fat about vehicle set-up, things to see etc please contact us at JohnandValatexemaildotcomdotau

Val

AnswerID: 341235

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 16:01

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 16:01
We willl be joining the ST 4WD Club so may see you there. We are doing it the easy way between here and Darwin, Drive to Adelaide and taking the Ghan up. Back the same way. Your trip is a bit big for us novices at this stage. Turning the aircon up between Canberra and Adelaide means less winter clothes to take.

We shall see!!!!
FollowupID: 608907

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 00:12

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 00:12
Hi John and Val. Excellent report and great to meet tonight. I read it all to the end of the Kimberley. Poor old troopie. Had a rough run hey!. I cannot wait. Somehow I think we could have done with a couple of more days on the GRR. But then again we would have lost the opportunity to do the week cruise and to see the seaward side of the area. Like they say "You cannot have it all". It would have been nice to have some company like your group.Well maybe in the future. This is going to be an excellent choice to get the 4WD. Hope to catch up again soon. Phil and Sue (no one lives north side!!) Sorry we do not have your direct email so I used this means.
FollowupID: 612093

Reply By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 17:45

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 17:45
And I thank you all. That should get us up and back.

Merry Christmas
AnswerID: 341249

Reply By: robertbruce - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 22:59

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 22:59
Water
water
water
and
a
pop-top troopy are the go...

AnswerID: 341307

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 23:28

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 23:28
Understand about the water. That was one of the first things we put on the list. Not into drinking water much though. Prefer a good cuppa and never a coffee.

Re the troopies. No good. Won't go on the train (already paid for) and after doing a test drive just to see what they are like, we do prefer the better ride in the 100 series. But they worry me a little as they have a problem with the independant front end control arms.

No rush though as our first trip is in May.

Merry Christmas
FollowupID: 608968