Design your own garage site?

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 20:30
ThreadID: 64545 Views:6048 Replies:10 FollowUps:12
Some time ago I recall somebody posted some info about a website where you can design your own garage/shed. The site had a program whereby you could choose various pre-requisites regarding size, number of doors, type of roof (skillion, gable etc), PADs, windows etc etc.

Now I can't find the site either via a Google or via searching this site.

Does anybody know the one I mean?

Thanks in advance for any positive responses.

Cheers and Merry Xmas,

Reply By: donks1 - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 20:35

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 20:35
G'day Roachie

Not sure if this is the one you're refering to but it has some very good ideas. It has a total of 9 stages from memory

Hope it helps

Donks1home workshop
AnswerID: 341284

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 20:50

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 20:50
Thanks Donks.... that wasn't the one I was thinking of, but interesting (and scary) nonetheless......

FollowupID: 608944

Reply By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 20:41

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 20:41
just think of big and double it...it wont take long before you run out of room
AnswerID: 341285

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 20:50

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 20:50
Yes mate, the ideal size for a shed is 2 meters longer/wider etc!!! hahahaha
FollowupID: 608943

Follow Up By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 21:18

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 21:18
Couldn't agree more Member No1,
When I first built mine, and I use the word mine because it is. Fysh as another shed for horse gear. Anyway, I thought that a 6m x 10.5m would be plenty, Wrong.
I'm now thinking a 14.4mx 7m 4 bay shed with one lockup bay for a work shop.
You know what? I don't think it will be big enough. ;)
FollowupID: 608952

Reply By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 20:45

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 20:45
Ah oh,what are you up to Roachie? I can see it now " Kadina Dual Cab Coversions". lol, Anyway, Merry Xmas Bill, to yourself ,Annette & the boys., from Jodie & myself.
AnswerID: 341287

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 20:49

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 20:49
G'day Mate, We've finally decided to do something on that spare "camp ground" we have behind here!!! hahaha.

Annette seems (for some inexplicable reason) to be pre-occupied with a silly house....whereas I'm more interested in the MAIN building to be erected!!!

Cheers Laurie and to Jodie too..... are you still in the west?

FollowupID: 608942

Follow Up By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 20:56

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 20:56
No back home now (unfortunately). but are going to do it all again. We ended up with 7 oz's gold, which paid the fuel bill for us.
FollowupID: 608945

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 21:41

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 21:41
Roachie,

Think I've seen a site where you can do as you suggest. Feel it may have been one of the bigger shed suppliers, but which one now illudes me.

Have added 2 photos of my shed, which is now quite full,with "her" stuff. Luckily, I've manged to keep the 79 series in there.

Shed is 6M x 12M, with 3.2M walls. Plan to put in a mezzanine above the "workshop" end, at a later date. Also got the plumber to put in a dunny, shower & wash basin, just in case things get a little hot in the kitchen.

All best for Christmas & 2009, Everyone.

AnswerID: 341296

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 10:13

Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 10:13
G'day Bob

Merry Christmas.

Have you and the missus shifted in to town yet or is that still a little way off?

FollowupID: 608990

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 11:23

Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 11:23
Merry Christmas to you both, Willem.

Will send you an MM with all the goss.

FollowupID: 608995

Reply By: Peter 2 - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 22:21

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 22:21
I'm planning on a 9m x 20m with 3m walls and 20 deg pitch roof, gets scary when you start working out the cost!
AnswerID: 341300

Reply By: stephen looking - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 22:32

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 22:32
What ever you do just make shaw you can put a 5 ton hoyst in, car goes up, car goes down, car goes up, car goes down.

Cheers and Merry Christmas .

Steve.

AnswerID: 341303

Reply By: Member - Malcolm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 22:53

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 22:53

Is this the one ?

Sheds Online

Malcolm
Townsville
living the 'good life'

AnswerID: 341306

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 23:16

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 23:16
Malcolm,
Thanks, but no that's not the one...... I reckon it was a WA site from memory. You could design the shed in 3D and then place the order over the net and they'd deliver it in flat-pack type of thing. I was mainly interested in the design factor as you could choose all the options and it would show you on the screen what the end product would look like.
Thanks anyway,
FollowupID: 608967

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 23:18

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 23:18
Hey Bill

This what you need! Could fit a small house in there as well for Annette.

Shed belongs to an EO Member.

AnswerID: 341309

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 23:30

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 23:30
Thanks Willie, that would be ideal!!!! I wonder whether the owner would notice if I moved a bit of my gear into one corner??? hahahaha

I think the dual cab on the left is a bit of a give-away as to whose shed it might be. I especially like the height; it would high enough to allow me to swing open the lid of the camper trailer which is necessary when we arrive home and the canvas is wet from the previous pack-up etc.....

Merry Xmas mate

FollowupID: 608969

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 23:31

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2008 at 23:31

The house is between the two sheds ;-)
living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 608970

Reply By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 07:27

Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 07:27
Merry Christmas Mate, and to Annette and the Boys.

So you are finally gunna build, wow, that's good.

Click here

Definitely, a stronger built shed, with box section, and not c-section.

Cheers Mate
AnswerID: 341325

Reply By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 07:58

Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 07:58
Merry Xmas Roachie,

Yeah mate that was me that had the thread about sheds (you have a good memory!!)

There are 2 thread ID's because the computer played up at the time and I double posted. They are 58830 and 58830.

That website is www.shedsales.com.au.

I ended up with a 8mx12mx3.2m shed.

Its finally up and I've started fitting out the inside with shelves / water etc.

Give me a MM as I can give you heaps of "first hand" experience in what to look for and how to build if your going to do it yourself. I had to learn the hard way cause the instructions that come with them (well mine anyway) are pretty lacking.
AnswerID: 341326

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 10:24

Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 10:24
Mate; you're a legend! That's the site I was after and I'll save it to my favourites.

Did you end up getting your shed from them, or just use their tool to design etc?

FollowupID: 608993

Follow Up By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 11:59

Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 11:59
No just used their site for design and also an idea of price. Then once I knew what I wanted I let my fingers do the walking ;))

Best thing is you can do multiple designs (and save them) and see how much it changes the overall price.

I didn't put an access door or windows in mine because I couldn't justify the extra cost. They're not hard to add latter anyway. Second hand windows are cheap to buy and with 2 roller doors why bother with an access door.

Big difference in materials too mate - if the manufacturers are close by it pays to go and have a look at the construction method. My mate in Perth had a 6x12m shed constructed and it has no portal frame....just little C section with a truss roof.

Good luck.
FollowupID: 608999