Rally 4000's

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 16:32
ThreadID: 64560 Views:3646 Replies:6 FollowUps:12
Anyone know how to align these things??

They fit rigid to the bullbar unlike the lightforces with a seperate bracket that you can tilt with.. so dont tilt up and down that way but where the globe goes appears to be slotted, I could be wrong???

Anyone enlighten me pls??

Reply By: Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 16:48

Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 16:48
G'day Truckster & merry Xmas!

The 4000's mount direct to the bullbar as you stated - just try and get them pretty close to straight.

Tighten the bottom lock nut up as tight as possible then loosen the knurled knobs off with the supplied allen key. This allows the body of the 4000's to be adjusted.

Once adjusted I hand tighten and then with someone assisting to make sure they don't move - tighten to "JEEZ" tightness with the allen key.

Good luck - great lights too!

Tim
AnswerID: 341356

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 16:53

Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 16:53
Hey Tim, how ya been? Mery xmas to you and yours too..

So you undo the large 2 round things yes?

Then what?? is there something inside there to twist, ???

I got em used, so no instructions nothing

thought Id struck gold here
http://www.hella.com/produktion/HellaUSA/WebSite/MiscContent/Download/Drivers/Lighting/460_818-15.PDF

but it says "Go get em adjusted at a workshop" !!!

thx
FollowupID: 609005

Follow Up By: Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 16:55

Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 16:55
Once you loosen off the two big knurled knobs the body of the 4000's will move freely (to a degree) relative to the base. There's a fair amount of adjustment.

I've got some instructions somewhere - but won't be able to get (find) them until tomorrow - give me a yell if you need them!

Tim
FollowupID: 609007

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 16:58

Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 16:58
Ahhhh ok... I'll try it tomorrow round the campfire :)~ few beers should see them adjusted.. LMAO

These are going to be HID' in a few weeks.. got the kit sittin here ready to go :)

Also gotta get some covers. The white ones are worth more than shares.. not a fan of the clear ones.. but at $15 I'll take em!
FollowupID: 609008

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 18:32

Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 18:32
You get Bruce sorted Tim. We gotta be down that way for three a 'Life Terms plus' anniversary in just over a week so give a hoy if you see the rig passing through.

Bruce, how come you reckon that people won't try to pinch the Hellas?
FollowupID: 609011

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 20:58

Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 20:58
Twice I've come out to find the 'shell/body' of the LForces on the ground... once they cleaned out neighbour of $20k of tools and stuff from 2 utes/trailer, and mine must have been incidental, but they were interrupted that time.

I've used modified Barri nuts on it this time, the average schmo might not have one in his pocket!
FollowupID: 609024

Reply By: troopyman - Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 16:48

Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 16:48
I just googled and it says precision adjustment without tools using the knobs . Maybe its the knob adjusting it .
AnswerID: 341357

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 16:53

URL?
FollowupID: 609006

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 16:53

Sounds like someone has ended up on Santa's "NICE" list!!! haha

Strewth, I got exactly what I deserved........ Jack-sheet!!! hahaha
AnswerID: 341358

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 16:59

Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 16:59
lol... I wish... ex-mistake and kids are in USA visiting outlaws.. so Home Alone. :)

These I've had for a while, going to HID them.

Got sick of people tryin to steal the 240's...
FollowupID: 609009

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 16:59

Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 16:59
PS.. Jack sheet for me was more socks..
outstanding. :(
FollowupID: 609010

Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 18:34

Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 18:34
Hey Truckster, you have got yourself some great lights. I have the HID version. Buy some plastic bags for water crossings though, as the water just flows in to the height of the entry point for the wires on the back.
Willie.
AnswerID: 341361

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 20:55

Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 20:55
Hey Willie..
Only paid 200 for em, and hear they are shiz for water proofing...

Is there anything better than a plastic bag for this?? Anyone figured out how to waterproof them? Surely there is, specially at the price they want for em new..!!!

Safe new yrs to you and yours too mate.

Take care.
FollowupID: 609022

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 08:32

Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 08:32
Morning Truckster,

An absolute bargain and plastic bags are cheap anyway !

I think driving lights need to have air movement, to allow for heating up and expansion. However, well designed lights have the wires coming in through the bottom so it forms an air lock above, or use a water proof diaphram which allows airflow.

I am used to the problem now and always carry med. size garbo bags for the odd creek crosssing - even a very short dunk will turn them into half full fish bowls, but as I said previously, the HIDs are bloody "brilliant" lights.

A quote from an email written to me by Robert Stevenson of Hella Australia :

"Please note that the Predator lights are designed to the highest standard, however they were not designed to be submersed. If you are looking at making river crossings where the lights will be submerged then we do have a light that has been specifically designed for this function called the Hydrolux."

As Mr Stevenson said, they should not be submersed - so why do Hella con 4WDers into buying unsuitable models, by advertising them in 4WD mags? He is saying here, that the only light they have which may be submerged, is the Hydrolux.

This I believe is one of those posts that Michael was talking about - where companies ring up and threaten to sue . He need not worry in this instance though, as I have copies of all the emails - Hella do not have a leg to stand on.

Cheers mate,

Willie.

FollowupID: 609038

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 13:32

Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 13:32
Gee, thats an outstanding design :(
Even worse when it comes directly from the company!

Amazing how good marketing is these days isnt it...

Had a go at the adjusters last night, what a crap setup! Stopped twice, first time directed them too low, second time was almost as bad possum spotting as the first.. will head for the back road here tonight and try again uninterrupted.

Hmmmm wonder how good they will be non waterproof to HID them. Might be better sticking with the 240's ..

Why is it so hard to decide :( :( :(
FollowupID: 609259

Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 18:43

Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 18:43
*Anyone enlighten me pls?? *

Yeah Hey you lousy mongrel whens that bloody coffee ????,Next Xmas lol

Cheers and Merry Xmas
AnswerID: 341362

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 20:57

Thursday, Dec 25, 2008 at 20:57
LOL!!
I am a slack arse.

But family is all in USA at moment so each night time is mine!!!

Gimme a call during the week, or lateish sunday arvo, should be back from HCountry then, work monday :(
FollowupID: 609023

Reply By: autosparky - Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 00:23

Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 00:23
just loosen the large nuts . i measure the height of hi beam on my legs whilst standing in front of the bull bar, then align that mark with the spotties on and its pretty close. probably a fraction to hi or low. then tighten the bleep e out of the adjuster nuts . with an hid kit they are fantastic .
AnswerID: 341381