Who makes the best, bullet proof, off-road trailer?

Submitted: Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 14:46
ThreadID: 64577 Views:10571 Replies:8 FollowUps:17
Who makes the most bullet proofoff-road box trailers - not campers, but trailers.

I am thinking of building a trailer that will take a quad bike, an outboard and a fold up trailer ( folded) in a drive-in compartment on the bottom. On top of that I want roofracks (with rollers) with my 3.7 tinnie on it and on top of that I want roof racks with a rooftop tent.

Hvy duty axle, bullet proof independant suspension.

Willie

Reply By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 15:14

Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 15:14
Hey Wiillie,

When we were researching camper trailers we came across Ozzie Off Road at Caboolture QLD we spoke at length with Kerry Whiting I do believe he will custom build anything you want including a trailer - he is no B.S. and very passionate about his product. http://www.ozzieoffroad.com.au Ph: 07 5494 5333
We are currently thinking of building a trailer through him as we are missing so much in a 23 foot van but don't want a camper trailer as such.

We found he took the time to listen to us, offer suggestions ect highly recommend him.

Matt Caz & Kids

AnswerID: 341414

Follow Up By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 15:16

Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 15:16
oops that phone number should be: 07 5495 5333

Sorry
FollowupID: 609072

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 16:54

Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 16:54
Matt Caz & Kids,
Thanks for the info. I will call Kerry after Christmas . It will be interesting to hear his ideas on the best suspension.
Willie.
FollowupID: 609081

Reply By: JR - Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 15:21

Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 15:21
Track trailers make some gear trailers
Check thier website
JR
AnswerID: 341415

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 17:49

Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 17:49
Thanks JR. I have looked at the TRACK TRAILER web site before . Nice gear, but half of it is discontinued etc.
Willis.
FollowupID: 609086

Follow Up By: JR - Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 19:19

Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 19:19
Talk to them, they still make stuff for Telstra, military etc etc and had a nice new gear trailer in there for sale after I bought a second hand Eagle
Would have suited me just as well and been cheaper
JR
FollowupID: 609096

Reply By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 15:40

Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 15:40
Willie,
In terms of suspension my research shows that MC2 Asymmetric independent suspension is by far the best for off road trailers and campers. It was originally designed for military use for carrying sensitive electronic gear so it is not only very robust but also does not jolt the contents around on rough terrain. I think it is used on quality campers like Tvan etc. In preparation to buy my own off road camper Ive researched this and asked a lot of knowledgeable people - without exception they all say MC2 suspension is the very best there is available.
GPM
AnswerID: 341417

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 17:52

Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 17:52
GPM,
Is this the TRACK TRAILER suspension ?
Willie
FollowupID: 609087

Follow Up By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 18:58

Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 18:58
Yes it could be the same thing - I am pretty sure Tvan is made by Track Trailers
GPM
FollowupID: 609094

Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 11:54

Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 11:54
I have a camper trailer with the MC2 suspension and find it brilliant. I have towed it to many places over corrugations, bush tracks in the high country and find it has few limitations. The vehicle and my conservatism are probably it's greatest limitation.

[img]
[/img]

Before I bought it I did my homework on different suspension types and I listened to all the differing opinions about 'keeping it simple', 'easier to repair with leaves', plus a host of other comments and experiences. Fully galvanised trailer with great storage and this suspension won me over to the Desert Eagle (in my price range).

What finally convinced me was the video I was given of Track Trailer doing some tests on their suspension on one of the military proving grounds. Comparing basic leaf suspension to this was like chalk and cheese. I have a copy and would upload it if I could figure out all the utube technicalities as it's a slightly different file type... They will gladly send you a copy if you contact them.

From their website, I am assuming they don't do much in the way of simple trailers for the public, but they may sell the suspension to add to another trailer if you contact them.

Good luck with the further research.

FollowupID: 609135

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 17:58

Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 17:58
Mark,
Thanks very much for your informative answer. I am contacting Track Trailer after the Christmas break. I will ee what they are making and selling.
Willie.
FollowupID: 609684

Reply By: Crackles - Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 16:24

Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 16:24
Just researching trailers myself. Track suspension is arguably the best but very expensive. I believe they still make gear trailers for the public (Army style) & you'd need to customize the top yourself.
Sugar Glider suspension do a coil kit for offroad trailers at about $3000 & is what Ultimate Campers use although they are reluctant to build the whole trailer.
Depending on the actual diamentions & weight of the boat & bike this trailer could end up being pretty big, almost 2.7 metres high & topping the scales at 1.6 tonne plus depending on what fuel & gear you hope to carry as well. Realistically you may need to go to a tandem to carry all that.
Cheers Craig.........
AnswerID: 341421

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 17:41

Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 17:41
Hi Craig,

There will be no fuel on the trailer. Other gear will go in the Cruiser.

The Track Trailer suspension will support 1750 kg on the single axle ( 1350 kg tare + 400 load ). However, I cannot see the weight getting up to this.

boat weighs 80 kg
outboard weighs 32 kg
quad bike weighs 280 kg
rooftop tent weighs 60 kg
folding trailer weighs 57 kg
water 100 kg

APPROX TOTAL LOAD 609 kg

PLUS
Weight of trailer inc. racks ??? kg ( 600 kg ???? )

After saying that though, I do like dual axles (blowouts).
FollowupID: 609084

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 16:33

Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 16:33
Why does it need to be bullet proof? Not planning on taking it through western Sydney, are you ? LOL
(with apologies to those who live in that area).
AnswerID: 341422

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 16:50

Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 16:50
High Al,

It has gotta be bullut prufe on accounta it's gunna ave so mutch gold init but. Cos Ime gunna strikit ritch.

W
FollowupID: 609080

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 19:54

Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 19:54
High Al,?? Have I been promoted ? LOL

I certainly hope you strike it rich :))
FollowupID: 609104

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 21:08

Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 21:08
Footy,

Careful when you're talking about the 'golden West' :)))

Bro,

The way you're going you'll have to get dispensation from the RTA etc to tow more than one trailer at a time hahahahaha

FollowupID: 609106

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 22:51

Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 22:51
Sorry Footy- toomuch Christmas cheer I fear . How come no Chrissy poem this year?
W
FollowupID: 609113

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 06:26

Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 06:26
Willie, this is a Xmas poem this year, it's been "blogged". I noticed one category in the blogs section was "poetry" so put it there instead of here.
FollowupID: 609120

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 17:19

Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 17:19
Good concept Willie would be very interested in seeing what you come up with.
What happened to the Caravan??

AnswerID: 341425

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 17:47

Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 17:47
Hi John,

I still have the Bushtracker, but I think I might need a quad bike to take out detecting, as age catches up with me !

You could also do beach launches etc with the quad and the collapsible trailer.

The boat rack would have to be of the swing out variety like I had on my old Trak Shak camper. then I could erect my roof top tent easily.

Willie.
FollowupID: 609085

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 18:36

Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 18:36
Willie

Knowing how hard you are on vehicles....... I suggest you trade up to a V8 LC Ute, and fit the Tinnie and Quad in the back whilst still sleeping in comfort in the Bushtracker

AnswerID: 341434

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 22:55

Friday, Dec 26, 2008 at 22:55
Hi Willem,
I would get a Troopy V8 ute- but they do not make one with an auto box. Nice idea though, as then I could tow the house as well.
Maybe I could get a LC200 made into a ute by Mr and Mrs Al .
Mike.
FollowupID: 609114

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 16:55

Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 16:55
I've sometimes considered going the custom route - but using the chassis/suspension/axles/disc brakes/tanks/spare wheel holder of a written-off vehicle. In my case a 79 series wreck could be chopped. The advantages would be the original bits are known to be bullet-proof and were engineered by Toyota. It would have the same track. Spare parts are all common.
Downside would be a bit of extra weight, but you wouldn't need the rear diff or axle shafts as the rear hubs are fully-floating.

I have no idea how easy it would be to convert it or what the regulations would be.
AnswerID: 341609

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 18:03

Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 18:03
Phil,
That's an interesting idea. Just use the tray of a buggered vehicle and build you own top on it.
I think that would have to be the most bullet proof as you said.
Let me think about this.
Thanks and have a great New Year,
Willie
FollowupID: 609688