Submitted: Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 19:51
Des Lexic
G'day and seasons greatings all.
I have a 70l Trailblazer fridge that works on 12v just great but if I try to run on 240v it just wont go. I have checked both fuses, checked the wiring plugs and used different power points but has anyone had the same issue. I'm hoping its not the power pack as it hasn't had a lot of use and that the problem may be something else. There is also a relay or something or other that may be an issue but I dont have a 240v multi meter to check the rest.
Thanks for your help
des
Reply By: Garbutt - Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 21:15
Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 21:15
Lexic surely it must be your transformer, you may borrow
mine and try it, if that fails I have a close relative who is a frigy as you know.
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 01:21
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 01:21
Yes I have considered your fridgy mate but last time I had an issue with an electrical problem, he stuck his head in the sand a bit.
I will catch up with him shortly
Reply By: mowing - Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 21:20
Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 21:20
Des, with the power pack or transformer you are just converting the 240 to 12 volt so if it is running on 12 volt then the problem will be with the transformer. You don't need a 240 volt multimeter as you just want to test the 12 volt supply plug that comes out of the fridge. .
Follow Up By: Member - Scrubcat (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 21:51
Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 21:51
G`day Des,
I reckon you have just made history mate, this post is the first I have ever seen on any
forum regarding a problem with a Trailblaza Fridge.
I will watch with interest and hope for a good outcome for you.
Scrubby.
Follow Up By: Member - Scrubcat (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 21:54
Saturday, Dec 27, 2008 at 21:54
OOPS ,meant to use "reply" not "follow up"
Scrubby.
Reply By: friar - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 07:52
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 07:52
G/Day Des Lexic my trailblazer had a similar problem ,replaced the small black electric fitting with about 4 terminals on it problem solved,this was after about 15 years of use.Ring trailblazer they are very helpful over the phone. Friar
Reply By: Member No 1- Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 11:20
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 11:20
take it to sparkie....he can test the input and outputs for you
could be a few things...trany, rectifier or even broken wiring
Reply By: maf - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 12:50
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 12:50
My 80L trailblazer kept cutting out on 240. When we tested the voltage, we were getting
well over 240v out of the power point and causing the transformer to cut out. Solution- run it through a 20m lead and it works perfectly!
Reply By: Rockape - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 13:33
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 13:33
If it turns out to be your power supply and you need a new one,Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found this is what I use.
It is regulated so the voltage stays constant no matter what the input voltage (with in reason), these power supplies are very robust and
well made. I added the fan myself to keep everything cool.