OT I know, but a question Re Firefox.

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 17:31
ThreadID: 64614 Views:3385 Replies:15 FollowUps:14
I have been considering changing to Firefox as my Internet browser, in the hope I can access this site a little quicker,. Is anyone else using Firefox? If so what's it like ? Is it actually quicker than IE. Sorry for being OT but just qrious.

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 17:35

Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 17:35
Hi Barry
I have been having problems with IE with this site. It was taking up to 18 seconds to load a forum topic. I loaded Firefox and it is instant.

Go for it and you will see the difference.

Who has been here

AnswerID: 341613

Reply By: Member - Barry H (WA) - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 17:47

Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 17:47
Thanks for that Stephen, that is just the information I was hoping for.
AnswerID: 341615

Reply By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 17:49

Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 17:49
Hi Barry,
I've been using FireFox for awhile now and never had a drama with it.
Sure it updates regularly, but that's a good thing.
Make it your default browser, and import all your favorites for IE to you Bookmarks in FF, you can download a plugin so you can switch between IE & For Fox. IE TAB
EG; when you need to go to Microsoft's web site to download updates manually.
You won't look back. ;-)

AnswerID: 341616

Follow Up By: Member - Barry H (WA) - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 17:55

Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 17:55
Hairs & Fysh,

Thanks for that info, did you change your e-mail to thunderbox or keep your old service?
FollowupID: 609283

Follow Up By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 18:09

Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 18:09
Barry, I use Outlook, The reason for this is, I use a lot of MS Office programs. A lot of people I know now use Gmail. I use Gmail as well, but what I do is forward my mail from Exetel to Gmail. I also have Gmail fetch mail from Exetel. I do this because I'm a tight arse and I'm not going to pay for spam filtering from Exetel and Gmail has a huge 2.7GB of space. Also I use a little program called Pop Peeper that i can setup to retrieve mail at the sever, if I don't want to down load mail I can delete it at the server. Then I use Gmail as I mentioned before and clean up the spam and trash. I believe that Gmail is is getting better with word processing and the likes.
A world with out fences or walls isn't as good as a world without Windows or Gates, I've pinched that from somewhere ;-)
FollowupID: 609285

Follow Up By: Member - Barry H (WA) - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 18:33

Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 18:33
Hairs & Fysh,

Thanks, I think I will stick with Outlook for the time being, but I will definately change to Firefox, thanks for the info.

Barry H.
FollowupID: 609288

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 17:51

Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 17:51
Been using it for years. Very rarely do I have to revert to IE, even banking sites now support FireFox.
AnswerID: 341617

Follow Up By: Member - Barry H (WA) - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 17:57

Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 17:57
Mr Bitchi,

All this info is convincing me to make the move, thanks.
FollowupID: 609284

Reply By: Tippa - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 18:56

Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 18:56
use IE on my laptop and mozilla firefox on my PC, and i havent really noticed any difference in speed, reliability etc. I might change my laptop over to firefox but IE is doing the job ok and so i cant be bothered really.
If they were chalk and cheese i'd run the better one on both, but i cant really tell the difference.
For those without it, maybe it a case of "the grass is always greener..."
I'm no computer expert, but i wouldnt get too excited about switching to firefox personally.
If the IT experts say there are other benefits that i havent found, then go for it of course.
AnswerID: 341629

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 19:59

Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 19:59
One word, Security.
FollowupID: 609310

Reply By: The Explorer - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 19:17

Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 19:17
Hello - each to his own - download it and try it, then make your own mind up. It’s not a massive download and if you don’t like it just uninstall it.

I have given both a bash, and until recently didn’t bother with MF mainly as it didn’t (and still doesn’t) work with some websites that specifc plug-ins that are not available for MF...however in recent times have received barrage of spyware/tracking cookies ect when using IE while MF has remained unaffected.....So now I use MF all the time except when I need to use websites that won’t work. There are a lot of bored computer geeks out there who love trying to bring MS down. On the other hand Mozilla is open source, non profit effort (apparently) so doesn’t receive the attention IE does.

Here is MF's spin on there security

Firefox Security

AnswerID: 341637

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 20:05

Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 20:05
It's more a case of how the browser is designed, rather than the attention it gets. The underlying "engine" of FF (gecko) is for more secure and resistant to vulnerabilities than IE.

When IE was originally written there wasn't the need for security like we have today. Back then you didn't even need an Anti Virus program or Firewall. My how times have changed....

The big problem with IE is it is still based on the original code from ~15 years ago. It should be scrapped and completely re-written.
FollowupID: 609311

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 19:32

Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 19:32
I have used IE6 (7 & 8 annoyed my computer) for years. Recently downloaded Google Chrome as well. It is a lot quicker than most.
AnswerID: 341639

Reply By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 22:06

Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 22:06
Yep, been using it for 2-3 years i think. Much better than IE. No dramas at all and would not think of going back. Give it a try. It's free and it will import all data from IE for you. Good luck.
AnswerID: 341660

Reply By: Member - Brad S (SA) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 02:22

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 02:22
Hi Barry

I use Firefox for both Windoze and Ubuntu (Linux)....works a treat & good security.
Also easier to resize text - [ctrl] & + or -

Brad
AnswerID: 341678

Reply By: Thunderflash - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 07:28

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 07:28
The way I understand it, Firefox is open source coding, that is the way it is built is not hidden from anybody. IE is not open source and as it is an MS product is the target of hackers and miscreants in general. An example of this is the recent attack (couple of weeks ago) suffered by IE in which hackers found a backdoor into IE and were able to extract personal information from thousands of unknowing IE users computers.

I personally use Firefox and have been for a number of years without problem, except for the occasional site that doesn't support it (although as mentioned in an earlier post this is becoming far less often).

As most posts have said, download (after all its free) and give it a go!

AnswerID: 341682

Reply By: Member - Toolman (VIC) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 07:58

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 07:58
I've been using Firefox for years now. I have not encountered a site that needed IE in quit a long time (A year or so). I do have IE on my PC just in case but have not turned it on for a long time. I can download all my MS upgrades etc without any problems using FF.

I also switched from Outlook to Thunderbird about 10 months ago. I imported all my contact lists from Outlook without too much hassle and was up and running very quickly. I was reluctant to move from Outlook but it was taking ages to boot up so I made the move out of frustration. Thunderbird does not have the functionality of Outlook, such as a Calendar and Task schedule. I also can't "un-spam" an email that Thunderbird has decided is spam but that might just be my lack of knowledge with it. I would have said Outlook was better but much slower to load up - much slower. Now that I've discovered Mozilla "Lightning" which is an add on to Thunderbird which supports a calendar and a task schedule I'm almost at the Outlook level but that's good enough for me.

Toolman
AnswerID: 341685

Follow Up By: rourkster - Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 00:10

Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 00:10
You could also try Sunbird which is Mozilla's stand alone calendar program that integrates quite nicely with Thunderbird.
FollowupID: 609596

Reply By: Maîneÿ (wa) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 09:23

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 09:23
Barry,
Repeat all that's said above, but add it's soo easy to use and can be 'modified' to suit your individual requirements

Mainey . . .
AnswerID: 341693

Follow Up By: Angler - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 10:59

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 10:59
Been using it for some years now with it's mate thunderbird. No probs at all though late;ly I noticed the xploroz site now does not open a new window when accessing a thread. It used to do this and I don't know if it is normal.
Anyone else noticed this?

Pooley
FollowupID: 609367

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 14:08

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 14:08
Angler

This is a function of how you set up your options. Go to - Tools > Options > Tabs. At the top of the box there is a couple of radio buttons that change between the two actions you mention.

FollowupID: 609376

Follow Up By: Angler - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 14:27

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 14:27
That didn't fix it Pete, It opened a new page in the same window. It used to actually open a new window and keep the original open as well. The advantage was if you answered a message you could just shut down the window and not see your answer again etc.

Hard to explain realy. it's just different now.

David ????

Angler
FollowupID: 609381

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 20:21

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 20:21
Angler thats a site feature.
Have a look at the top of the forum you will see display options, you need to tick the box that says "Open in new window"
You can also set the forum Response Time to display by post number of time of last post.
And the number of Threads per page can be set to suit your likes.

FollowupID: 609426

Follow Up By: Angler - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 21:51

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 21:51
John VIC

Thanks Johnno,

Worked a treat, back to normal. Wonder why it changed.

Must try those other features as well.

Angler
FollowupID: 609439

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 22:07

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 22:07
No worries Mate.

I think the setting revert back to default after a few months so will need to be reset from time to time???

FollowupID: 609443

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 11:06

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 11:06
I gave Internet Exploder away back in the pre Mozilla days is Netscape 4. I have been using tabbed browsing and Australian dictionaries long before they were thought of by Micro$oft. Get with the leader and not with the follower.

As stated earlier, you can copy things across from IE. You do this as part of the installation process - don't forget to do that. When you copy your bookmarks across it does not change anything in your old IE system.

After you have Firefox up and running you then go to Tools > Add-ons > Browse All Add-ons. This will bring up a page in your browser that you can search for all types of helper add on programmes. Under "Dictionaries and Language Packs" you will find an "English (Australian)" heading - go through the motions and you will not be asked to put a Z in analyse (and similar other annoyances.) Then look for IE-Tab so that you can do your manual Micro$oft updates through FF. One I like particularly is "Foxmarks" - This allows me to synchronise my bookmarks, settings and savespasswords amongst all the computers I use.

When you have FF up and running, download and install Thunderbird. Again you copy your address books and mail across from your previous M$ mail programme (without upsetting it.) Then go to Tools > Account Settings - put a tick in "Leave Messages on Server," "For at Most" and "Until I delete them" - insert 10 in the "At the most" setting box. This will give you 10 days use of Thunderbird and you will still be able to go back and download your mail into your previous mailer and not loose anything there. Again give the leader a go and give the follower the flick. You can download all sorts of calendars, organisers and things as add-ons for Thunderbird.

ps give them a fair trial

AnswerID: 341700

Follow Up By: Angler - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 14:25

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 14:25
The biggest advantage of firefox and thunderbird is the backup facility. (it's an add on from the add on listings)

You can backup everything from either programme with a couple of clicks. Try doing that with IE or outlook. The whole lot just gets stored for future use or copying to a laptop.

Brilliant add on.

Angler
FollowupID: 609378

Reply By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 19:11

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 19:11
Hey guys,
Here is a neat add on for Fire Fox. Speed Dial
I have found it very handy.
AnswerID: 341752

Reply By: WBB_OZ - Friday, Jan 02, 2009 at 00:04

Friday, Jan 02, 2009 at 00:04
Hi Bery,

I use OPERA for the internet. It's verry fast - here in germany.

G'day from Germany

Wolfram
AnswerID: 342168