Member - Brian (WA)
Did not think this wood happen. Going to get the b-b-q going this
arvo,Decided to get the Engel out and put on the patio for the
drinks.
Well it's struggling to get down to +10. on freeze setting.
Was going ok on 12 volt last time out. Ah
well Engel's do fail.
Will carry out tests on 12 volt tomorrow.
Reply By: Member - bushfix - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 18:30
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 18:30
g'day,
"Will carry out tests on 12 volt tomorrow."
funny but i thought this would have been more pressing than to post the issue....
good luck Brian and I hope it costs you nothing.
cheers.
Reply By: Rockape - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 18:36
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 18:36
Brian,
I hope you followed the emergency disaster procedure and called the SES.
This could go down as one of the worst disasters of 2008
Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 18:46
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 18:46
>Did not think this wood happen.<
Maybe its a 'wooden' Engel
and
That's why it 'wooden' work
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 18:50
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 18:50
g'day mate,
yep i was wondering if the spelling error meant it was a "oh to hell with fixing the issue...easier to type a post.." ha ha...
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 23:50
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 23:50
r cum on I understood it... LOL
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 08:49
Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 08:49
Cos yer brain works in Reverse Polarity. hehehehehhhhehe
Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 23:11
Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 23:11
Hi Brian, we have had the same problem with ours after letting it sit for a while without using it, ours finally cranks up and then doesn't miss a beat but we are waiting for the day when it doesn't crank up. I believe the best thing for the fridge is to keep it going and not let it sit for months on end. Now there's a good excuse to keep
camping!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Deanna
Reply By: Ray - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 01:40
Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 01:40
My Engel will not run on 12v so I use an inverter but then again
mine is over 30 yrs old
Reply By: robertbruce - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 13:11
Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 13:11
My Wacoe wont run without a small retirement fund, so i use ice, it's only six days old.
Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 16:53
Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 16:53
Are you sure the
shop didn't dud you ?
Peel off the Engel label - I'm sure you'll find they've stuck an Engel label on a Waeco Fridge.
Reply By: Member - Ian F (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 10:29
Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 10:29
Brian,
My old 29litre engel had the same problem 15 months ago and the experts told me it was not worth repairing!
So I bought a new one.
I was talking to a work college and he told me to turn it upside down (switch off) for a 1/2 hour then right way up wait 10 mins then restart, so I thought
well i may as
well give it a go.
Long story short, it worked so now I have two Fridges.
Give it a go Brian as it costs nothing.