Mapping problem solved(post 64598)

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 19:03
ThreadID: 64619 Views:2374 Replies:6 FollowUps:6
This arvo 'Young' Dave(Member Dave B(NSW)) and his good wife dropped in for a cuppa on their way home to the Hill from the Big Smoke.

So we got chatting about my new purchase, the Acer Aspire One and mapping and my post last night and Dave said "What's that?" pointing at my external Hard Drive. "Doh!?" Yerrrrr... sometimes it defies logic how dumb one can be...LOL

So we stuck the 2 x Natmap discs into the desktop and then transferred the contents to the external HD and then when that was done, connected the latter up to the Acer and downloaded from there and now I am happy to report, that the mapping which I required, is working fine.

Thanks Dave. Yer a genius!

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 19:07

Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 19:07
so you weren't watching the cricket then...i guess Judith was passing the commentary down the hall....

yep, a relief when computer issues get sorted, for sure...
AnswerID: 341631

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 19:12

Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 19:12
Mate

I only like watching the cricket when we are winning....lol

Too much to do around the place.......lol

FollowupID: 609296

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 19:16

Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 19:16
"how dumb one can be...LOL " you're meet me :-)
AnswerID: 341636

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 19:19

Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 19:19
don't you start...

hope you get a few days break Richard, and a ripper 2009.

FollowupID: 609299

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 19:31

Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 19:31
Same to you and all

FollowupID: 609304

Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 23:15

Sunday, Dec 28, 2008 at 23:15
Glad I could help Willem.

By the way, I could not believe all the folders you had for you stuff on the backup drive, I am sure Office Works would not have as many folders in their shop as what you have got.

But you are really well organised with your backups, good stuff.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 341667

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 08:14

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 08:14
Hi Dave, maybe you can help me here to please. I am having trouble putting my Natmap disc on to my external as well. I have tried from my laptop and desktop and it just does not want to happen. Most simple directions would e a great help thanks.

Cheers Bruce
FollowupID: 609348

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 08:43

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 08:43
Young Dave....................................

We have two computers, each one with a fair amount of stuff stored in it. At least 10,000 photos, website material, Genealogy stuff, Art stuff, heaps of 4x4 stuff.

I have organised MY DOCUMENTS to contain only 35 major Folders. Each folder has its own folders. For instance the 4x4 one had 35 folders and 25 other documents. A lot of research goes into any project. Like next years winter trek, has 42 documents relating to it, so far...lol.

FollowupID: 609351

Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 10:17

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 10:17
Willem, not sure about the 'young' Dave tag.

Do I call you 'Old' Willem hahahahaha

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 341695

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 13:17

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 13:17
To ISZUMU

You will have to tell it to install it to there as programs usually install by default to C:/programs
When the disk starts it should give a box asking where you want to install it to. If it does make a new folder on your external drive and then tell it to put it there. Not to hard but if you do that u will have to have the external hooked up to run it.
Usually better to have them on C: and put Data only on external drives.

AnswerID: 341709

Reply By: Isuzumu - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 15:36

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 15:36
Thanks Dave will give that a try. I have to put it on the external H/D as I just brought a ASUS EeePC and it only has 12 Gig H/D.

Cheers Bruce.
AnswerID: 341732

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 20:23

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 20:23
You should install the program on the C drive and put the maps on the external and then tell the program where to find them.

FollowupID: 609427