Where Do You Put Your Clothes When You Sleep in a Tent?

Submitted: Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 13:18
ThreadID: 64627 Views:5803 Replies:12 FollowUps:13
This is for those of us with an Oztent/Blackwolf or a hike tent or a swag where tent space is a premium.

I often find trying to make space in my tent for shoes/socks/pants etc. just before I go to sleep is never easy and they end up getting dirty and creased or rub against the tent walls and let condensation in.

And its not always practical or prudent to walk semi-naked from the tent to put your clothes in your car.

Do any of the camping stores sell some sort of compact special hanger system for tent use?

I'd be interested to know what most here do to store overnight clothes.

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 13:39

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 13:39
We have the RV4, so space is no problem - mind you we only ever use the tent when in caravan parks, all other times it is the double swag under our Black Widow Awning. When in the tent, the double swag goes down the middle and our cloths bags go either side of the sway, with stacks of room left.

As for bush camping, we have small fold up stools, alongside the swag, and fold up our cloths and place them on on stool, this way it keeps them off of the ground, with a small piece of canvas over them to keep them dry. I have a shade cloth ground sheet under the swag, so any dirt drops through.

StephenImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found

AnswerID: 341712

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 12:07

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 12:07
Hello Stephen

I am a bit new at the outback camping and after a few trips with others am gradually developing my own set-up. So people like yourself are a valuable source. We use a Black Wolf tent and next on the list to replace are the older self inlators because they also seem to be self deflators. I am interested that you favour a double swag inside and outside the tent and that has me interested in going down that road. I can see the logic of one bit of gear fulfilling two roles. I would imagine you sleep on top of the swag when inside but am interested how you go with a double outside. I have found a single swag too warm at times with condensation an issue and imagine with two bodies it could be worse, Could you tell me what brand and model you use please and how it goes ventilation wise

Many thanks

Ross
FollowupID: 609510

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 13:42

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 13:42
Hi Ross
We have been happy campers now for a very long time. Like I said above, the only time that we use a tent, is when we are in caravan parks. We prefer the double swag for a couple of reasons. There have been many times out in the Simpson well before we had the awning when it has come in wet during the night. We just pull the canvas over our heads and listen to the rain on the swag. In the morning, there a small puddles of water in the hollows of the swag, so a quick kick from inside the swag with your foot and the water is gone.

As for being warm, it will come down to the quality of the sleeping bags that you are using, we again use good quality, -6 C Australian Made Sleeping Bags. As you would be aware, it can become very cold out in the desert. The coldest that we have slept out in the open, with nothing but the swag is -6C, and we were as warm as toast. There have been many times also that the swag is covered in frost.

As to what swag is better, is like the Toyota/Nissan debate. Our double swag is the old type, Australian Made with 100mm foam mattress. Some people will tell you that the thicker the canvas, the more waterproof it will be - wrong!

I was told by one swag maker in Adelaide that any swag will have the condensation problem in the right conditions. The thicker the canvas, the more bulky and heavy the swag. To help combat the condensation issue, we place a cotton sheet over our sleeping bag, so the canvas in on top of the sheet. When it comes to packing up, it takes 10 seconds to roll the sway up and place it in the back of the car.

Each and every person to their own preferred camping methods, ours has proven itself time after time, from sand storms to cold and wet conditions.

We used to use a canvas tarp under the swag, but have swapped over to shade cloth, any sand on your boots will go through and also protects the swag as well.

I hope this helps you out.

FollowupID: 609516

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 14:12

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 14:12
Thanks for the tips Stephen

It is the moisture on top of the sleeping bag that has annoyed me in the past ... the sheet sounds a good solution. Can't match minus 6, only a minus 3 this year at Well 34 on the Canning. as an aside coldest night i ever spent camping was back in the 60s in the air cadets they sent us out to camp in the Walyunga National Park near RAAF Pearce on freezing night in August armed with a ground sheet and 4 of those thin grey military blankests... about us useful as breasts on a bull. No duty of care in those days, they would be arrested if they tried it now

Ross
FollowupID: 609524

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 13:40

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 13:40
This was one of the considerations we had when we chose the size of the OzTent we purchased.

The RV3 we chose is big (wide) enough to fit two swags side by side and leave sufficient room at one end (side actually) to place our bag of clothes, etc.

If you haven't got the room for socks/shoes/pants, etc. then your tent is too small IMO.

When we use our swags, the clothing removed is placed behind or under the pillow. Who cares if it becomes creased.

AnswerID: 341713

Follow Up By: gh1967 - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 13:49

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 13:49
Unfortunately I only have an RV1 (my car is small) and I am 6'3" so I don't have the luxury of space.

Indeed I'm starting to regret purchasing the RV1 over the Blackwolf.

If I may go off on a tangent for the above replies, it seems swags in the tent is a popular combination.

Is this because the swag basically covers all your sleeping needs in one bundle (as distinct from me for example with my sheet, inflatable airbed, underlay and blanket) or is it because you find the swag so much more comfortable than the popular self inflating mattress with sleeping bag combination?
FollowupID: 609374

Follow Up By: jskogsta - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 15:44

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 15:44
This caught my interest as well; considering all the stuff you would carry, having simple swags within the tent itself seems like a good idea. What are you folks using here? I'm saving up to buy an OzTent and this definately will drive me to buy a bigger version with the pod... but did not think of using the swags within the tent itself. Actually a good idea, considering its quick to erect the tent and roll out the swags.. and you're done... rather than inflate stuff etc. etc.

Anyone have comments re this? Comfort, size, speed etc...

We would be 2 adults and 2 kids camping... so guess we need a big one anyways...

Thanks!
Portaled 79 series with rego VALHAL. Selcal 1510 VKS. Nissan 4x4 Club of Victoria & Trakmaster Owners Club.

FollowupID: 609392

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 16:40

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 16:40
Hi gh1967, we have the RV3 tent, we also have two single self inflating matresses which we got from Ranger Camping, they are quick and simple to set up, we push them together in the middle of the tent, we then open up our sleeping bags, lay one on the matresses and use the other for the top, our clothes we have in the bag at the sides of the bed, we lay the clothes we take off on top of the bags and the dirty clothes we have a washing bag to put them in.

We can have our tent set up in 5 minutes if need be, in fact hubby has had it up in less at times when I've had a migraine and had to sleep it off. (spent three days at 80 mile beach once trying to get rid of one migraine,).

Deanna

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 609394

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 18:47

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 18:47
i use my clothes as a pillow, never bothered with dragging a pillow around.

sandman, glad to hear those clothes go on the side and not between the swags...:)
FollowupID: 609411

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 09:09

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 09:09
The swag is the most comfortable thing I have slept on.
No buggering around with separate air mattresses.

We just lay ours down in the tent to use as a bed.
We keep an opened up sleeping bag inside them to use as a doona if it's cold enough.

The swag/sleeping bag combination suits us perfectly. Everything is rolled up together, then unrolled next stop.

One tip though. The quality of the sleeping bag is important. The matress should be of the "egg crate" design for comfort in a compact form.
Just bought our Son the same brand swag for Christmas. (Down Under Brumby XL)
Now he has a top quality Swag for life.

FollowupID: 609485

Reply By: troopyman - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 14:30

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 14:30
Quite easy for me with an RV4 oztent . If we are staying away from the car then i put up the peaked side panels . Then i put in a 6 ft resin table under the peaked side panels on one side . Onto this goes ports and bags and other stuff . Underneath the table i can put an esky and other stuff that can get wet feet. I attach the front panel and put the awning out and i put another 6 ft table under here in the middle with chairs to use as an eating table . I also use cgear matting for the floor and this stuffis fantastic for the floor as it doesnt allow dirt or sand to come back up thru but it allows it to fall thru . If i was to just set up the tent without the extras then you could possibly hang some sort of netting arrangment from the back frame to the front and throw some light clothes up there maybe .
AnswerID: 341722

Reply By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 14:36

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 14:36
"....they end up getting dirty and creased..."

This bothers you when camping???

You need to get out more............ ;-)

AnswerID: 341725

Follow Up By: gh1967 - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 15:11

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 15:11
Nah I meant more if the floor is wet or muddy, as it can be with rain/dew etc.

Plus I take my dog which means fur all over clothing lol

FollowupID: 609389

Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 15:32

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 15:32
That would be more of a concern to me in having a tent floor that is wet or muddy from condensation or dew..... Muddy dog paw prints is another matter..!!

None of my tents (all 6 of them) leak or get wet floors.

A few things help this:

*Shoes off at the door

*Awning or vestibule to stop rain entering

*Ground sheet (shade cloth) under and in front of the door to minimise dirt and mud

*Ventilation....don't close it all up during the night. You MUST have some ventilation to stop the condensation from wetting everything. I even do this in my little hiking tent whilst snow camping on the main range. Leave a couple of windows or doors open slightly to allow cross ventilation I find best.

Probably other things too....

FollowupID: 609390

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 14:37

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 14:37
"Get your cloths off"
Hahahaha......Im damn luck to get my boots off before getting into bed.
or
If I think I might get lucky I chuck them down towards the door, or if its freezing I stuff them in my swag so they arent so cold to put on in the morning.

Special cloths hanger.......ROTFLMAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!

AnswerID: 341726

Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 15:36

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 15:36
Don't you wear your Superman jarmies camping?????

FollowupID: 609391

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 21:57

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 21:57
Only the cape,

Glenn.
FollowupID: 609441

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 22:12

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 22:12
Last time I slept in the tent, I woke up because the Mrs had hold of my legs trying to drag them in the tent so she could zip it up!!!!
If I were wearing a cape it probably would have strangled me!
And getting out of the costume to take a pi$$????? Naaaa....... It would end up like dustys tent....or should I say ensuite.

FollowupID: 609446

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 14:45

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 14:45
Wife sleeps on a camp stretcher so we put our clothes bag under that. No real problem with space. Helps if you're a short arse like me.

AnswerID: 341729

Reply By: mike w (WA) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 17:55

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 17:55
Many hiking type tents these days come equipped with a 'dry loft', essentially a mesh basket/ sling that is supported from the centre roof for putting clothing in. Keeps them off the floor and off the sides of the tent.

Im not sure if you could purchase something aftermarket or get something made yourself that could be retrofitted to your tent. I would imagine in your case you would need internal poles to be able to do so.

As for me, shoes off at the door under the awning or wrapped in a peice of canvas, clothes shed and stuffed anywhere they can fit, usually end up in the bottom of the swag/sleeping bag OR as I always inevitably remember my pillow whilst travelling down some dirt road along way from home, clothes go in the sleeping bag bag and are used as a pillow.

AnswerID: 341743

Reply By: jskogsta - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 20:03

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 20:03
Yeah; remember when we were in the army back in Norway, and we were on winter exercises.. and slept out, then the basics of what you needed to wear was put in the sleeping bag (mostly limited to inner garments etc). Jackets etc was placed on top.. unless you had the luxury of sleeping in a proper tent where you could hang them high enough to dry up. Interesting when sleeping in snow caves... pretty cold experience, but quite fun...
Portaled 79 series with rego VALHAL. Selcal 1510 VKS. Nissan 4x4 Club of Victoria & Trakmaster Owners Club.

AnswerID: 341761

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 22:47

Monday, Dec 29, 2008 at 22:47
The clothes sit on the drivers seat, and boots on the floor.
AnswerID: 341793

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 16:33

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 16:33
Mate

When camping, always assume its going to hose down with rain and some will get in the tent. So pack all your clothes in your gear bag (a soft "sports bag" or similar) every night, and when you are away during the day.

We have found that a collection of sturdy plastic bags is the go - you can even buy flat ones about 30 cm square and 5 cm thick)with a zip around three sides. All the undies, sox and snotties go in one bag, another has jumpers and cold weather gear, another for raincoats etc. We usually have a dirty clothes bag that my wife has stitched up - long & skinny with a drawstring. It does not matter so much if that gets wet.

We then pop the plastic bags into the gear bag (we have one each and it stays in the tent). All your food and things like towels, toiletries bags etc should be in the car before you go to bed.

At night, get your clothes off, and put them into the right bags. It takes a few minutes longer, but keeps them safe from getting wet. Just leave out a torch so you can check out drop bears and intruders during the night, and a jacket up off the ground if you need it for nocturnal visits outside the tent.

That's based on plenty of damp experiences in a range of tents - being pedantic about putting away has never let us down. Enjoy camping.

Max
AnswerID: 341867

Reply By: Madfisher - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 17:48

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 17:48
If real cold I tuck my clothes under my air bed( we use and old removalist blanket on the floor of the tent. If using the large tent I bring a camp chair into the tent as I find it easier to get dressed and undressed siting in the chair(advancing years lol) and throw my clothes over the chair.
AnswerID: 341873

Reply By: Joe - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 19:01

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 19:01
From one corner of our Oztent we hang a fabric/mesh 3 tier shelf, holds most of our cloths.
Bought it at Ray's, it's circular and colapses flat
AnswerID: 341882