Patrol 2002 4.8ltr Petrol ST

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 10, 2003 at 04:27
ThreadID: 6470 Views:2580 Replies:6 FollowUps:5
This Thread has been Archived
I am new to 4x4, I have not particpated in any extreme driving yet, and own a 4.8ltr Patrol ST 2002. My question is, what are some basic modifications which would allow me to tackle most areas in Australia (after learning how to 4x4 properly) ie. Exhaust, suspension, suspension, long range tanks etc, $$$ not an issue?
Any feed back and advise from experienced 4x4 drivers would be appreicated.

Thanks
Stuart
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: ben - Sunday, Aug 10, 2003 at 07:06

Sunday, Aug 10, 2003 at 07:06
hi, exhaust usually doesn't need modifying but you certainly need to upgrade your suspension.the majority , if not all 4wds that come on to the market are not suitable for any resonable 4wding, as there usually isn;t enough ground clearance.
some good brands are, koni, old man emu and tjm make some good ones as well.
also the tyres that come on a standard 4wd are usually road only tyres. you'll need to get some all terain tyres which allow you to comfortably travel off road without to many dramas.
another good investment is a snorkel, which don't set you back to much and can certainly help you in deep or even shallow water crossings.the snorkel is almost a necesity for diesel 4wds if you want to go in water. it raises the air intake level and allows resonable water crossings,as water in the engine isn't real good at all.if you own a diesel it's lights out for good.-new engine required.
another handy yet cheap accessory is a cb radio. don't quote me but 99% of 4wders will have a uhf cb radio in their car. as communicating with other drivers is very essential in many situations. ie convoys,recovery situations and hill crossings to name a few.