MAXXIS Tyres
Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 20:39
Old Mal
Appreciate any members comments on Maxxis Tyres ? My daughters car (Ford Escape 4wd soft roader) needs new tyres and Maxxis are on special at the moment. The vehicle is only used on the bitumen so no rough stuff involved. I have never heard of Maxxis before but they seem to be a very large global company ?
Reply By: Member - Ray C (VIC) - Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 20:54
Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 20:54
Hi Mal, I just crossed the where i blew a tyre on my camper (not maxxis). I had them fitted to it in
Norseman W.A., drove to
tom price W.A. We went to
Carnarvon for Christmas, about 300kms of dirt. they are still like new. I know its only the trailer . But i have noticed a lot of 4bys with them on.. good luck with them, Cheers
Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 20:58
Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 20:58
Mal,
what model of Maxxis are you looking at and what sort of $. I looked at them the other week as an alternative.
Mick
Follow Up By: Old Mal - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 11:03
Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 11:03
235/70R 16 - $179 each
Reply By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 21:08
Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 21:08
starting to get alot of respect in the market and the prices are rising, not the 'bargain' they used to be. Still good buying though.
I had the big horns on my old Patrol and when the Pajero needs tyres will look at them again
Cheers Stefan
Reply By: OzTroopy - Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 21:15
Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 21:15
Looking at getting a couple of sets of maxxis trepadors at the moment.
Have heard good and bad reports ... have seen good and bad tyre wear ..... driver and terrain comparisons taken into account.
Mate has a set of what I regard as overly lumpy Maxxis Bighorns which he uses regularly on the bitumen and says they hang on like the proverbial to a blanket and hes happy with wear rates.
Maxxis has been around for a longtime .... in another guise.
Lots of "cheap" tyres out there if your only after round towners - have seen some unpronouncable korean brands for as little as 130.00 for 235/75x15s. Came across some cheap michelins a while back ( only AT ) Came off new vehicles being fitted with different wheels/tyres. Lots of options if you hunt about.
Reply By: disco driver - Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 23:31
Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 23:31
Hi Old Mal,
I have run Maxxis 245.70.16 on "her" Disco td5 for over 30000km and they show little obvious wear as yet.
Barring stakes etc I expect to get
well over 70000km out of them
This vehicle does mainly blacktop work with a little bit of beach work added in.
It's "her" car but I'm very impressed with all aspects of the tyre except one......they are a bit noisy on the blacktop, not annoying but vaguely noticeable at around 110kph.
When I eventually wear out the old rag 750.16s on"my" old Landy series 3, I will use Maxxis on that as
well.
Disco.
Reply By: Danny & June - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 00:13
Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 00:13
Hi. Have had maxxis on patrol 50000 klms
Wore very
well.
Drove very
well.
Were on patrol when i bought it.
Rough roads with camper trailer were no problem.
Can recomend.
Danny
Broken GQ
Reply By: Welldone WA - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 02:18
Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 02:18
G'day Old Mal
I've had Maxxis on my cruiser for the past 3 years without any punctures , even though they have been deflated down as low as 3psi for very
soft beach work and then reinflated to 45psi for the blacktop with no apparent illeffect . They've done 65000kms and I reckon they'll do at least another 60000kms before they need to be replaced.There is a slight road noise but once the windows are wound up the problem is solved .
Reply By: Dave Thomson - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 19:21
Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 19:21
Got the Maxxis A/T on the Prado last year done 30,000 now and yes I'll be bying same again when its time but so far heaps of tread left,
very very good,
regards,
Follow Up By: cookymonster - Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 14:54
Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 14:54
Maxxis are a HUGE tyre company and very popular in the states. They are extremely
well respected tyres in Dirtbike / Motorcross circles, so know how to make offroad tyres.
I will be considering them when I next need tyres.
I have them on my dirtbikes, and they are great.