Deddicks track

have been giving some thought to doing this track for a while now.
can someone who has driven it recently provide some details on track conditions/travel time for the track proper.
Am trying to work out if it is feasible for LWE.
Howard
Resigned to Retirement

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 17:41

Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 17:41
G'day Howard, been a couple of years since I was on it so not recently sorry, but I would allow a day for the drive. I was close to the area recently and "reckon" the tracks would be dry. I have been on it in various weather conditions. Steep, rocky, with smooth forest tracks in between (unless recent rain), great track with some awesome views, I reccomend it.

For you, easy trip down through Bombala/Delegate River then your choice of camp for the night on McKillops. Track the next day then drive home the following. Would be a great weekend for you right now I reckon mate.

kind regards,

Jeremy.
AnswerID: 343909

Follow Up By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 19:11

Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 19:11
Jeremy,
thanks for that info.
my initial idea was to take campers to Delegate set up camp there overnight. early start next morning down to top of track then do Derricks north to south as a day drive coming back out via Bonang and back to Delegate to base camp for second night.
(prepared for a long day if necessary ).then a lazy morning before heading home on the monday.
While I am happy to swag or tent SHMBO demands queen bed of camper trailer.
will see if I can get some people to tag along.
Howard
Resigned to Retirement

FollowupID: 611798

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 21:36

Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 21:36
I would leave your trailer at home.

Meeting another vehicle on High Country tracks going the other way at inopportune times could lead to grief.

FollowupID: 611839

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 21:56

Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 21:56
I tend to agree with John.... I have towed our Ultimate down through that way to McKillops (not sure if it was the same track you're contemplating?) and there were spots along there where I was very glad there was no vehicle coming the other way.....someone would've had to back up!!!

FollowupID: 611848

Follow Up By: ddr - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 08:39

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 08:39
I agree with the other 2 & did that track July Last year, NO WAY would I take a camper along there. Some sections wouldnt be fun at all if meeting someone coming the other way, & much worse with the camper on the back.

As for timings, we started the Deddick at about 12:00 & finished at about 3:30pm. We came South to North.
FollowupID: 611923

Follow Up By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 12:03

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 12:03
thanks for info
as per my first follow up I am not proposing taking trailers on Deddicks track -intend to leave them at bonang or delegate at a base camp
Have towed camper trailer thru a lot of the high country tracks before and a group of us towed camper trailers from Seldom Seen to Delegate along mccillops a few xmas ago. Agree some roads can be pretty tight in places. hence desire to base camp and do side trips as 1 dayers
howard
Resigned to Retirement

FollowupID: 611956