The Nissan Legacy

Submitted: Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 21:09
ThreadID: 65066 Views:4667 Replies:14 FollowUps:36
I've kept out of the "ZD 30 Grenade" debate for the most part, as I have no personal involvement.

However I think Nissan have shot themselves in the foot with this problem and their refusal to accept responsibility.

A once proud manufacturer who built a reputation of bullet proof vehicles is now a laughing stock.

The mighty Datsun 1600 (circa 1969) that was a capable of 100 mph in a time that only such vehicles from Ford or Holden had to be V8's.

The 120Y, 180B, 200B would go forever.

The only Nissan we have owned was a GQ with the "RB30" 3 Litre Petrol Motor. It had a known problem with a part of the Carby dislodging and entering the motor, resulting in a rebuild. Ours did it out of warranty and was fixed for free.

And it was a terrific, budget 4wd. Outstanding value for the money at the time. Broke my heart when we had to part with that car (due to financial reasons).

Sad, that a company that I had total faith in, is now off my list.

Reply By: Ianw - Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 21:17

Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 21:17
68,69, 70 Falcon GS 3.6 and Monaro GTS 186S six cyl easily exceeded the ton, Jim.

AnswerID: 343981

Follow Up By: Member - DickyBeach - Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 21:21

Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 21:21
Their engines were twice the capacity of the Datsun though.

FollowupID: 611830

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 21:46

Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 21:46
I grew up with those donks Ian.

The Old Man had an HT Monaro 186 (not 186S, just a stock 186) and it would just hit the ton.

He also had an HK GTS 327 and he hit 140 mph on the speedo up the Newell HWY.

I doubt the speedo was correct. But it was some vehicle for its time.

Anyway, this is all about somtehing else.

FollowupID: 611845

Follow Up By: Ianw - Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 22:40

Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 22:40
Quote "100 mph in a time that only such vehicles from Ford or Holden had to be V8's. "
Quote "HT Monaro 186 (not 186S, just a stock 186) and it would just hit the ton"

Make up your mind, Jim.

I've owned 2 Monaro GTS's. HT 186S bought new in Jan 70, and a 2nd hand HG 253 purchased 1978. Both easily topped the ton.

FollowupID: 611873

Follow Up By: lizard - Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 22:52

Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 22:52
Ah yes I rememer the Falcons (Super Pusuit I think?) and the Holdens (186S) .... they looked okay in the rear vision mirror of my slant six VC Valiant ... that was until we got to a corner of course ... but I seem to remember having problems with the X2's -they were quick off the mark ..... could only catch them later in top cog ....
FollowupID: 611877

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 14:25

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 14:25
Memory might be a bit dodgy at times but Im sure the mates Cooper S was faster than most nissans of the day too ..... lol
FollowupID: 611978

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 14:27

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 14:27
datsuns of the time
FollowupID: 611979

Reply By: Member - Porl - Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 21:34

Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 21:34
Hmmm, but I reckon my lowered Datsun 1200 with wide mags would have given a standard 1600 a run for its money on a roundabout ...
AnswerID: 343988

Reply By: Olsen's 4WD Tours and Training - Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 21:40

Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 21:40
I agree with your sentiments, but my RT40 Toyota Corona was capable of 165kph
AnswerID: 343991

Follow Up By: Olsen's 4WD Tours and Training - Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 21:42

Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 21:42
And that was a 1965 model car. Not overhead cam either.
FollowupID: 611842

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 22:27

Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 22:27
I had a shovelnose once too - it was pretty smooth at 80mph. Not many around now.
FollowupID: 611861

Reply By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (North - Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 21:41

Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 21:41
Hi Jim,
I know what your saying and your right.
We have an 86 Vl red wagon (It's Fysh's shopping trolley and commuter to work) with the Nissan 3.0lt factory turbo in the old girl, I believe I can call her an old girl these days as she is 22 years old (& still going strong 310 000k's). I reckon the body will give out before the motor and running gear will.

Bad customer service seams to be their biggest problem. It's cheaper for me to order parts through my local Holden dealer than go to Nissan.
Here are a few complaints, COMPLAINTS CORNER

I really believe they have shot themselves in the foot.

AnswerID: 343993

Follow Up By: Olsen's 4WD Tours and Training - Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 21:44

Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 21:44
The clutch even on the 4.2 is the weakest point. I change mine at purchase to a 4Terrain (half button clutch) from Clutch Industries.

FollowupID: 611844

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 21:51

Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 21:51
Jim , I agree wholeheartedly.

So long as my clacker points to the ground, no Nissan dealer will ever get any more of my dosh.

That's not to say I wouldn't buy another Nissan; just not a new one. The warranty isn't worth the paper it's written on these days. I have too many mates who have been dudded by that sorry bunch of mongrels......

AnswerID: 343997

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 22:35

Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 22:35
It takes one bunch of mongrels to see another bunch of mongrels.....hahahahahahahahahaha....................................
FollowupID: 611865

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 22:53

Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 22:53
too shay !!!!! hahahaha
FollowupID: 611879

Reply By: Member - Geoff C (QLD) - Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 22:04

Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 22:04
Agree with all the above sentiments. I've bought 3 new Patrols and a new Pulsar since 2002 and am about to change the Pulsar. I'm looking at Mazda and Mitsubishi purely because of Nissans warranty back up. I won't be replacing the last Patrol either as the warranty is worthless and I may as well save the money as I'm carrying the risk anyway. It must be costing them a lot of business.
AnswerID: 344002

Follow Up By: Olsen's 4WD Tours and Training - Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 22:12

Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 22:12
watch the road noise in the Mazda
FollowupID: 611856

Follow Up By: Angler - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 17:46

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 17:46
We have the latest model mazda 3 hatch.
It really likes petrol, a lot.
13L/100 My patrol gets better than that round town.
Road noise is a bit harsh and the electric steering assist is "different".

Pooley
FollowupID: 612020

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 19:38

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 19:38
Angler..............maybe yours has a hole in the tank. Site Link
FollowupID: 612041

Reply By: briann532 - Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 22:20

Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 22:20
I know I really shouldn't say this as it only fuels argument, but I really just wanted to, so here goes...........

I am onto my second new patrol, both bought new.
Both serviced every 5,000k's by Nissan themselves.
Yes i know i was being ripped of etc etc, but hey, they oil and filter cost me $81.00. They did it for $130. Why bother getting dirty and having to dispose of the oil. (No I don't live in the country I live in suburbia and disposing of used oil can be a pain in the posterior)
10,000k services for $300. Kept my wipers new, my washer filled, my joints all lubed and air filter replaced.
I basically jsut take the car on trips, knowing its going to work.
As far as "the grenade". I think every 5k servicing and good maintenance has not brought me this grief.

Back to what I was originally on about........
I have driven over 350,000k's in "bought new" patrols and they haven't given me any trouble.
Sure my airflow meter like everyone elses packed in.
Nissan just replaced it no questions.
I got a dodgy batch of fuel. No worries, they drained it replaced the filter and said "its under warranty"

Of course the obligatory oil filled flywheel cracked...........
Bugger it was on the way to fraser.
No worries another nissan to the rescue and Coff Harbour nissan took care of my flywheel and put in a new clutch.
Detailed the car and all...........Now thats service.
When they rang to say the car was ready, I wasn't. No problems, swing by when you are.

Any little problem I've had they have bent over backwards to help me. Never once questioning any mods or alterations to the vehicle in regards to warranty. I even get a freeby loan vehicle if needed.

Work navara has never given a days grief. I did complain about the suspension as it could hold up a pavlova. They offered to replace it there and then. I didn't as I knew I had too much weight in the back with a trade service body, so I put in some ironmans with airbags for support.
Never missed a bit, despite letting the "P" platers drive it.

After the problems Toyota gave me over the years and the great service Nissan has given me, I will be back for sure.

Sure everyone has an opinion and every one has heard stories, but I just wanted to give my experience for a bit of balance in the 3.0l debate.

By the way Jim, I'm not arguing your post or disagreeing with you, just giving my experience with them.
I do enjoy ready your posts and love your willingness to help and share info.
Blokes like you make this a fantastic site.
AnswerID: 344005

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 22:34

Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 22:34
My experiences have also been positive over 3 new Nissans Brian.

Each problem has been solved , except for the tree I dropped on it a few weeks ago - must have been Nissans fault somehow.

I think we are still lucky that one manufacturer still makes a solid axles high articulation vehicle with high roll resisance and in my case a big lazy long life high torque petrol engine.

FollowupID: 611864

Follow Up By: Olsen's 4WD Tours and Training - Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 22:37

Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 22:37
I've heard similar from quite afew, and it shows that Nissan looks after purchasers of new Nissans really well. But the 3L is a problem and they know it in my view.

FollowupID: 611867

Follow Up By: Top End Explorer Tours - Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 22:39

Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 22:39
You had me up until.

After the problems Toyota gave me over the years. ROTFL

Steve.
FollowupID: 611872

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 11:11

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 11:11
Yeah for a minute there you almost had me believing too...
Until THAT line Steve mentioned.
Hahahahaha............
FollowupID: 611948

Follow Up By: Crackles - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 14:41

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 14:41
"I think we are still lucky that one manufacturer still makes a solid axles high articulation vehicle with high roll resisance"
Yes Robin we are lucky that Jeep still make the Wrangler ;-)
Cheers Craig............
FollowupID: 611981

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 15:28

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 15:28
Now Craig its the 13/1/2009 not 1/4/2009

FollowupID: 611985

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 19:06

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 19:06
Thanks for your kind words Brian.

On the whole I try to contribute something useful.

FollowupID: 612036

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 22:32

Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 22:32
Yerrrrr....................................

I wonder what the ratio is? That is, vehicles built to complaints received?

Is it only that we know about some of the complaints due to the advent of Internet communication?

Inevitably you are going to get problems with vehicles. They are not built to perfection.

I am not defending perceived complaints against Nissan Motor Company but one only seems to hear one side of the story.

We have 2 x Nissans and have not had major problems other than a couple opf recalls and normal wear and tear.

Would I buy another Nissan? Most likely!

AnswerID: 344010

Follow Up By: Olsen's 4WD Tours and Training - Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 22:39

Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 22:39
I will too, but only if it is a 4.2. That limits me to pre 2008

:-)
FollowupID: 611870

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 23:07

Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 23:07
Willie, here is a copy of the most up to date list I have seen regarding ZD 30 Engine Failures.

Explore Oz Forum.

Daggs.
Blown_zd30-------------------------- 244K
Roly.
AJB------------------------------------196K
Pud & Barb--------------------------165K
Bulla. (daughters car)
Yakodi--------------------------------130K
Plugger.
JR -------------------------------------130K
Mike.
B & M. -------------------------------126K
Emackj--------------------------------157K
Fourstall2000-------------------------118K
Donald A-------------------------------50K 2004 STL
Old Johno---------------------------------------2000
Ron 2006-------------------------------152K
BushMark-----------------------------109K---2001
Ted--------------------------------------170K---2000
Piggy------------------------------------106K---2001
Rob------------------------------------------------2001
Trevmari-------------------------------141K---2000
Muckrunner-------------------------------------2000
Ppk--------------------------------------160K---2000
Rapid-------------------------------------60K---2004
BittenbyZD30-----------------------------------2000
Alex V------------------------------------84K---2001
Jo64-----------------------------------------------2000
Hen Pecked-----------------------------135K—2003
Mick O-----------------------------------
Sharyn--------------------------------------------2001
Void246----------------------------------150K--2000

Nissan Club members.

Graeme Wise. -----------------------72K
Ken Beard.
James Watson.

Outerlimits members

Manno74
Poo-trol-------------------------------66K
Wendle--------------------------------115K 2001
Rustys---------------------------------67K 2001
deanchristensen0001---------------31K 2005
Ergjan19------------------------------190K------2000
GUFun--------------------------------127K------2004

Patrol 4x4.com forum

Mickyd-------------------------------- 2002
Waveriders--------------------------- 98K 2002
Redeye---------------------------------190K
Link-------------------------------------82K 2000
Pat3L
LesleyPerry---------------------------83K 2001
Scratch---------------------------------89K 2002
Stephan--------------------------------150K
JimmyB--------------------------------
Phyrebug (brother’s car)----------210K
Dirty Wheels-------------------------246K-------2001
Phoenie--------------------------------145K-------2003
Ramas----------------------------------231K------2001
Bigal------------------------------------
Martyn79-----------------------------96K
Extreme1-----------------------------140K
Revs-------------------------------------------------2000
Jack180-------------------------------80K--------2005
Mick013------------------------------157K
jwmr----------------------------------130K-------2001
GUhoon------------------------------150K-------2000
Kirbs----------------------------------150K-------2000
Graham Slater------------------------27K-------2001
G Gudmundsson (Iceland)--------121K-------2002
Tourman
Jack3ld--------------------------------90K---------2002
Kleinstroops-------------------------104K
GUGreat (brother in law’s car)-180K--------2000
Aljohno-------------------------------140K--------2000
Hungry--------------------------------118K--------2001
Maddog1980-------------------------190K--------2000
PC1958--------------------------------190K--------2002
Fuzz------------------------------------190K--------2000
Tony Howe-----------------------------95K
Hodgo----------------------------------162K--------2000
Schommy-----------------------------160K--------2000
Websavages--------------------------
Stressed-------------------------------
Walters--------------------------------147K--------2000

MSN Caravanners Forum.

Ddarren11-----------------------------155K------2002
Ron Shirley-----------------------------------------2000

Yahoo Group. Patrol 4wd. & GU Patrol.

Jtbattau---------------------------------133K------2000
Nomad441946--------------------------------------2000
Paul Julian-----------------------------255K------2000
Paul Julian engine No 2--------------98K-------2003
Redeye141
Coight4wd------------------------------186K
Patrol444--------------------------------161K-----2001

Overlander 4wd Forum.

Dopey------------------------------------90-100K---
Weekend Maverick (parents car)—124K----2002

FollowupID: 611886

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 07:48

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 07:48
Ok my friend.

How about you add all those kilometres up and divide by the number of vehicles ( I don't have an fancy abacus like you have ) and then see what the average is

Its a numbers game. How many of those engines were out of their warranty period? Anecdotal info says that Nissan has come to the aid of some customers with ZD30 engines while others were out of warranty period and left in the lurch.

In the old days we used to blow an engine for whatever reason and we just fixed the bloody thing without having a great big whinge about it. Petrol engines went regularly at around 380,000km and diesels around 500,000km. OK, so some engines are not so flash and have engineering deficiencies. Every marque seems to have a nagging problem. These days cars cost a small fortune and a majority of them are bought on tick and so when things go pear-shaped the stress factors rise considerably.

The way I see it that when putting a 3 litre engine in a body that is supposed to house a 4.2 litre, Renault/Nissan made a fundamental error and those vehicles with a bad batch of pistons couldn't cut the mustard. A similar engineering problem exists with the fridge manufacturer Waeco, but at least they acknowledge their problem and do give reasonable customer service.

I would still like to know what the numbers are. How many dead ZD30's to how many sold.....1%...???????

FollowupID: 611918

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 14:24

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 14:24
Ahhhhh ..... somebody else who understands .....

FollowupID: 611918 Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 07:48
Willem posted:
The way I see it that when putting a 3 litre engine in a body that is supposed to house a 4.2 litre, Renault/Nissan made a fundamental error ........

And not just Renault / Nissan ..... Little motors straining their guts out constantly to propel a vehicle that a bigger motor would manage with ease and less long term costs are a joke .... brand regardless.
FollowupID: 611977

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 19:46

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 19:46
The thing is we will never know the true ratio. I'm guessing the ones we hear about on the net would be less than 1% of the failures. It;s probably as high as 20% but we will never know. Even if it's 1% thats bad odds imo.
FollowupID: 612042

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 22:44

Monday, Jan 12, 2009 at 22:44
Gday Jim,

I think the ZD30 is the only lemon in the Nissan lineup. Pity Nissan teamed up with Renault. I agree that Nissan treated their customers poorly with this issue.

My wife and kids drive Nissans - over the past 10 years we've had 3 N15 pulsars, an N14 Pulsar, 2 Xtrails and a R31 Skyline. Great cars - never needed to use warranty, only repairs I can recollect are one oil seal and one set of starter motor brushes on the oldest Pulsar with 170,000k. And they are very cheap and simple to maintain - I've done all the maintenance since the day they were bought. I'll keep buying them, but never a grenade!
AnswerID: 344013

Follow Up By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 00:09

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 00:09
Nissan did/have/do treat their customers poorly with this issue and that is why we have to unite and make them pay for their attitude on this. We have also had several Nissans and like you, the Pulsars/Vectors were brilliant but there will never be another Nissan purchase because of their attitude. The "legendary patrol" needs to be nursed along as it is "precious" and not what they were or should be. Since being told by Nissan HQ, after mine went bang, that the reported engine malfunctions were "heresay" and that I was on my own because "you bought the thing mate" I thought OK thats it, and since we have had 2 Toyotas, 1 Holden, and about 3 or 4 Fords and I still have the Nissan because I will not let anyone else go through the crap associated with Nissan ownership! They get changed over as they are work vehicles with the option of whatever we want. If Nissan are the last vehicle manufacturer left standing, and I doubt that will happen, I'll ride a horse and a skateboard.
FollowupID: 611897

Reply By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 01:15

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 01:15

You don't have mine on the list. 2005 112K.

I want the engine out of my sons Ford but he won't give it to me.

Malcolm
living the 'good life'

AnswerID: 344030

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ (wa) - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 02:06

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 02:06
Malcolm
the V8 FORD engine is absolutely no good at all for a swap...

it only has one battery :-))

Mainey . . .
FollowupID: 611911

Follow Up By: awill4x4 - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 09:40

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 09:40
Malcolm, you are on "the list" but Roachie's was from a while ago. Here's the latest update.
Oh, and that Falcon engine may only have one battery but I do spy a Vortech supercharger on there. I'll take the supercharger thanks.
Regards Andrew.

ZD 30 Engine Failures.

Explore Oz Forum.

Daggs.
Blown_zd30-------------------------- 244K
Roly.
AJB------------------------------------196K
Pud & Barb--------------------------165K
Bulla. (daughters car)
Yakodi--------------------------------130K
Plugger.
JR -------------------------------------130K
Mike.
B & M. -------------------------------126K
Emackj--------------------------------157K
Fourstall2000-------------------------118K
Donald A-------------------------------50K 2004 STL
Old Johno---------------------------------------2000
Ron 2006-------------------------------152K
BushMark-----------------------------109K---2001
Ted--------------------------------------170K---2000
Piggy------------------------------------106K---2001
Rob------------------------------------------------2001
Trevmari-------------------------------141K---2000
Muckrunner-------------------------------------2000
Ppk--------------------------------------160K---2000
Rapid-------------------------------------60K---2004
BittenbyZD30-----------------------------------2000
Alex V------------------------------------84K---2001
Jo64-----------------------------------------------2000
Hen Pecked-----------------------------135K—2003
Mick O-----------------------------------
Sharyn---------------------------------------------2001
Void246----------------------------------150K—2000
Drilly-------------------------------------165K---2000
On Patrol--------------------------------182K---2003
Christa-----------------------------------62K----2005 Navara
Captain Chaos--------------------------141K
Malcolm---------------------------------112K---2005
Jonesy65----------------------------------200K
Kevndeb (brother in law’s car)------190K
4wdr---------------------------------------
Carl R-------------------------------------

Nissan Club members.

Graeme Wise. -----------------------72K
Ken Beard.
James Watson.

Outerlimits members

Manno74
Poo-trol-------------------------------66K
Wendle--------------------------------115K 2001
Rustys---------------------------------67K 2001
deanchristensen0001---------------31K 2005
Ergjan19------------------------------190K------2000
GUFun--------------------------------127K------2004
Crazynut------------------------------100K------Dec2003

Patrol 4x4.comforum

Mickyd-------------------------------- 2002
Waveriders--------------------------- 98K 2002
Redeye---------------------------------190K
Link-------------------------------------82K 2000
Pat3L
LesleyPerry---------------------------83K 2001
Scratch---------------------------------89K 2002
Stephan--------------------------------150K
JimmyB--------------------------------
Phyrebug (brother’s car)----------210K
Dirty Wheels-------------------------246K-------2001
Phoenie--------------------------------145K-------2003
Ramas----------------------------------231K------2001
Bigal------------------------------------
Martyn79-----------------------------96K
Extreme1-----------------------------140K
Revs-------------------------------------------------2000
Mick013------------------------------157K
jwmr----------------------------------130K-------2001
GUhoon------------------------------150K-------2000
Kirbs----------------------------------150K-------2000
Graham Slater------------------------27K-------2001
G Gudmundsson (Iceland)--------121K-------2002
Tourman
Jack3ld--------------------------------90K---------2002
Kleinstroops-------------------------104K
GUGreat (brother in law’s car)-180K--------2000
Aljohno-------------------------------140K--------2000
Hungry--------------------------------118K--------2001
Maddog1980-------------------------190K--------2000
PC1958--------------------------------190K--------2002
Fuzz------------------------------------190K--------2000
Tony Howe-----------------------------95K
Hodgo----------------------------------162K--------2000
Schommy-----------------------------160K--------2000
Websavages--------------------------
Stressed-----------------------------------------------2001
Walters--------------------------------147K--------2000
Ttam------------------------------------146K-------2000
Pist’n broke---------------------------100K-------2004
Peterfraser3---------------------------120K-------2000
GU Mick-------------------------------150K-------2002
Gibbsy---------------------------------
Roger Brown-------------------------
Carljohn-------------------------------141K--------2000
4bboy-----------------------------------165K-------2002
Bent axle baz--------------------------166K
PGB-------------------------------------150K-------2003
Trev zd30------------------------------180K-------2001

MSN Caravanners Forum.

Ddarren11-----------------------------155K------2002
Ron Shirley-----------------------------------------2000

Yahoo Group. Patrol 4wd. & GU Patrol.

Jtbattau---------------------------------133K------2000
Nomad441946--------------------------------------2000
Paul Julian-----------------------------255K------2000
Paul Julian engine No 2--------------98K-------2003
Redeye141
Coight4wd------------------------------186K
Patrol444--------------------------------161K-----2001
little pn-----------------------------------190K----2000

Overlander 4wd Forum.

Dopey------------------------------------90-100K---
Weekend Maverick (parents car)—124K----2002

FollowupID: 611929

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 10:26

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 10:26
Yes I had seen it on that list. Also heard the list is now 250+.

Yesterday I mentioned this to local Nissan Service Manager and he attempted to debate against the number of engines produced. I think he admitted his loss when I said, "but these are only the ones REPORTED on our forums! - how many has Nissan had?".

I wonder if we can find an insider in Nissan that can find out these statistics ;-)

Andrew, not only a supercharger - It is Dick Johnson Racing - #9. hence rego DJR009. At least he has good taste in vehicles. Not like his old man ;-)

BTW, only needs one battery. If that goes flat we can jack up the back wheel and ..... just kidding.

Malcolm
living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 611944

Reply By: Shaker - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 10:26

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 10:26
The biggest problem with Nissan Australia, is their inconsistency in their handling of claims.
It seems that only the "squeaky wheel gets the oil".

BTW, I have been led to believe that they have both 3.0L & 4.2L diesel motors for around $5000.00, at this price it is hardly worth repairing a damaged motor.
AnswerID: 344066

Reply By: aroundwego - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 11:02

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 11:02
because I was bored, I did some calculations:

1st set.

- Using all the listed ones above 103
- Using the supplied KLMs
- using 60lkm for the ones missing figures (for want of another figure)

I got 103 blown motors @ an average of 116, 000klms

----------------------------------

2nd Set
- Using the supplied KLMs
- Not including the ones missing figures

I got 75 blown motors @ an average of 137, 000klms

-----------------------------

Makes me wonder now considering how many are sold per month.

But considering the "discussion everytime the word Patrol is mentioned" you got to wonder if there really are many thousands out there that are not known about or in reality there aint too many.

Kinda wish I hadnt talked a friend out of keeping her 2001 3L with 210 000 on the clock that has never missed a beat!

Oh I added one more that I knew about

AnswerID: 344068

Follow Up By: Member - Greg T (ACT) - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 13:58

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 13:58
make that 76 blown motors @an average of 137, 000kms

mine got the nissan rebulild with the 04 block at 145 000km
FollowupID: 611973

Follow Up By: awill4x4 - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 14:19

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 14:19
Some people on the forums don't post to many details about their engine problems which is why the Kms travelled and build date aren't on there, but it's still 113 engine blowups including yours Greg T.
Some people have notified me that they are quoted a couple of times as they cross post on different forums under different usernames. When I'm notified I remove one username from the list.
Whatever the "true" number is and I'm sure Nissan aren't about to let us know, to have over 40 members just on this one forum to have engine failures (this list only covers engine failures) is shameful.
Regards Andrew.
FollowupID: 611974

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 15:36

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 15:36
Hi Andrew,
I try to avoid these Nissan 3.0 litre debates like the plague. Having said that I do feel for the owners as I'd hate it to happen to me.

This sentence of yours, "to have over 40 members just on this one forum to have engine failures (this list only covers engine failures) is shameful." really sums it up for me!

That is statistically huge! I have no idea how many members there are on this forum! One thing we know for certain is they are spread over dozens of combinations of makes, models and engines so 3.0 litre Nissan owners are but a small statistical sample of membership! Yet a huge statistical sample of engine failures!

Statistically it would be fairly safe to extrapolate that data to the general population of 3.0 litre Nissans as we would see some doing less work, some more and some better maintained, some worse.

Any warranty solution less than 100% replacement is to me too little too late.

To say some people have had good support from Nissan warranty on this issue is a little bit like saying "I went into hospital for a vasectomy and the doctor cut my nuts out. But it's Ok, he apologised profusely!"

Classifieds: Landcruiser 16x8 Rims,

FollowupID: 611989

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 17:07

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 17:07
Geez Geoff

Is that why I've now got a squeeky voice.

Seriously, we will never know the true number of ZD30 blowups.

I've learnt a lot (a real lot) on this forum and Patrol4x4 and alro about how to save the ZD30. My advice to everybody is to stop your whinging and get on with life. Lifes just too short to let these things drag you down. Now that doesn't mean to say I won't be talking with Mr Nissan about some form of compensation for my blownup engine at 112K. Just need to get all my costs and facts in order to start with. This may take me up to six months. Who knows.

As I go through rebuilding my engine I'm making the necessary mods: Ordered the VDO EGT and Boost from TJM with a two gauge pillar pod. They tell me the one Chaz got was a "one-off". Made a 'special' gasket for the EGR valve and am currently working on putting the 'T' piece in under the turbo for oil pressure. Screwed in my turbo screw one half turn. (I'll fine tune later).

I now have NisTune diagnostics software running on my ASUS EeePC which shows various functions of the ECU. Thanks to the boys in Adelaide it now works. Tested on my other (2003) Patrol.

I wasted a few $$$ looking at ELM327, interfaces and OBD software. Take it from me THEY DON'T WORK with the ZD30. All Nissan has done is supply an OBDII PLUG. That has absolutely nothing to do with being OBD compliant (which I have been told was a requirement for all new cars in Australia from 2006).

Malcolm
living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 612009

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 20:27

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 20:27
Just remember fellas. Ford made the EDSEL....oh what a flop!!...but Ford is still around.

Judging by the number of Nissans I see on TV especially with UN insignia, there must heaps of these 3lts on the road.

But like I have said before, every marque has a flop somewhere.
Add a Turbo to a flop engine and you have double trouble

Thank goodness for a naturally aspirated non turbo 4.2litre slug...the Nissan GQ...it should go forever....lol

FollowupID: 612047

Reply By: disco driver - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 15:32

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 15:32
If this information on the number of Nissan engine blow ups is accurate and I have no reason to doubt it, why haven't they all got together and started a "Class Action" against Nissan.

I'm sure that there are a number of aggressive quality law firms out there who would take up the case for all those affected.

Just my thoughts

Disco..
AnswerID: 344105

Follow Up By: 3.0turbob - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 16:44

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 16:44
My thoughts as well. If this fault was with another product (eg. kids toys, or whatever) it would be on the current affairs programs and a recall issued.
FollowupID: 612005

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 18:25

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 18:25
Wow an average of 116K's or even 137 K's now thats good value isn't it ??? What a joke , well it would be if it wasn't for the fact I bought one, to Lance at Nissan HQ, hope your reading this mate as I said when I rang you , this will come back to haunt you and guess what mate , it has............. oh and by the way , I'd like to say again, the problem isn't with 3Lt engines , just ONE 3Lt engine, thats the NISSAN ZD 30, Landys,Mitsis, Toyos,all have 3 Lt engines and none have gave the grief this one has, and believe it or not you could actually forgive it if it wasn't for the pigheaded attitude of Nissan, if they had just acknowledged thier problem and fixed it !!!
no, thats why I'll never go back, and hell mend them,
regards,
AnswerID: 344143